Update
We have established access to tens of thousands of scholarly ebooks through evidence-based acquisition (EBA) and demand-driven acquisition (DDA) collection development models with JSTOR, Oxford University Press, Elsevier, Cambridge, and ProQuest. These EBA and DDA models allow us to purchase in perpetuity titles of our choice or titles that have seen significant usage, using our prepaid access fees.
I have curated a list of ebooks from these collections:
- Cambridge EBA Collection
- Wiley EBA Collection
Unlimited users have access to their ebooks through December 31, 2025. Continued access beyond that date is not guaranteed and is subject to a purchase decision by the UConn Library.
Blockchain, Cryptocurrency, & FinTech
-
The adoption of FinTech : using technology for better security, speed, and customer experience in finance
by
This book provides readers with direct case studies for better understanding. In addition, it explains regulation and usage of FinTech in daily transactions. Readers are shown how FinTech has an imperative role in financial analysis, Insurtech, and the share market.
Call Number: HG173 .A344 2024ISBN: 9781032644141Publication Date: 2024-01-01 -
Adoption of NFTs and Cryptocurrency in Marketing
by
In modern business, digital skills have become a prerequisite for organizational success. Amidst the digital transformation, cryptocurrencies and Non-Fungible Tokens (NFTs) have emerged as potent tools for those seeking to harness data's power and engage with their audiences in novel ways. Adoption of NFTs and Cryptocurrency in Marketing delves into the pivotal role of these digital assets, examining their impact on marketing strategies and customer interactions. The book explores the past, present, and future evolution of NFTs, providing a comprehensive understanding of their journey. Through insightful discussions, it navigates the symbiotic relationship between branding and NFTs, showcasing real-world use cases and illuminating the potential for transformative marketing campaigns. From the applications and use cases of NFT adoption to the fusion of physical and digital realms (Phygital NFTs), the book lays the groundwork for understanding the vast opportunities presented by Web 3.0. As marketing professionals grapple with customer engagement challenges, the book meticulously outlines how NFTs can be leveraged to create immersive and interactive experiences. It unravels the intricacies of NFT-based marketing campaigns and explores the future landscape of Web 3.0, positing NFTs as potential keys to mass adoption. This book is ideal for practitioners, researchers, and academicians in marketing. It offers a deep dive into strategies and case studies, providing a roadmap for integrating NFTs into marketing initiatives. From multilevel marketing to loyalty programs and tokenization, the book addresses the multifaceted dimensions of NFTs and cryptocurrencies in the marketing domain. However, with innovation comes responsibility. The book examines the risks, rewards, and ethical considerations of adopting NFTs in marketing. It critically evaluates the role of crypto influencers, partnerships, and loyalty programs, exploring the delicate balance between hype and genuine opportunity.
ISBN: 9798369313930Publication Date: 2024-04-23 -
Big Data Analytics Techniques for Market Intelligence
by
The ever-expanding realm of Big Data presents a formidable challenge for academic scholars and professionals. The sheer magnitude and diversity of data types, coupled with the continuous influx of information from various sources, make it exceedingly difficult to extract valuable insights. The need to effectively manipulate and analyze this vast amount of data is crucial for companies and organizations to uncover new market intelligence and make informed decisions. Without the proper guidance and understanding of the techniques and methodologies in Big Data analytics, scholars may struggle to navigate this complex landscape and maximize the potential benefits of their research. Big Data Analytics Techniques for Market Intelligence is a meticulously curated collection of original research which addresses the specific challenges faced by scholars and professionals in the field of Big Data analytics. By offering a comprehensive exploration of different techniques and methodologies, this book provides a solution to the hurdles encountered in extracting meaningful information from Big Data. It covers the entire lifecycle of Big Data analytics and also showcases the application of machine learning and deep learning techniques, compares various analysis methods, and presents real-world case studies, enabling readers to develop a holistic understanding of this complex domain. Big Data Analytics Techniques for Market Intelligence empowers academic scholars and professionals to overcome the obstacles inherent in working with Big Data. By gaining insights into the latest advancements in preprocessing, analysis, visualization, and utilization of analysis results, readers can enhance their research capabilities and contribute to their respective fields. Armed with the knowledge and tools provided in this book, scholars can unlock the immense potential of Big Data, generate valuable market intelligence, and drive strategic decision-making. The practical guidance offered in this book ensures that scholars and professionals can effectively harness the power of Big Data analytics and stay at the forefront of this rapidly evolving field.
ISBN: 9798369304150Publication Date: 2024-01-04 -
Decoding Digital Assets Distinguishing the Dream from the Dystopia in Stablecoins, Tokenized Deposits, and Central Bank Digital Currencies.
by
Central bank digital currency (CBDC) is on the horizon, with more than 130 central banks globally considering such projects. But is this beneficial for citizens and the financial system? This book offers a comprehensive guide on the intricate subjects of CBDCs, stablecoins, and tokenized deposits. Authored by an industry expert who has actively participated in the development of CBDC solutions, this book demystifies the complexities of CBDC and digital assets, presenting both the opportunities and challenges with practical examples and real-world contexts.The book covers the history of money and the background of cryptography and technology architectures that are shaping the future of payments. It presents the risks and opportunities that these digital assets and CBDCs mean for our society. It discusses how CBDCs and stablecoins can potentially stabilize digital payment systems, offers opportunities for immediate settlements, and facilitate efficient cross-border payments. However, it also notes the significant challenges, including legal and regulatory complexities, social impacts, privacy concerns, security threats, and the risk of mass-surveillance. The book explores the different characteristics of digital assets, the options available for each characteristic (like privacy, sovereignty,…) and provides detailed knowledge to judge the merits of the solutions proposed by private and public players.A must-read for anyone looking to understand the rapidly evolving world of digital currencies, this book encourages critical thinking about the opportunities and challenges presented by CBDCs and other digital assets and prompts readers to consider the vital aspects of privacy, security, and governance in an increasingly complex digital financial landscape.
ISBN: 9783031546013Publication Date: 2024 -
Digital Currency Assets and Challenges to Financial System Stability
by
In today's rapidly changing financial landscape, a formidable challenge looms large--digital currencies. The surge in popularity of virtual currencies has sparked a global debate, captivating the attention of investors, regulators, and scholars alike. However, a pressing concern persists amidst this digital revolution: the potential for unregulated digital currencies to facilitate the laundering of illicit funds, ranging from organized crime profits to terrorism financing and government corruption. This growing threat not only jeopardizes the integrity of our financial systems but also disrupts the socioeconomic and political order as we know it. Digital Currency Assets and Their Impact on Financial System Stability is the key to unlocking a profound understanding of the challenges posed by digital currencies and, more importantly, discovering intelligent solutions to safeguard our financial ecosystem. With meticulous research and expert insights, this book embarks on a comprehensive exploration of digital currencies' structure, potential disruptions, and capacity to reshape the financial landscape. Is it the primary objective? To provide a platform for scholars, investors, regulators, and researchers to delve into the risks, dangers, and threats stemming from unregulated digital currencies and to propose innovative strategies for mitigating these challenges. This book transcends traditional boundaries, making it an indispensable resource for diverse audiences. Academic scholars will find an invaluable source of knowledge to deepen their understanding of the digital currency landscape. Investors, whether digital currency enthusiasts or traditional financiers, will discover essential insights to navigate this uncharted territory. Regulators and central banks will gain vital perspectives to inform their policies and approaches in an evolving financial world. Researchers will uncover a rich trove of data and analysis to fuel their investigations. This book stands as a beacon of knowledge, guiding us through the complex realm of digital currencies, revealing hidden threats, and offering a path toward a safer, more resilient financial future.
