Resources on Women in Health, Medicine, and Disability Studies in ASC
When researching topics related to health, medicine, and disability in ASC, it is often necessary to think outside of the box. Often, there may be records on these topics in the collections of the records of individual's who may have had an interest in these topics from a political or activism lens, even if they were not working in healthcare or related fields. The collection materials below are meant to introduce you to the types of materials covering these topics held in Archives and Special Collections, and to act as a jumping off point for your research.
Note on language used in collections: When researching historical topics related to health, medicine, and disability, you may come across terms in common use in different time periods that are no longer in use today, and may even be offensive. While collection materials themselves may retain outdated language, Archives and Special Collections aims to provide inclusive and respectful language in our collection finding aid and catalog descriptions.
For more information on collections related to health, medicine, and disability studies, please see the collection spotlights below:
- Phyllis Zlotnick Papers, 2015-0108Phyllis Zlotnick (b.1942-d.2011), who was a pioneering advocate for the civil rights of disabled people in Connecticut. Her collection of personal papers centers primarily on her work as a lobbyist for legislation pertaining to disabled populations.
- University of Connecticut, Handicapped Homemaker Project Records, 1980-0005A five-year project, officially titled “Work Simplification in the Area of Child Care for Physically Handicapped Women”, was sponsored by the School of Home Economics, University of Connecticut, in cooperation with the “Team Approach” Committee on Research Demonstrations and Workshops Concerning Physically Handicapped Women.
- Elizabeth E. May Papers, 1997-0119Dr. May joined the faculty of the University of Connecticut in 1952 as Dean of the School of Home Economics. She retired from the University in 1964. The collection contains Dr. May's correspondence, memoranda, reports, articles, speeches, books, photographs, awards and notes pertaining to her career, although there is a small amount of personal information. The materials date from 1901 to 1994 but the bulk of the materials are concentrated in the period 1940 through 1970. Major topics included in the collection are Home Economics, Rehabilitation and related issues, and education. Of particular note and interest is her work concerning handicapped homemakers, both nationally and internationally.
- Josephine A. Dolan Collection of Nursing History, 1995-0028The records in this collection consist of materials gathered by the first nursing professor at the University of Connecticut School of Nursing, Josephine A. Dolan. Materials date from 1833-1993.
- Connecticut League for Nursing Records, 2003-0083The collection contains correspondence, reports, publications, administrative and financial records documenting the activities and interests of the organization.
- Mayer Collection of Fat Liberation, 1990-0057Correspondence relating to fat Americans and strategies for their liberation and societal restraints, chiefly with persons associated with Fat Underground (Los Angeles), Fat Liberation Front (New Haven), Fat Liberator Publications (New Haven, Minneapolis), and National Association to Aid Fat Americans. Related books, comic books, pamphlets, periodicals and boxed game have been removed from the collection and cataloged as part of the Alternative Press Collection.
- Alternative Press Collection Digital CollectionThe Alternative Press Collection (APC) contains materials on a wide range of activism topics. Of particular note are the APC Files and the Pins and Buttons.
- University of Connecticut Photograph Collection, "Handicapped Homemaker Project" PhotosDigitized photographs from the University of Connecticut's Handicapped Homemakers Project Records.
Demystifying Disability by ISBN: 9781984858979Publication Date: 2021-09-07An approachable guide to being a thoughtful, informed ally to disabled people, with actionable steps for what to say and do (and whatnotto do) andhow you can help make the world a more inclusive place.- Our own voices : personal lives, public diaries. byCall Number: XA I.29 no.127Publication Date: 1992
- Dispelling the myths : sexuality and disabled persons : a COPOH discussion paper byCall Number: XA I.24 no.88Publication Date: 1988
- Hearing before the United States Commission on Civil Rights : protection of handicapped newborns : hearing held in Washington, D.C., June 12-14, 1985. byCall Number: C9676Publication Date: 1986
