Skip to main content

Topic: Black History Month — Archival Resources

This guide provides an overview of library and archival resources for Black History Month at the UConn Library.

Featured Collection at the Dodd Research Center

Charters (Samuel and Ann) Archives of Blues and Vernacular African American Musical Culture

Photo of Sam and Ann Chaters at the Thomas J. Dodd Research CenterDespite its primary emphasis on the blues and ragtime, the Samuel and Ann Charters Collection spans the entire 20th century, beginning with African-American Spirituals and the ragtime of Scott Joplin and other early composers, and ending with Snoop Doggy Dogg and the rappers of the late 20th century. The collection holds thousands of hours of recorded music on LP and 45 records, compact discs, audio cassettes, and reel-to-reel cassettes. Though some LP records date back to the 1940s, the compact discs in the collection include both recent and reissued material. Most of these recordings are commercial; and the Archives holds a complete catalog of music produced by the Arhoolie label, courtesy of label owner, Chris Strachwitz. The artists included in the Charters collection range from the most famous blues performers such as B.B. King and Robert Johnson, to obscure ragtime musicians. Many of the ragtime recordings are from concerts, conventions, and meetings hosted by the Maple Leaf Club.

Photo Caption: Photo of Sam and Ann Charters, with a few of their frame photos, at the Thomas J. Dodd Research Center (UConn 2011)

 

Thomas J. Dodd Research Center Collections Relevant to Black History Month

Selection of Materials from the Alternative Press Collection

Selected Black Newspapers in the Alternative Press Collection: (Search the Library's General Search to locate this newspaper in the collection)

 

  • The Albany Liberator
  • Arm the Spirit
  • Auto Workers’ Focus Black Panthers Caucus
  • The Black Economy
  • Black Liberation Month News
  • Black Mask
  • Black News
  • Black Panther
  • Black Panther Community News
  • Black Revolutionary
  • Black Times
  • Black Voice
  • The Coalition
  • Do It Loud
  • The Drummer
  • Enlisted Times
  • Southern Patriot/Southern Struggle

Selection of Materials from the Alternative Press Collection

Alternative Press Collection Pamphlets: (Search the Library's General Search to locate this newspaper in the collection)

 

  • The Plot Against Black Americans
  • Behind the Lynching of Emmett Till
  • Murder in Memphis: Martin Luther King and the Future of the Black Liberation Struggle
  • Dr. Martin Luther King, Vietnam and Civil Rights
  • The Jim Crow School: North and West
  • National Association for the Advancement of Colored People Target for 1963
  • Letter from Birmingham City Jail
  • Riding to Freedom:  The New Secession and How to Smash It
  • Negro Representation: A Step Towards Negro Freedom
  • The Negro Today
  • Negro Freedom is in the Interest of Everyone
  • A Letter to American Negroes
  • The Black Uprisings:  Newark, 1967, Detroit
  • In Defense of Negro Rights
  • NAACP: An American Organization
  • Cracking the Color Line
  • Upsurge in the South: The Negro People Fight for Freedom
  • The Negro People on the March
  • An Analysis of American Racism
  • Free at Last: A History of the Civil Rights Movement and Those Who Died
  • Ramparts:  Mississippi Eyewitness

Manuscript Collections at the Dodd Research Center

The following is a list of manuscripts collections from the UConn's Archives and Special Collections Department located at the Thomas J. Dodd Research Center. Contact the Archives & Special Collections Department to request help or to set an appointment to visit these collections.