ISBN: 9798369307717Publication Date: 2024-01-10 -
The digital finance era : a journey through Fintech and cryptocurrency
by
This book provides a thorough introduction of fintech in general and cryptocurrencies in particular. It describes the courses of action and policies by central banks to control and regulate these disruptive innovations, to a wide readership. In doing so, the book elaborates on the interrelationship between issues such as fintech and cryptocurrencies, central banks and digital currencies, Neo/challenger banks, financial inclusion and new generation of investors, while highlighting their regulatory and monetary implications. It does so by first (a) contributing to a rapidly emerging and expanding field of study on financial technology and digital banking, (b) emphasizing the organic interconnectedness of these advancements with socio-economic fabric of our societies and (c) layouts the countermeasures taken by central banks in response to disruptive technologies. The book serves as a valuable supplement for courses on Fintech, appealing to a broad range of readers including students, academics, banking and finance practitioners and policy makers. Babak Naysary is an assistant professor at Birmingham City University (UK) where he is teaching and conducting research in finance and accounting. His current research interests relate to financial technology and banking. His work has appeared in journals such as Review of Financial Analysis, Finance Research Letters, Journal of Financial Services Marketing and Competitiveness Review. Amine Tarazi is a professor of Economics and Finance at the University of Limoges (France) where he is currently the Director of a research center, LAPE, and Head of Master and PhD programs in Banking and Finance. He was appointed as a senior fellow of IUF (Institut Universitaire de France) for recognition of his research achievements. His work has appeared in Journal of Financial Economics, Journal of Corporate Finance and Journal of Financial Stability.
ISBN: 9789819739707Publication Date: 2024 -
Exploring Global FinTech Advancement and Applications
by
In the world of FinTech, scholars face an overwhelming dilemma; it is challenging to access comprehensive and up-to-date information across various regions with regards to timeliness. The transformative power of FinTech, driven by innovations such as blockchain, AI analytics, and mobile payment systems, has reshaped financial transactions, influenced economic growth, and spurred competition among traditional financial institutions. However, the lack of a comprehensive, scholarly resource hinders the ability of academics, policymakers, and industry professionals to navigate and comprehend these intricate developments. The need for a centralized repository of knowledge has become increasingly urgent, hindering the collective understanding of the complex dynamics of FinTech on a global scale. Exploring Global FinTech Advancement and Applications stands as a groundbreaking solution to the academic community's pressing need for a comprehensive understanding of this global financial landscape. Through meticulous assessments of countries across each global region, each chapter delves into market size, FinTech adoption rates, services offered, key players, investments, infrastructure, government policies, economic impacts, security concerns, academic research synthesis, and future trends. By consolidating this wealth of information, the book becomes an indispensable reference guide for scholars, researchers, policymakers, investors, and industry professionals seeking to navigate the intricate dynamics of FinTech on a global scale. Exploring Global FinTech Advancement and Applications has a profound impact on the research community, offering unparalleled insights into regional FinTech growth, challenges, and collaboration opportunities. Academics gain access to a rich repository of information, facilitating groundbreaking research in finance, technology, economics, and business. Policymakers and regulators receive a comprehensive guide to shaping effective financial regulations and policies. Professionals in the finance and banking industry, entrepreneurs, and startups in FinTech, as well as tech enthusiasts and innovators, find valuable insights to navigate the evolving landscape. Individuals engaged in cross-border trade and finance benefit from a holistic understanding of global FinTech trends. Ultimately, the book addresses the existing gap in academic resources while also propelling the collective understanding and advancement of FinTech on a worldwide scale, ushering in a new era of informed decision-making and innovation.
ISBN: 9798369315637Publication Date: 2024-02-07 -
Fintech, Small Business and the American Dream : How Technology Is Transforming Lending and Shaping a New Era of Small Business Opportunity
by
Small businesses are the backbone of the U.S. economy. They are the biggest job creators and offer a path to the American Dream. But for many, it is difficult to get the capital they need to operate and succeed. In Fintech, Small Business & the American Dream, former U.S. Small Business Administrator and Senior Fellow at Harvard Business School, Karen G. Mills, focuses on the needs of small businesses for capital and how technology will transform the small business lending market. This is a market that has been plagued by frictions: it is hard for a lender to figure out which small businesses are creditworthy, and borrowers often don't know how much money or what kind of loan they need. Every small business is different; one day the borrower is a dry cleaner and the next a parts supplier, making it difficult for lenders to understand each business's unique circumstances. Today, however, big data and artificial intelligence have the power to illuminate the opaque nature of a smallbusiness's finances and make it easier for them access capital to weather bumpy cash flows or to invest in growth opportunities. Beginning in the dark days following the 2008-9 recession and continuing through the crisis of the Covid-19 Pandemic, Mills charts how fintech has changed and will continue to change small business lending. In the new fintech landscape financial products are embedded in applications that small business owners use on daily basis, and data powered algorithms provide automated insights to determine which businesses are creditworthy. Digital challenger banks, big tech and traditional banks and credit card companies are deciding how they want to engage in the new lending ecosystem. Who will be the winners and losers? How should regulators respond? In this pivotal moment, Mills elucidates how financial innovation and wise regulation can restore a path to the American Dream by improving access to small business credit. An ambitious book grappling with the broad significance of small business to the economy, the historical role of credit markets, the dynamics of innovation cycles, and the policy implications for regulation, this second edition of Fintech, Small Business & the American Dream is relevant to bankers, regulators and fintech entrepreneurs and investors; in fact, to anyone who is interested in the future of small business in America.
ISBN: 9783031556128Publication Date: 2024 -
The Potential and Limitations of Bitcoin and Ethereum : A Framework to Assess Blockchain Projects from a Business and Economics Perspective
by
There is a lot of recent excitement about blockchain but the debate is often not conceptually grounded. Blockchain's innovation is more organizational than technical, and this Pivot discusses its conceptual elements to better evaluate its potential applications in the real world. Rooted in the basic technical concepts of blockchains, this book focuses on blockchain's potential and limitations from a social science perspective, drawing on areas such as economics, business, and law to discuss what types of applications can make sense for blockchains and which probably do not. It begins with a review of earlier attempts to create similar uses, then discusses Bitcoin and how it differed from other attempts at a decentralized currency. It also outlines the mechanisms of blockchain, its economic and legal connections, the role of smart contracts, and critical issues affecting the technology. It will be of interest to researchers, students, and policymakers of financial technology, economic innovation, regulation, and computer science.
ISBN: 9783031567834Publication Date: 2024 -
Revolutionizing Customer-Centric Banking Through ICT
by
Many developing countries face a significant challenge: their population needs access to essential financial services. This financial exclusion limits their ability to save, invest, and participate fully in the economy. Despite the rapid advancements in information and communication technology (ICT), millions of people remain underserved by traditional banking systems. Revolutionizing Customer-Centric Banking Through ICT addresses this critical issue by exploring how ICT innovations can revolutionize financial services in developing countries. By offering a comprehensive review of digital transformation in banking, the book highlights the potential of mobile banking, digital payment systems, and blockchain technology to bridge the financial inclusion gap. It showcases real-world examples and cutting-edge strategies, motivating entrepreneurs, financial institutions, and policymakers to embrace technology-driven financial solutions. The book also aims to educate readers about the transformative impact of ICT on financial services, empowering them to make informed decisions to enhance their economic well-being. Revolutionizing Customer-Centric Banking Through ICT is a valuable resource for academics, researchers, practitioners, and policymakers seeking to understand and leverage the potential of ICT in transforming financial services. Through its insightful analysis and practical recommendations, the book offers a roadmap for increasing financial inclusion, reducing poverty, and driving economic growth in developing countries.
