LibGuides: Topic: Housing Equity: Law and Regulation

Law and Regulation

Below are legislative resources specific to Connecticut that relate to housing. Also included are links to explore both State and Federal laws and legislation more broadly as well as information on conducting legislative histories.

Connecticut - Specific Legislation and Programs Related to Housing

Housing and Segregation Study
Released in January 2024. Section 62 of Public Act 21-2, June Special Session, as modified by Section 71 of Public Act 23-204 (see links below to review full text of the referenced Acts) required the Office of Policy and Management (OPM) to conduct a “Housing and Segregation Study”.
Connecticut Fair Rent Commission
C.G.S.A. § 7-148b (see link below to read the referenced section of the Statues) called for the creation of a Fair Rent Commission. Related documents are listed by town.
Housing Affordability for Connecticut Residents
Public Act No. 23-207 (see link below to review full text of the referenced Act) addresses housing affordability for residents in the state. This link provides access to related Department of Housing documents.
CT Public Act No. 21-2
CT Public Act No. 23-204
CT Public Act No. 23-207
C.G.S.A. § 7-148b

Connecticut - Law and Regulation

CT General Assembly
The CGA website provides a searchable database of bills. Information provided includes the text, voting records, committee actions, fiscal notes, analyses, bill history, bill supporters, and public hearing testimony.
CT Office of Legislative Research (OLR)
OLR provides nonpartisan objective research for General Assembly members and their caucus staff. The OLR website provides access to bill analyses, Public Act summaries, and special reports.
CT State Register & Manual
The Register & Manual provides an annual snapshot of Connecticut state and local government.

Federal Law and Regulation

Congress.gov
more... less...

Full-text bills and bill tracking back to the 93rd Congress (1973) and also Congressional committee information.
Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports
CRS works exclusively for Congress, providing timely, objective, and authoritative research and analysis to committees and Members of both the House and Senate, regardless of political party affiliation.

CQ Electronic Library

Full-text of CQ Press publications and online resources including the CQ Weekly, CQ Researcher, and CQ Congress Collection.
Legislative Insight by ProQuest
Full-text publications generated in the course of U.S. Congressional lawmaking including bills, reports, documents, hearings, CRS reports, committee prints, presidential signing statements, and statutes.
HeinOnline

Full-text of law reviews, federal documents, and Supreme Court materials.
Nexis Uni

Full text of various newspapers, magazines, wire services, radio and TV transcripts.

Conducting Legislative Histories

The UConn Library, in conjunction with the UConn Law Library, offers access to a number of legal databases; Nexis Uni (an academic version of the Lexis-Nexis database) provides full-text access to law reviews, and state and federal regulations, statutes, and cases. Legislative Insight by ProQuest provides legislative histories for select federal legislation (for more information on conducting a legislative history, see the Federal Legislative History and Analysis guide). Hein Online is terrific for access to scanned volumes of Congressional Record and many other legal reference materials.

Topic: Housing Equity — Law and Regulation

Law and Regulation

Connecticut - Specific Legislation and Programs Related to Housing

Connecticut - Law and Regulation

Federal Law and Regulation

Conducting Legislative Histories