Resources on Women at UConn in ASC
Archives & Special Collections holds a wealth of materials for those interested in exploring the integral role of women at UConn.
In 1893, after an act of the Connecticut General Assembly, the Storrs Agricultural School was remade into Storrs Agricultural College, and officially opened its doors to women. Some members of the General Assembly initially tried to bar women from attending, only to be defeated in the end. Women’s presence at UConn continued to expand in subsequent years. Below you will find resources related to women at UConn to get you started in research in this area.
This page of the guide has drawn from a previous collection spotlight (including images) from the UConn Archives & Special Collections blog. Please see the link below for additional information and resources:
- One Hundred Years of Women at UConn Collection, 1993-0060This collection comprises the contents of a scrapbook created to document the 100 Years of Women activities at UConn during the 1991-1992 academic year. The scrapbook contained photographs, clippings, programs, announcements, memoranda, correspondence, flyers, brochures and posters. The scrapbook was created by a committee formed by President Harry J. Hartley in 1991, and then led by Professor Cynthia Adams, to develop a year-long program of activities to celebrate the role of women in UConn’s history. The activities included a convocation, lectures, presentations, awards and an exhibition.
- University of Connecticut, Women's Studies Program Records, 2008-0003This collection contains files pertaining to a 1982 Connecticut Humanities Council grant, administrative files, publications, announcements and fliers.
- University of Connecticut, Women's Center Records, 2006-0175This collection is comprised of booklets, correspondence, notes, fliers, clippings, publications, legal records, and legal transcripts relating to the University of Connecticut's Women's center. Some of the subjects in the collection include materials related to the Marcia Lieberman vs. University of Connecticut lawsuit, Women's Council meeting records, metanoia, and various surveys and statistics. The collection encompasses the period of 1971 through 2018.
- University of Connecticut, President's Office Records [Glenn W. Ferguson, 1973-1978], 1998-0187The collection comprises extensive material relating to each presidential administration at UConn. The records from Glenn W. Ferguson’s presidency (1973-1978) are especially relevant. They contain significant material on attempts to include women’s concerns in the university’s affirmative action plan, and the controversy and activism around the denial of tenure to English professor Marcia Lieberman.
- University of Connecticut, Athletic Communications Office Records,1999-0054This collection includes materials related to UConn athletics, including basketball, softball, field hockey, tennis, swimming, and many other sports. Records for individual sports contain publications, media guides, statistics, correspondence, press releases, newspaper clippings, and other materials. The collection represents some of the most extensive coverage of UConn athletics and provides a detailed portrait of women in sports at UConn.
- Grace E. Snow Papers, 1998-0238One of the first women to graduate from Storrs Agricultural School, Grace Edith Snow was from Storrs, Connecticut. Ms. Snow was presumably related to the David H. Snow who donated one hundred acres of land to the institution in 1909 and Anna M. Snow, the latter attending the school in 1891 before the official acceptance of women in 1893. The collection contains memorabilia, awards and publications associated with Ms. Snow's attendance at the Storrs Agricultural College.
- Josephine A. Dolan Collection of Nursing History, 1995-0028The records in this collection consist of materials gathered by the first nursing professor at the University of Connecticut School of Nursing, Josephine A. Dolan. Materials date from 1833-1993.
- Wilma Keyes Papers, 1988-0019From 1938 to 1963, Wilma Keyes was an assistant professor
of Related Arts at the University of Connecticut School of Home Economics. When she arrived at the University of Connecticut only five art courses were being offered. During her tenure she developed and taught over 20 new art courses and saw the beginning of the School of Fine Arts as a distinct department from the School of Home Economics. - Elizabeth E. May Papers, 1997-0119Dr. May joined the faculty of the University of Connecticut in 1952 as Dean of the School of Home Economics. She retired from the University in 1964. The collection contains Dr. May's correspondence, memoranda, reports, articles, speeches, books, photographs, awards and notes pertaining to her career, although there is a small amount of personal information. The materials date from 1901 to 1994 but the bulk of the materials are concentrated in the period 1940 through 1970. Major topics included in the collection are Home Economics, Rehabilitation and related issues, and education. Of particular note and interest is her work concerning handicapped homemakers, both nationally and internationally.
- Student and Student Organization Newspapers, Publications and PeriodicalsThe collection comprises digitized issues of student newspapers from multiple UConn campuses. The most significant collection comes from the Storrs campus, including extensive runs of early to contemporary student newspapers like the Lookout and the Daily Campus. These newspapers provide some of the most far-reaching and wide-ranging coverage of student life at UConn. Both the student newspapers and the student yearbook supply a useful means to chart the history of women at UConn.
- The Nutmeg YearbookThe collection comprises digitized copies of UConn’s student yearbook from 1915 to 2008. The student yearbook provides a useful means of understanding the evolving place of women at UConn. The yearbooks contain information on individual students, clubs, sports, campus activities, academics, and information on particular academic years.
- University of Connecticut Photograph Collectionhe collection comprises digitized photographs from throughout UConn’s history. The extensive collection of photographs documents women in all aspects of university life, from sports and academics to university clubs and social life.
- Blue book (University of Connecticut. Women's Student Government Association) byPublication Date: 1953-1954, 1956-1957
- Inching towards equity since Title IX : a quantitative analysis, 1972-1986 byCall Number: XA I.12 no.123Publication Date: 1987
- Educational opportunities for young women. byCall Number: WLD 33Publication Date: between 1940 and 1960
Heart of a Husky : determination, perseverance, and a quest for a national championship by Call Number: A10978Publication Date: 2009