ISBN: 9798369320624Publication Date: 2024-04-16
Climate, sustainability, & ESG
-
Clean Economy Now : Stories from the Frontlines of an American Business Revolution
by
ISBN: 9781538183052Publication Date: 2024 -
Corporate social hypocrisy : CSR in the era of global crises
by
"Many new challenges including competitiveness are emerging for sustainable business during this era of disruption. This book analyses these challenges to sustainable development and growth and addresses the impact of corporate social responsibility on the competitiveness of organisations. The authors analyse the major challenges for competitiveness of sustainable business in the Covid-19 era, taking into account a new business environment amid major global risks and uncertainties linked to climate change, pandemics, Russian-Ukrainian war and intuitions of forthcoming new world economic crisis. The monograph consists of five parts: 1. Sustainable Development Goals and the role of business 2. Climate change, covid 19, fragile political situation and business; 3. Corporate Social Responsibility and Corporate Social Hypocrisy, 4. Corporate Social Responsibility, Corporate Social Hypocrisy and competitiveness of business; 5. Case study on the impact of Corporate Social Responsibility on competitiveness with the impediments of Corporate Social Hypocrisy. The book presents new insights in assessing the impact of CSR on competitiveness of companies with the impediments of social hypocrisy. The developed framework and case study allows to develop valuable policy and managerial implications for sustainable business and engagements in corporate social responsibility as well to show the danger of corporate social hypocrisy for competitiveness. This book will be of value to researchers, academics, and students in the fields of CSR, organizational management, business ethics and responsible business"--
ISBN: 9781032489988Publication Date: 2023-07-01 -
The great greenwashing : how brands, governments, and influencers are lying to you
by
Saving the planet is big business. Realising this, savvy companies are hopping on the sustainability bandwagon. Some may have altruistic ends in mind, but most want to make a quick buck. As ethical spending and consumer options increase, greenwashing is not only proliferating--it's becoming harder to discern. But how is someone at the supermarket supposed to decipher all this? In The Great Greenwashing, John Pabon pulls no punches in arming consumers and business professionals with the tools they need to educate themselves, filter out the nonsense from the truth, and make a positive impact.
Call Number: HC79.E5 P33 2024ISBN: 9781487012861Publication Date: 2024-03-12 -
Implementing Environmental, Social and Governance (ESG) Principles for Sustainable Businesses : A Practical Guide in Sustainability Management
by
The concept of environmental, social and governance (ESG) is rapidly emerging as the new global industry standard and an important benchmarking tool for socially responsible investments. Major corporations seek the expertise of specialized consultants to develop and implement tailored ESG framework for their businesses. This book offers a guide to ESG and its practical applications. Beyond introducing the structured procedures of the most common ESG approaches, it delves into the comprehensive impact on the value chain, providing practical insights. The text explores the latest trends in various business sectors, offering insights into their ESG practices. Closing with a forward-looking perspective, the book anticipates future developments such as climate change management and ESG certifications, while also addressing potential pitfalls encapsulated by the term "greenwashing". Written by authors with a solid background in teaching and research, the book establishes a robust theoretical foundation. The inclusion of numerous practical examples and country-specific recommendations enhances this book's applicability and makes it an invaluable resource to those navigating the complexities of ESG.
ISBN: 9783031527340Publication Date: 2024 -
Measuring Good Business : Making Sense of Environmental, Social and Governance (ESG) Data / Richard Hardyment
by
This book sets out a bold blueprint to revolutionise the data underpinning the ESG revolution. It calls for bottom-up, inclusive metrics; customized data to meet investor needs; and impact principles that put sustainability in context, providing a how-to guide to improve measurement and make sustainable business more impactful.
ISBN: 9781032601199Publication Date: 2013 -
Sustainable capitalism : essential work for the Anthropocene
by
Capitalism has been linked to climate change, racism and slavery, wealth inequality, and the decline of democracy. At the same time, capitalism may have been instrumental in lifting hundreds of millions of people out of poverty, facilitating vast technological innovations, and improving standards of living across the globe. As climate change accelerates and the world is threatened with existential crises, we must ask: Is capitalism incompatible with sustainability? While this question is as complex and urgent as it is resistant to simple answers, the contributors to this volume make the case that a more sustainable capitalism is within our reach. Sustainable Capitalism takes on the challenge of sustainability from a uniquely interdisciplinary and diverse perspective, offering both theory and tools for action. Topics range from an analysis of the foundations and definition of capitalism to the specific regulatory mechanisms that may be necessary to rein in its current, unsustainable trajectory. Readers will find nuanced and important analyses of options and potential outcomes that are not available in any other work. This book is essential reading for anyone concerned about the path we are on and how we might improve the lives of people around the globe. https://www.sustainablecapitalismbook.com/
Call Number: HB501 .S9597 2024ISBN: 9781647691752Publication Date: 2024-09-13 -
Measuring ESG Effects in Systematic Investing
by
A unique perspective on the implications of incorporating ESG considerations in systematic investing In Measuring ESG in Systematic Investing, a team of authors from Barclays' top-ranked Quantitative Portfolio Strategy group (ranked #1 by Institutional Investor in its 2022 Global Fixed Income Research Survey in both the US and Europe) delivers an insightful and practical discussion of how to reflect ESG considerations in systematic investing. The authors offer a cross-asset class perspective--incorporating both credit and equity markets in the United States, Europe, and China--a unique coverage scope amongst books on this subject. They discuss the interaction between ESG ratings and various other security characteristics, suggest a methodology for isolating the ESG-specific risk premia, analyse the impact of an ESG tilt on systematic strategies and risk factors, and identify several ESG-based signals that are predictive of future performance. You'll also discover: Analysis of companies in the process of improving their ESG ranking ("ESG improvers") vs. firms with best-in-class ESG ratings A study using natural language processing (NLP) to predict changes in corporate ESG rankings from company job postings for sustainability-related positions In-depth explorations of ESG equity fund performance and flows and the information content of ESG ratings dispersion across several providers Perfect for portfolio managers including non-quantitative, fundamental investors, risk managers, and research analysts at financial institutions such as asset managers, pension funds, banks, sovereign wealth funds, hedge funds, and insurance companies, Measuring ESG in Systematic Investing is also a must-read resource for academics with a research interest in the performance and risk implications of ESG investing.
ISBN: 9781394214808Publication Date: 2024-04-08 -
Voluntary to Mandatory ESG Reporting: Responsible Business to Accountable Business
by
Focusing on the impacts of environmental, social, and governance (ESG) matters, companies, financial institutions, and regulators are continually seeking sustainability-driven models and standards on ESG themes in the sourcing, design, and provision of products and services. This welcome and thoroughly researched book, by a well-known authority in corporate and financial services law, engages with developments in ESG soft and hard law as business responsibility shades into business accountability. The author offers a sweeping, in-depth consideration of the current and future role of ESG reporting and compliance, encompassing such issues and topics as the following: purpose and forms of regulation for non-financial reporting; mandatory ESG reporting implementation issues; role of the company board; recognition of threats posed by 'greenwashing' and similar tactics; clean energy versus sustainable supply chains; limits and weaknesses of ESG reporting; help from AI and other software solutions; and progress in the global quest for a universal ESG reporting standard. Although some companies retain their social and political licences to operate and thwart ESG, robust data and persuasive contentions worldwide show that deliberations on how best to promote global sustainability in the long term have become standard business practice. Accordingly, this book clearly demonstrates how including ESG in business decisions ultimately contributes to stable and predictable markets. Its insights and guidance will be greatly appreciated by all those needing to engage with ESG reporting, whether lawyers, investors, regulators, business stakeholders, or academics.
ISBN: 9789403503486Publication Date: 2024-08-13
Consumer Behavior and Marketing
-
All-American Ads of The 70s
by
Both eclipsed and influenced by television, American print ads of the 1970s departed from the bold, graphic forms and subtle messages that were typical of their sixties counterparts. More literal, more in-your-face, 70s ads sought to capture the attention of a public accustomed to blaring, to-the-point TV commercials. All was not lost, though; as ads are a sign of the times, racial and ecological awareness crept into everything from cigarette to car advertisements, reminding Americans that everyday products were hip to the modern age. In an attempt to discover how best to communicate with a mass audience, marketing specialists studied focus groups with furious determination, thus producing such dumbed-down gems as "sisters are different from brothers," the slogan used for an African-American hair product. By the end of the decade, however, print ads had begun to recoup, gaining in originality and creativity as they focused on target audiences through carefully chosen placement in smaller publications. A fascinating study of mass culture dissemination in a post-hippie, television-obsessed nation, this weighty volume delivers an exhaustive and nostalgic overview of 70s advertising.
