Resources for Literary Criticism
Tips:
- For criticism of individual works, you may also want to research different works by the same author in case these have been analyzed.
- When in doubt, contact me!
Keep in mind:
The MLA International Bibliography, the Gale Literary Criticism, and the World Shakespeare Bibliography Online normalize the spelling of authors' and subjects' names; e.g., Shakspear, Shakespear, Shackspeare, and Shakspere (etc.) are indexed as Shakespeare. The preferred form of the name is given in "name as subject" at the top of the page in the MLA International Bibliography and as "Person -- by or about" in the Gale Literary Criticism.
The Cambridge Collections Online, JSTOR, and Project MUSE are excellent resources but also include much material that is not specifically "literary." Adding a term such as literary or criticism to a search in those resources may retrieve more relevant results.
- MLA International BibliographyThe MLA International Bibliography uses subject headings that are not always obvious or intuitive. These are listed in the Thesaurus at the top of the page in the MLA International Bibliography. Subjects include literature and drama (English and world), linguistics, literary theory, folklore, rhetoric, composition, and pedagogy. Book reviews of literary and scholarly works are excluded, but review articles so identified by the publication in which they appear are normally included. Tutorials on using the MLA International Bibliography are available on YouTube and on the MLA Site.
- Cambridge CoreAccess to articles and select ebooks published by Cambridge University Press.
- Gale Literature Resource CenterBiographical essays on various authors as well as criticism and interpretation of plays, novels, poetry and short stories.
- JSTORScholarly journals in many academic fields, especially arts, literature, humanities, and biology.
- Oxford Bibliographies - Renaissance and ReformationProvides an annotated bibliography covering works related to the Renaissance and Reformation periods.
- Project MUSEFull text access to journals and ebooks in classics, education, history, literature, math, philosophy, politics, religion, and visual and performing arts.
- Times Literary Supplement
Access to the Times Literary Supplement from 1902 to 2019, the most recent five years being embargoed.
Note: The Factiva database often contains the text of those five years. - World Shakespeare Bibliography OnlineAbstracts books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, audiovisual materials, and electronic media that are about or are related to William Shakespeare.
- Academic Search Premier
Includes articles from scholarly journals and popular magazines covering a wide variety of disciplines with the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
- Alternative Press Index
Includes article abstracts covering cultural, economic, political & social change.
- America: History and Life
Indexes material about the histories of the United States and Canada. It is a companion to Historical Abstracts, listed below.
- Encyclopedia of the Bible and Its ReceptionEncyclopedia that covers biblical studies and related fields.
- Film & Television Literature Index
Includes article abstracts covering film & television topics including theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text
Indexes and abstracts material on world history -- history exclusive of the United States and Canada -- from 1450 to the present. It is a companion to America: History and Life, listed above.
- International Medieval BibliographyProvides citations to articles about Europe, the Middle East and North Africa in the period 400-1500.
- Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages & RenaissanceArticles abstracts for journal articles and reviews published in medieval and renaissance journals.
- Philosopher's Index
Provides abstracts to journal articles, books, and book chapters dealing on philosophical topics.
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses GlobalIndexes doctoral dissertations completed in the U.S. Includes some master's theses and foreign language dissertations.
- PsycInfo (APA PsycInfo)
Indexes and abstracts scholarly publications in psychology, plus related fields of medicine, psychiatry, education, social work, criminology, social science, business, & organizational behavior.
- Religion and Philosophy Collection
Covers world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.
- ScopusScholarly journal articles and conference papers on any topic in science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts & humanities. Includes cited references and h-index information.
- SocINDEX with Full Text
Indexes and abstracts scholarly material about sociology and other social and behavioral sciences. Includes culture & social structure; economic development; evaluation research; family & social welfare; management and complex organizations; policy planning.
- Theologische Realenzyklopädie OnlineMore than 25,000 original scholarly articles, published 1976-2004, on theological subjects relevant to researches in history, philosophy, religion, and medieval studies,
- Women's Studies International
Includes abstracts to articles, newsletters, books, proceedings, and dissertations covering current topics relevant to Women's History.
- WorldCatAccess to worldwide library catalog of books, journals, DVDs, CDs, scores, and sound recordings.
Getting Full Text Articles and Chapters
In a database, look for
UConn Full Text will help you
1. Get the full text online if UConn subscribes to it
2. Request what we do not own
3. Request scans of articles and chapters we own in print through Interlibrary Services
