Skip to Main Content

Geography Subject Guide — Accessing Historical Maps, Aerial Imagery, Indexes, and Map Viewers

Viewing the UConn Library Physical Map Collection

The UConn Library is home to a vast collection of thousands of physical maps and aerial imagery. The collection includes maps from across the globe, space, and time. The print map collections at MAGIC are located within a closed area, and library staff must retrieve these items. To view print map collections, make an appointment via email at magic@uconn.edu. or reach out to Katie Fiducia at katie.fiducia@uconn.edu. 

Maps in Archives and Special Collections

UConn Library Archives and Special Collections curates a small collection of rare and special maps and atlases. Some notable materials include:

  • Maps and blueprints related to the history and development of UConn
  • New York New Haven Railroad Valuation Maps

You can search their collections at: https://archivessearch.lib.uconn.edu. For more information, email archives@uconn.edu. 

Maps at UConn Library Avery Point

The Uconn Library at Avery Point holds a small physical collection of maps including those related to Long Island Sound, the Connecticut and New England Coastline, Atlantic Ocean, and general oceanic maps. For more information and for access, contact the UConn Library Avery Point Director Maria Bernier at maria.bernier@uconn.edu, or Katie Fiducia at katie.fiducia@uconn.edu. 

Connecticut State Historical Aerial Imagery

MAGIC hosts the physical and digital copies of Connecticut aerial imagery for the following years:

  • 1951-52
  • 1957
  • 1963
  • 1965
  • 1969
  • 1970
  • 1985-86
  • 1990

Imagery indexes for the following years can be accessed using the MAGIC Air Photo Archive viewer

  • 1934
  • 1951-52
  • 1957
  • 1970
  • 1986
  • 1990
  • 1995
  • 2004
  • 2006
  • 2008
  • 2010

You can view more CT state aerial imagery through the CTECO imagery viewer. You can visit this webpage to access the list and descriptions of aerial imagery datasets available through CTECO.

Indexes and Map Viewers

Digitized Historical Map Collection

Portions of the library's map collection have been digitized. These images are available to access and download from the MAGIC Flickr website

Print Map Reproductions

Patrons may bring cameras to photograph maps from MAGIC’s collections. For individuals interested in obtaining a printed reproduction of a map, patrons can take a digital image of the original map and take the digital file to a poster printing service (ex. UConn’s Document Production Center, Staples, FedEx Kinkos) and have the digital image printed at the patrons expense.