Call Number: NC998.5.A1 A17 2023ISBN: 9783836588607Publication Date: 2022-05-20 -
Designing Luxury Brands : The Art and Science of Creating Game-Changers
by
This book, a second offering after the successful first edition, shows how to build successful luxury brands using the power of sensory science and neuropsychology. The author presents inspiring business cases like Tesla Cybertruck, Chanel, KaDeWe, Baccarat, JACQUEMUS, NASA, MUD Jeans, Lilium, Rémy Cointreau, FENG J, Moncler, Louboutin, or Raffles Dubai in industries such as Fashion, Automotive or Leisure. The book highlights groundbreaking scientific methods - like the Derval Color Test® taken by over 30 million people - to help predict luxury shoppers' preferences and purchasing patterns. Game-changing and unique features of successful luxury brands are decoded. Through various practical examples and experiments, readers will be able to build, revamp, or expand luxury brands and look at luxury from a new angle.
ISBN: 9783031540936Publication Date: 2024 -
Driving Green Marketing in Fashion and Retail
by
Today, sustainability is a critical issue in the fashion industry. However, it can be challenging for fashion businesses to adopt green marketing strategies while keeping up with digital innovations. The book, Driving Green Marketing in Fashion and Retail , explores cutting-edge techniques to provide solutions to this challenge. It is an essential guide for fashion marketers looking to align their practices with environmental responsibility. As consumers become increasingly conscious of the environmental and social impacts of their purchasing decisions, fashion brands must adapt or risk being left behind. This book offers a comprehensive roadmap for embracing sustainability through digital marketing channels. From leveraging AI and big data analytics to implementing eco-friendly packaging solutions, each chapter presents actionable insights tailored to the modern fashion landscape. For academics, researchers, students, and industry professionals, Driving Green Marketing in Fashion and Retail provides a vital resource for understanding and implementing green marketing strategies. By bridging the gap between theory and practice, this book empowers readers to engage with the forefront of sustainable fashion marketing, fostering a brighter, more environmentally conscious future for the industry.
ISBN: 9798369330517Publication Date: 2024-05-28 -
Enhancing and Predicting Digital Consumer Behavior with AI
by
Understanding consumer behavior in today's digital landscape is more challenging than ever. Businesses must navigate a sea of data to discern meaningful patterns and correlations that drive effective customer engagement and product development. However, the ever-changing nature of consumer behavior presents a daunting task, making it difficult for companies to gauge the wants and needs of their target audience accurately. Enhancing and Predicting Digital Consumer Behavior with AI offers a comprehensive solution to this pressing issue. A strong focus on concepts, theories, and analytical techniques for tracking consumer behavior changes provides the roadmap for businesses to navigate the complexities of the digital age. Through multidisciplinary research and practice, specifically focusing on behavioral analysis, the book equips executives, entrepreneurs, marketers, and data analysts with the tools to make informed decisions that drive business success. Enhancing and Predicting Digital Consumer Behavior with AI goes beyond immediate challenges, identifying future trends companies can leverage to develop new products and businesses. It also addresses the ethical implications of rapidly advancing technologies in consumer behavior analysis. By covering topics such as digital consumers, emotional intelligence, and data analytics, this book serves as a timely and invaluable resource for academics and practitioners seeking to understand and adapt to the evolving landscape of consumer behavior.
ISBN: 9798369344545Publication Date: 2024-05-13 -
Navigating the Shifting Landscape of Consumer Behavior
by
The marketing world is transforming in this era of unprecedented technological advancement, changing consumer tastes, and evolving social norms. As information flows freely and brand loyalty becomes a coveted prize, understanding what motivates consumers to choose one brand over another is paramount. Navigating the Shifting Landscape of Consumer Behavior is an authoritative exploration of the dynamic interplay between consumers, brands, and the evolving digital environment. This book dives into the contemporary consumer behavior. The narrative reveals the phenomenon of brand activism as a significant force reshaping the marketing battlefield. No longer content to remain apolitical, brands are increasingly taking stances on pressing social and environmental issues. The book critically examines the dynamics of successful brand activism and explores customer reactions to companies championing social causes. The book illuminates the transformative trends of e-commerce, mobile shopping, and omnichannel strategies in digital retail. It scrutinizes how customers navigate the digital economy, the influence of social media on their decisions, and the ethical implications of data-driven marketing. Ethical considerations take center stage, addressing issues such as the ethical implications of artificial intelligence, corporate accountability in the digital environment, and the delicate balance between innovation and ethics. Navigating the Shifting Landscape of Consumer Behavior aspires to catalyze positive change. It provides a theoretical understanding and bridges the gap between theory and practice. The book incorporates real-world examples and practical tactics, making it an invaluable resource for marketing scholars, researchers, professionals, educators, and graduate students. The focus on ethical marketing practices, brand activism, and corporate responsibility contributes to current research by providing data-driven insights and addressing the ethical challenges of evolving marketing tactics.
ISBN: 9798369315965Publication Date: 2024-02-07 -
Smart and Sustainable Interactive Marketing
by
In today's world, sustainability is no longer just a buzzword; it is a fundamental concern for businesses seeking to thrive. Traditional marketing strategies often fall short of aligning with the values and expectations of today's socially conscious consumers. Marketers are grappling with the issue of reconciling traditional marketing with the demands of the modern, environmentally conscious consumers. The marketing landscape is rapidly evolving, and businesses are challenged to embrace sustainability while leveraging transformative digital technologies. Smart and Sustainable Interactive Marketing is designed to address this very challenge. This book recognizes this issue as the first step toward its resolution. It delves into the intricate dimensions and features of sustainable marketing, shedding light on how it can harmonize with the contemporary economy and the principles of sustainable development. The book identifies the need for transformation and integration of digital technologies, such as artificial intelligence, to bridge the gap between traditional marketing and sustainability. This resource offers a compelling solution for academic scholars, students, and professionals alike. Smart and Sustainable Interactive Marketing emphasizes the impact of transformative technologies and their role in the sustainability of marketing and sales systems. The book equips readers with the knowledge and tools necessary to address the challenges and opportunities presented by Industry 5.0 and Society 5.0. This is a must-read for those seeking to usher in a new era of marketing that is not only smart but also eco-conscious and ready to meet the demands of the fourth industrial revolution.
ISBN: 9798369313404Publication Date: 2024-01-22 -
Transformative Marketing : Combining New Age Technologies and Human Insights
by
This book gives an indispensable guide to navigating the shift in customer behavior and discovers how to rally their resources, cultivate capabilities, and forge strategies that harness cutting-edge technologies. In today's tech-centric world, customers crave lightning-fast digital experiences and demand instant solutions. In response, firms are changing the way they do business by accelerating the application of new age technologies, revamping processes, building new organizational structures, and innovating new business models. The authors unveil the secrets of integrating diverse data sources, principles of Marketing 5.0 and employing advanced techniques to unearth profound insights about the customers. This work is the ticket to the latest in AI, machine learning, drones, and other game-changing technologies. Stay ahead of the curve by learning not just what tech to use, but how, when, and why to deploy it in this digital age. For the trailblazers with the influence and resources to reshape marketing strategies, this book is the essential read. Executives climbing the corporate ladder will find it a compass, unraveling how new age technologies dance with both traditional and emerging marketing practices. And for MBA students hungry for insights on navigating the digital era's competitive landscape, this book is the treasure trove of tools and real-world cases. Dive in and chart the course in the tech-driven marketing landscape!
ISBN: 9783031596377Publication Date: 2024 -
African luxury branding : from soft power to queer futures
by
Bringing together critical race, queer and decolonial analytical approaches, visual analysis, and multimodal discourse analysis, this book explores the discursive strategies deployed by African luxury brands in an age of cross-platform, intertextual branding. Building on literature examining the aesthetics and politics of African luxury, this book demonstrates how leading African luxury brands create visual material speaking to complex sensibilities of culture, nature, and future. Iqani shows how powerful brand narratives and strategies reveal ethical and ideological messages that function to re-position Africa in an increasingly congested global marketplace of ideas. In acknowledging that there is a strong political validity to recognizing the importance of African brands staking their claim in luxury, this book also problematizes the role these brands play in the promotion of luxury discourses, advancing the project of capitalism and their contribution to broader patterns of inequality. Shedding new light not only on luxury branding strategies but also on the idea of a luxurious global "Africanicity" and on the complex cultural politics of South Africa, African Luxury Branding will be of interest to advanced students and researchers in disciplines, including Critical Advertising Studies, African Studies, Media and Communications.
ISBN: 9781000814057Publication Date: 2022-11-23
Data Science, Machine Learning, and Artificial Intelligence in Business
-
Data Science Fundamentals with R, Python, and Open Data
by
Data Science Fundamentals with R, Python, and Open Data Introduction to essential concepts and techniques of the fundamentals of R and Python needed to start data science projects Organized with a strong focus on open data, Data Science Fundamentals with R, Python, and Open Data discusses concepts, techniques, tools, and first steps to carry out data science projects, with a focus on Python and RStudio, reflecting a clear industry trend emerging towards the integration of the two. The text examines intricacies and inconsistencies often found in real data, explaining how to recognize them and guiding readers through possible solutions, and enables readers to handle real data confidently and apply transformations to reorganize, indexing, aggregate, and elaborate. This book is full of reader interactivity, with a companion website hosting supplementary material including datasets used in the examples and complete running code (R scripts and Jupyter notebooks) of all examples. Exam-style questions are implemented and multiple choice questions to support the readers' active learning. Each chapter presents one or more case studies. Written by a highly qualified academic, Data Science Fundamentals with R, Python, and Open Data discuss sample topics such as: Data organization and operations on data frames, covering reading CSV dataset and common errors, and slicing, creating, and deleting columns in R Logical conditions and row selection, covering selection of rows with logical condition and operations on dates, strings, and missing values Pivoting operations and wide form-long form transformations, indexing by groups with multiple variables, and indexing by group and aggregations Conditional statements and iterations, multicolumn functions and operations, data frame joins, and handling data in list/dictionary format Data Science Fundamentals with R, Python, and Open Data is a highly accessible learning resource for students from heterogeneous disciplines where Data Science and quantitative, computational methods are gaining popularity, along with hard sciences not closely related to computer science, and medical fields using stochastic and quantitative models.
ISBN: 9781394213269Publication Date: 2024-04-02 -
Demystifying the Dark Side of AI in Business
by
Demystifying the Dark Side of AI in Business delves into the often-overlooked negative aspects of Artificial Intelligence (AI) and its implications for organizations. In an era where AI is rapidly transforming industries and work environments, it is crucial to understand the potential risks and challenges associated with its implementation. Drawing from a wide range of global perspectives, this book brings together articles from leading researchers, academicians, and professionals across disciplines to shed light on the dark side of AI. Through academic rigor and meticulous analysis, the book addresses key topics such as unethical AI implementation, safety risks, negative social impacts, unintended consequences, and legal concerns surrounding AI adoption. This book explores the need for effective governance to address the challenges posed by AI. It highlights the potential for AI to be exploited by humans, emphasizing the individual, organizational, and social risks that come with its misuse. By presenting real-world case studies and practical insights, the book equips readers with the knowledge to navigate the complexities of AI implementation and make informed decisions. Demystifying the Dark Side of AI in Business covers crucial topics such as governance, ethical concerns, safety risks, social impacts, and future perspectives. By illuminating the negative implications of AI, this book paves the way for responsible and informed AI adoption, ensuring a balance between the potential benefits and the inherent risks associated with this transformative technology. Targeting researchers, academicians, professionals, and students with a wide range of interests, this book offers a rich understanding of the theoretical and practical implications of AI. It serves as a valuable resource for management disciplines like human resource management, marketing, financial management, and operations management, enabling readers to grasp the nuances of ai in different organizational contexts.
ISBN: 9798369307250Publication Date: 2024-03-11 -
How Machine Learning Is Innovating Today's World
by
Provides a comprehensive understanding of the latest advancements and practical applications of machine learning techniques. Machine learning (ML), a branch of artificial intelligence, has gained tremendous momentum in recent years, revolutionizing the way we analyze data, make predictions, and solve complex problems. As researchers and practitioners in the field, the editors of this book recognize the importance of disseminating knowledge and fostering collaboration to further advance this dynamic discipline. How Machine Learning is Innovating Today's World is a timely book and presents a diverse collection of 25 chapters that delve into the remarkable ways that ML is transforming various fields and industries. It provides a comprehensive understanding of the practical applications of ML techniques. The wide range of topics include: An analysis of various tokenization techniques and the sequence-to-sequence model in natural language processing explores the evaluation of English language readability using ML models a detailed study of text analysis for information retrieval through natural language processing the application of reinforcement learning approaches to supply chain management the performance analysis of converting algorithms to source code using natural language processing in Java presents an alternate approach to solving differential equations utilizing artificial neural networks with optimization techniques a comparative study of different techniques of text-to-SQL query conversion the classification of livestock diseases using ML algorithms ML in image enhancement techniques the efficient leader selection for inter-cluster flying ad-hoc networks a comprehensive survey of applications powered by GPT-3 and DALL-E recommender systems' domain of application reviews mood detection, emoji generation, and classification using tokenization and CNN variations of the exam scheduling problem using graph coloring the intersection of software engineering and machine learning applications explores ML strategies for indeterminate information systems in complex bipolar neutrosophic environments ML applications in healthcare, in battery management systems, and the rise of AI-generated news videos how to enhance resource management in precision farming through AI-based irrigation optimization. Audience The book will be extremely useful to professionals, post-graduate research scholars, policymakers, corporate managers, and anyone with technical interests looking to understand how machine learning and artificial intelligence can benefit their work.
ISBN: 1394214154Publication Date: 2024-06-06 -
The Modern Business Data Analyst : A Case Study Introduction Into Business Data Analytics with CRISP-DM and R
by
This book illustrates and explains the key concepts of business data analytics from scratch, tackling the day-to-day challenges of a business data analyst. It provides you with all the professional tools you need to predict online shop sales, to conduct A/B tests on marketing campaigns, to generate automated reports with PowerPoint, to extract datasets from Wikipedia, and to create interactive analytics Web apps. Alongside these practical projects, this book provides hands-on coding exercises, case studies, the essential programming tools and the CRISP-DM framework which you'll need to kickstart your career in business data analytics. The different chapters prioritize practical understanding over mathematical theory, using realistic business data and challenges of the Junglivet Whisky Company to intuitively grasp key concepts and ideas. Designed for beginners and intermediates, this book guides you from business data analytics fundamentals to advanced techniques, covering a large number of different techniques and best-practices which you can immediately exploit in your daily work. The book does not assume that you have an academic degree or any experience with business data analytics or data science. All you need is an open mind, willingness to puzzle and think mathematically, and the willingness to write some R code. This book is your all-in-one resource to become proficient in business data analytics with R, equipped with practical skills for the real world.
ISBN: 9783031599071Publication Date: 2024
Entrepreneurship and Innovation
-
Business Model Innovation A Blueprint for Strategic Change.
by
What strategic challenges are faced by both start-ups and incumbent firms, and what opportunities do these challenges create for business model innovation? Focusing on the underpinning theory and concepts of business models, this book identifies new business models capable of creating sustainable competitive advantage, and guides readers through their implementation. A detailed introduction outlines current research in business model innovation (including directions for future research) and global business cases are applied throughout to illustrate key issues. Topics covered include market creation, leadership, digital technology adoption, small- and medium-sized enterprises, start-ups, sustainability, socio-economic development and conduct risk. Also discussed are the principles of the architecting economic systems, the role of government in influencing business models design, and how organisational structures must adapt in the context of business model innovation.
ISBN: 9781009181709Publication Date: 2024-05-02 -
Handcrafted Careers: Working the Artisan Economy of Craft Beer
by
Unpacks the problems and privileges of pursuing a career of passion by exploring work inside craft breweries. As workers attempt new modes of employment in the era of the Great Resignation, they face a labor landscape that is increasingly uncertain and stubbornly unequal. With Handcrafted Careers, sociologist Eli Revelle Yano Wilson dives headfirst into the everyday lives of workers in the craft beer industry to address key questions facing American workers today: about what makes a good career, who gets to have one, and how career progress in craft brewing might unfold. Wilson argues that what ends up contributing to divergent career paths in craft beer is a complex interplay of workers' own social connections, personal tastes, and cultural ideas about work, as well as crucial industry structures that are exclusionary. The culture of work in craft beer is based around normative white male ideals that can lead to select opportunities for some while limiting the advancement of women and people of color. A fresh perspective on this and other similar niche industries, Handcrafted Careers offers key insights into how people navigate worlds of work that promote ideas of authenticity and passion yet in reality can be unpredictable.
ISBN: 9780520401563Publication Date: 2024-09-17 -
Re-understanding entrepreneurship : what it is and why it matters
by
How do entrepreneurs make decisions in the real world? Why are entrepreneurs absent from mainstream economics? What functions do entrepreneurs play in the market? What type of institutional environment is needed for entrepreneurship to play a role? Neoclassical economics is a market theory without entrepreneurship. This misconception distorts our understanding of how the real market works, leading to a theory of market failure that forms the common foundation of various government interventions. The market is not only an allocative process but, more importantly, a discovery and creative process. To understand the real market, Weiying Zhang argues that economics must shift from a price-centric to an entrepreneur-centric paradigm. Blending theory and narrative, Zhang intersects history with the present supporting his theory with relevant case studies. He argues that once entrepreneurship in the market is correctly understood, the foundation for government intervention is undermined and the economy can sustainably flourish.
ISBN: 9781009453387Publication Date: 2024-05-02 -
Thinking Bigger : A Pitch-Deck Formula for Women Who Want to Change the World
by
A guide for women entrepreneurs to help them get the financing they need to build big businesses and change our world The lack of female representation among top-earning business founders is surprising when compared with the number of women who start businesses. Fewer than thirty women in history have taken companies they founded public on leading stock exchanges. Although consistent references to "women and small business" dominate global development strategies and influence public policy, women are granted less than 2 percent of all venture capital investments annually. Thinking Bigger is designed to provide women with the keys to unlocking capital and thinking bigger. Its author, Sarah Dusek, an entrepreneur and a venture capitalist, shares personal anecdotes highlighting obstacles that women face in business and how to overcome them. She reveals the metrics that really matter to venture capitalists and how to pitch them successfully. Her book delves into the art and science of creating a winning "pitch deck"--the standard formula for pitching to investors, from crafting a compelling story to using data and design to make a lasting impact. Thinking Bigger positions women to get the financing they need--to build big businesses, to scale their endeavors, and to make a positive impact on our world.
ISBN: 9781647125097Publication Date: 2024
Human Resources and Management
-
Building Sustainable Human Resources Management Practices for Businesses
by
The pressing need for environmental preservation has never been more evident, placing companies at the forefront of the sustainability movement. As the global community grapples with the ever-escalating environmental crisis, the imperative to preserve our planet has transitioned from an ethical consideration to a business necessity. Companies now face an unprecedented challenge: not only must they adapt to more sustainable practices, but must also fully embrace them across all aspects of their operations, including at the employee level. At the heart of this transformative journey lies human resource management, a pivotal lever for shaping a sustainable and environmentally responsible future for organizations. Building Sustainable Human Resources Management Practices for Businesses is a tool for academic scholars and discerning readers who seek to understand and address this urgent issue. This book goes beyond exploration, offering a deeply insightful examination of human resource management's role in fostering sustainability within organizations. By weaving the principles of sustainability with the intricacies of talent management, the book provides readers with the essential insights, practical tools, and real-world examples necessary to navigate the path toward a more eco-conscious approach to HR. From eco-friendly hiring practices to the cultivation of a green organizational culture, each chapter delivers actionable guidance and inspires change. Simultaneously, it delves into the challenges and future prospects of green HR management, exploring how technology, diversity and inclusion, and collaboration with key stakeholders can usher in a greener, more sustainable economy. In a world teetering on the edge of environmental uncertainty, Building Sustainable Human Resources Management Practices for Businesses is an indispensable guide for academic scholars, leaders, and human resource professionals. It sheds light on the critical issue of integrating sustainability into human resource management and sets the stage for a more sustainable and environmentally conscious organizational landscape. The urgency of our times demands that organizations, academicians, and policymakers unite in their quest for a greener future, and this book serves as the bridge connecting academia, business, and the environment to achieve that shared vision.
ISBN: 9798369319963Publication Date: 2024-03-22 -
Enhancing Employee Motivation Through Training and Development
by
In the complex modern workplaces, the crucial synergy between organizational leadership and employee success is a major challenge. The literature resounds with the struggles of leaders seeking effective avenues to support training and development initiatives. The critical inquiry emerges: How can organizational leaders craft training programs aligned with adult learning theories and styles, fostering a culture of continuous improvement and, in turn, boosting employee motivation and performance? Enhancing Employee Motivation Through Training and Development is more than an exploration; it is a resounding solution to the challenges faced by professionals in the field. With meticulous precision, it equips readers with relevant theoretical frameworks and the latest empirical research findings. The core objective is to empower professionals to design and implement training and development programs that transcend conventional boundaries, shaping a new era of organizational effectiveness. Delve into the intricacies of employee motivation and satisfaction, navigating the web of adult learning theories and styles. Illuminate the path to training and development, mastering the art of change management for organizational growth. Decode the dynamics of organizational satisfaction, commitment, and leadership, exploring the impact of culture on development. Uncover best practices in training design, development, and delivery, and harness the power of organizational learning for sustained success. Tailored for industrial and organizational psychologists, training and development experts, human resources managers, and organizational change management leaders, this book guides the process for improving training and development outcomes. Transcend conventional boundaries and usher in a new era of excellence with the knowledge housed in this book, and join a league of forward-thinkers.
ISBN: 9798369316757Publication Date: 2024-06-03 -
Global Practices on Effective Talent Acquisition and Retention
by
Studies have indicated that employers across the globe face difficulties in filling critical roles, sparking a worldwide "war for talent." This talent war, once a temporary market condition, has now solidified into the "New Normal." Leaders recognize that success in this era demands the construction of optimal teams for strategic competitive advantage amid global uncertainty and hypercompetition. As explored in detail within the pages of Global Practices on Effective Talent Acquisition and Retention , this book serves as an indispensable guide for scholars and practitioners navigating the intricacies of talent management in the current global scenario. This project aspires to create a comprehensive reference material delving into diverse aspects of current global talent realities. It aims to provide scholars and practitioners with recent empirical, practical, and theoretical research on talent acquisition and retention practices worldwide. The emphasis is on sustainable practices that drive organizational success across multiple industries. The impact of this publication will resonate in both application and the direction of future research. Explore the evolving landscape of talent acquisition, from the historical perspective to cutting-edge practices such as AI-driven recruitment and the integration of eco-friendly and sustainable HRM. Dive into themes like diversity and inclusion, employee well-being, remote work challenges, and compensation strategies in a global context. Each chapter, meticulously curated, offers insights into the imperative for global talent acquisition and retention, making this book an indispensable resource for scholars and practitioners navigating the intricacies of talent management in the current global scenario.
ISBN: 9798369319406Publication Date: 2024-06-03 -
Leading Yourself : Find More Joy, Meaning, and Opportunities in the Job You Already Have (Despite Imperfect Bosses, Weird Economies, Lethargic Coworkers, Annoying Systems, and Too Many Deliverables).
by
Create the work experience you want in the less-than-perfect job you already have. In Leading Yourself, celebrated workplace thought leader Elizabeth Lotardo delivers an engaging guide to owning and elevating your work experience. With tips, watchouts, and funny stories, Leading Yourself will give you the encouragement and tactics to up-level your career, even if you aren't in your dream job. You'll learn to manage your self-talk, find meaning in the mundane, optimize your time at work, and build relationships with the people who matter. Lotardo, a wildly popular LinkedIn Learning Instructor, shares key behaviors and habits that will transform the way you experience your job and unlock opportunities for career growth. You'll discover: Strategies to overcome self-doubt, embrace change, and navigate uncertainty Talk tracks for handling difficult bosses, like micromanagers, know-it-alls, and leaders who constantly change their mind How to avoid the awkwardness of giving and receiving feedback and what to do when the feedback is wrong Tips for preserving your own reputation when other people don't deliver (or if your company majorly messes up) Frameworks for evaluating and making your next career move Leading Yourself puts the power back in your hands. Even if you work for a fallible boss or imperfect organization, you can change the way you experience your job. An indispensable guide to self-leadership for aspiring and current managers, executives, directors, and other business leaders, Leading Yourself is the roadmap you've been waiting for.
ISBN: 1394238711Publication Date: 2024-07-31 -
Navigating the Coaching and Leadership Landscape
by
In today's rapidly evolving leadership landscape, a glaring gap exists between theory and practice in coaching and leadership. While scattered research attempts to shed light on this critical intersection, a comprehensive resource remains elusive, leaving practitioners and scholars needing a unified framework to navigate this complex terrain. The absence of a holistic understanding hampers the efforts of leaders striving to cultivate effective coaching practices and impedes scholarly progress in this burgeoning field. Navigating the Coaching and Leadership Landscape: Strategies and Insights for Success , poised to bridge the divide between theory and practice in coaching and leadership. By meticulously examining the theoretical underpinnings and practical applications of coaching within leadership contexts, our comprehensive volume offers a long-awaited solution to this pressing problem. From elucidating the foundational connection between coaching and leadership to providing actionable insights into implementing coaching practices, each chapter serves as a guiding beacon for practitioners and scholars alike. Navigating the Coaching and Leadership Landscape: Strategies and Insights for Success addresses the immediate challenges faced by leaders seeking to integrate coaching into their practices and paves the way for future scholarship and innovation in the field. Providing a cohesive framework and a wealth of practical strategies empowers leaders to navigate the complexities of contemporary leadership with confidence and clarity. Join us in embracing this transformative resource as we embark on a journey toward more effective and inclusive leadership practices, guided by coaching principles and fueled by scholarly inquiry.
ISBN: 9798369352441Publication Date: 2024-03-07 -
The New Power Brokers : The Rise of Asset Manager Capitalism and the New Economic Order
by
Over the course of the last 70 years, asset managers⸺from activist hedge funds to large passive index fund providers⸺have come to own the substantial majority of corporate equities in the United States, and have wielded that ownership to fundamentally reshape the economy. For most of American history, investing was simple: you purchased shares and left the operation of the company to management. If you were dissatisfied with the firm's performance, you sold your shares. With the rise of asset managers, shareholders now attempt to directly change the companies in which they invest. The New Power Brokers chronicles the economic, legal and technological changes at the heart of this transformation in our public markets, and provides fresh perspectives on what those changes mean for corporations, investors and society as a whole.
ISBN: 9783031647338Publication Date: 2024 -
Transformative Social Change in Organizations and Institutions
by
Due to the unfortunate events of 2020, diversity, equity, and inclusion (DEI) has become trendy without the public truly understanding the systemic and structural impacts that the discipline is intended to interrupt. DEI impacts myriad institutions. DEI is not a checkbox; it is soul work, and until we interrogate the ills and wills of our souls, the individual "I" will never transform the institution. Transformative Social Change in Organizations and Institutions: A DEI Perspective focuses on the transformative social change that DEI is meant to have within organizations and institutions. Covering topics such as DEI strategy, performance vs. impact, and workplace dynamics, this reference work is ideal for government officials, faith communities, doctoral students, educational agencies, researchers, and students.
ISBN: 1668487330Publication Date: 2024-01-10 -
You're Hired! : Practical Strategies for Guiding Individuals With Autism Spectrum Disorder to Competitive Employment
by
Despite having marketable skills, individuals with Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD) have one of the highest unemployment and under-employment rates of all disability groups. You're Hired! Practical Strategies for Guiding Individuals with ASD to Competitive Employment is a guidebook to support practitioners who prepare young adults with ASD for competitive employment. Anchored in best practices, this teacher-friendly and classroom-ready resource provides detailed "how-to's" on supporting individuals with ASD from their initial employment exploration through navigating the challenges of the first job. This text is a valuable resource for Special Education practitioners teaching in transition programs and is well-suited for teacher preparation programs that provide ASD certifications. In addition, occupational therapists and school counselors will find many useful resources, such as inventories, checklists, and templates, that will aid in the roles they play in preparing individuals with ASD for the job market.
ISBN: 9781538177419Publication Date: 2023-12-10 -
You Do You(ish): Unleash Your Authentic Superpowers to Get the Career You Deserve
by
You got the best grades, you're never afraid of a challenge, and you work your a$$ off at work. But. Something just isn't right. The pressure, the politics, and the PowerPoints have left you perplexed, paralyzed and maybe even panicked..."Is it actually possible to have the career I want and deserve?!" Former corporate CEO turned Professional Pot-Stirrer, Erin Hatzikostas, is on a hell-bent mission to help you have the big career you deserve, without compromising everything else. You Do You(ish) hurls aside the crusty, decades-old career advice you've likely heard for way too long: lean in, executive presence, network, blah, blah, blah. Instead, this book will help you see that there's a better way to have success and get great results. You succeed, you don't sell out. You Do You(ish) will take you on a roller-coaster ride that will have you go deep, say "aha", and possibly tinkle a little while laughing. The book is whimsical and inspiring, yet also grounded in Erin's proprietary H.U.M.A.N.S. framework - Six Principles of Strategic Authenticity. You will... Gain confidence that authenticity in the workplace is not only possible, it's actually your new secret weapon for success. Start to fall in love with your work and life (again) by not just being authentic, but by doing authentic. Eliminate the dreadful work and job anxiety that haunts you when facing the BS at work. Tune into a new frequency, while tuning out the Sucky Songs you're singing to yourself, like "I'm not good enough" and get specific tips for self development to ensure you get the success you deserve. Stop pushing aside the big dreams you once had by succumbing to the thought that this job is "good enough for me". Unleash your full potential by using the six specific strategies for self growth - through the H.U.M.A.N.S. framework - and start experimenting with the real, simple, and tangible authenticity examples carefully laid out and designed to provide you with immediate results. Find and enjoy the financial abundance that comes from pursuing and achieving a bigger career while also having work life balance. Achieve even more joy at work and in life by joining the bigger authenticity movement, including by becoming a (good) A-H.O.L.E! So, are you ready to stop settling for "good enough" and start believing you can have the big career you deserve? If so, start defining your own success with You Do You(ish)!
Call Number: HF5382.7 .H38 2021ISBN: 9781736376539Publication Date: 2021-03-08 -
Neurodiversity and work : employment, identity, and support networks for neurominorities
by
This interdisciplinary work explores creating more inclusive workplaces around neurodiversity. It focuses on how organizations can promote true inclusion for neurominorities, a large segment of the emerging workforce while underlining the difficulties as well as the strength-based characteristics faced by this population. Beyond social, learning or communication challenges, neurominorities are often highly intelligent, honest, authentic, hyper-focused, innovative, skilled in various forms of perception, reliable, and resilient. Discovering ways for true inclusion can add value to organizations, helping all employees to learn and develop as colleagues while also helping neurominorities fulfill the goals of achieving dignity, respect, independence, and flourishing through work. This volume connects neurodiversity to disability in the workplace and examines the factors that contribute to the successful employment and integration of neurodiverse workers, including the transition from school to the labor market. It also highlights barriers and challenges faced by neurominorities. This book will appeal to scholars across business and the social sciences looking to better understand how neurodiversity should be addressed in organizational contexts. The multidisciplinary approach will accelerate management research and practices by providing insights already captured across a wide variety of disciplines, rather than prompting management researchers to build upon what currently exists solely in the management literature. Eric Patton is Professor of Management at Saint Joseph's University, USA and Director of the HR & People Management undergraduate program. His research focuses on mental health in the workplace, absence from work, and gender issues in management. Alecia M. Santuzzi is Professor in the Social-Industrial/Organizational Psychology Program and Director of Research Methodology Services at Northern Illinois University, USA. Her most recent work considers social and individual factors that contribute to a worker's decision to disclose a disability, and the costs and benefits of those decisions.
ISBN: 9783031550720
Name, Image, Likeness (NIL)
-
An Abbreviated Compendium for Navigating the NCAA Name, Image, and Likeness Landscape
by
An Abbreviated Compendium for Navigating the NCAA Name, Image, and Likeness Landscape by Tanner Simkins is a comprehensive guide to understanding and effectively managing the new opportunities that NIL rights bring to college sports. Its well-researched insights, practical advice, and forward-looking analysis make it a must-read for anyone involved in or interested in the future of college athletics.
ISBN: 9798218230098Publication Date: 2023-06-16 -
-
NIL (Name Image Likeness): A Tax Strategy For Child Athletes
by
Amateur athletes are the newest made millionaires because of NIL. There are hundreds of thousands of collegiate athletes and millions of high school athletes, learn how each one could earn money and of course how to save taxes on this new class of paid athletes.
ISBN: 9798372202610Publication Date: 2019 -
NIL Prep Kit
by
Welcome to the NIL Prep Kit! My name is Dr. Scott Grant. and I've spent my entire 20 + career in education as a teacher. coach. high school athletic director. college athletics administrator at the Division I and II levels. business leadership &. educational policy professor. and an educational consultant owning &. operating Triple Threat Leadership. LLC and NIL -Education.com. Over the past few years. I've witnessed the shortcomings of biased education that fails to serve high school stakeholders. and have developed a deep passion for demystifying the complex landscape of Name. Image, and Likeness. specifically in regards to INTERSCHOLASTIC EDUCATIONAL BASED ATHLETICS. Because of this. I am thrilled to present "The NIL Prep Kit," a first of it's kind. one stop shop for all things NIL education related. Drawing from my extensive experience in high school athletics and my doctoral expertise in educational policy, I have crafted this NIL guide to serve as your go-to resource. My hope is that this resource will empower you with the knowledge. tools. and strategies needed to effectively navigate the High School NIL landscape and support your student-athletes in understanding NIL. their opportunities. while also protecting their rights. The NIL Prep Kit will guide you through the fundamental principles of NIL. exploring topics such as state NIL policies. example NIL deals. frequently asked questions. legal considerations. compliance guidelines. as well as the impact of collectives and online marketplaces. By providing practical examples. case studies. and actionable advice. I aim to equip you with the necessary insights to create a supportive environment that fosters a deeper understanding of how to lead in this new normal. This resource pushes beyond theoretical concepts by offering tangible steps and customizable templates that can be implemented within a high school program. or as an individual. The primary objective is to empower and equip you with a clear understanding of NIL at the High School Level. and whether you hold a specific role or have a particular goal. this resource will ensure you are ready to move forward with confidence in what we call the Triple Threat Position ready to Add Value. Build Relationships. and Create Opportunities. Together. let us embrace the challenge of comprehending and embracing Name. Image. and Likeness at the high school level in order to best prepare an educational plan that supports our stakeholders in a positive way no matter what path they choose in this "new normal." As you embark on this journey, please know I'm here to help in any way that you may need!
ISBN: 9781088193211Publication Date: 2023-07-15 -
Ok, I've Got NIL Money... Now What?
by
You suddenly find yourself or a loved one in the enviable position of having NIL money enter your life...Now What? A sudden influx of money can be a great thing, until it is not! This book is a set of tips on how to react to this great event and survive.
ISBN: 9798210680396Publication Date: 2023-11-17
Other Requests
-
-
Basic Computational Techniques for Data Analysis: An Exploration in MS Excel
by
This book is designed to equip students to navigate through MS Excel and basic data computation methods, which are essential tools in research or professional settings and in classrooms. It illustrates the concepts used in research and data analysis and economic and financial decision-making in business and in daily life. The book will help students acquire knowledge and develop skills in statistical techniques and financial analysis using MS Excel.
ISBN: 9781000890792Publication Date: 2023 -
The Basics of Understanding Financial Statements
by
Call Number: HF5681.B2 S56 2012ISBN: 9780984849000Publication Date: 2012-06-01 -
The future of graduate education : navigating the shifting landscape
by
Graduate education has enjoyed a jump in enrollment over the past five years, weathering the effects of a pandemic and a rapidly shifting sociopolitical landscape in the United States.
Look beneath the surface, though, and you'll see a host of challenges: The master’s-degree market might be booming, but it also faces oversaturation. Postgraduate certificate programs are on the rise, but so are questions from employers on their quality and what skills they’re teaching students. Meanwhile, doctoral education is facing intensifying calls for reform amid long-standing structural rifts and a historic wave of graduate-student labor organizing.
This Chronicle report examines the state of graduate education, and the opportunities — and pitfalls — that program administrators must navigate.
Call Number: LB2371.4 .Z34 2024Publication Date: 2024 -
Higher Ground : How Business Can Do the Right Thing in a Turbulent World
by
An indispensable guide to help companies navigate the new era of ethical challenges and risks in a volatile global landscape. Today's headlines teem with employee unrest over racial injustice, communities infuriated by corporate environmental impacts, staff anxiety over surveillance, public outrage over corruption in business, and discoveries of child labor in supply chains. We've traveled far and fast from the old world of business ethics, where black-and-white concerns about bribery and fraud could be addressed via rules and processes. Simply maximizing shareholder value while not breaking the law is no longer a tenable approach, but we've never been so confused about what it means to do the right thing--and why it's so important. In this eye-opening, essential book, NYU Stern ethics professor Alison Taylor argues that amid stakeholder demands and transparency pressures, we can no longer treat ethics as merely a legal and reputational defense mechanism. Leaders at Davos and the Business Roundtable have called for a new corporate responsibility paradigm, but organizations struggle to implement these ideas in an atmosphere of heightened expectations and intense suspicion. Offering vivid stories and examples from years working in anti-corruption and advising companies on ethics, Taylor brings this complex, risky environment alive to provide a blueprint for how leaders can rethink and reshape their practices. How can CEOs cut through the noise to set robust environmental and social priorities? When should they speak out on contentious social and political issues--and how? What does it really take to build a healthy organizational culture? How are we to approach corporate values when society itself is so divided? Higher Ground shows leaders how business can navigate this messy paradigm shift, build trust, and achieve long-term strategic advantage in a turbulent world.
ISBN: 1647823439Publication Date: 2024-02-13 -
Let's Become Fungal! Mycelium Teachings and the Arts
by
There is a growing interest in fungi and mycelium as a material, the ever-branching connecting threads of the fungal world. The entanglements and how this rhizomatic network functions is not just a fascinating ecological system and material, but carries a profound usefulness as a metaphor for our potential new systems, ways of thinking and behaviors. Let's Become Fungal! takes its inspiration from the world of art and mycology and shares a range of innovative and Indigenous practices from Latin America and the Caribbean that are rooted in multispecies collaboration, symbiosis, alliances, non-monetary resource exchange, decentralization, bottom-up methods and mutual dependency-all in line with the behavior of the mycelium. Every chapter is phrased as a question. They do not lead to answers, but to twelve teachings addressing for instance collaboration, decoloniality, non-linearity, toxicity, mobilization, biomimicry, death, and being non-binary. Simultaneously it ventures deeper into the world of fungi. The teachings from the fungus may inspire artists, collectives, organizations, educators, policy-makers, designers, scientists, anthropologists, change-makers, curators, urbanists, activists, gardeners, community-leaders, farmers, and many others, to become more fungal in their ways of working and being.
Call Number: GF21 .O88 2023ISBN: 9789493246287Publication Date: 2023-10-24 -
Perspectives on Product Stewardship: Navigating an extended producer responsibility path to a circular economy
by
The massive increase in consumer product waste, its toxicity, and the complexity of materials have created an unbearable financial and management burden for municipal officials--it has become untenable. We have outgrown the era of municipalities being solely responsible for recycling. A paradigm shift is needed. The concepts of Extended Producer Responsibility and Product Stewardship play a significant role in bringing our consumption of natural resources and emission of greenhouse gases back into balance with the earth's ability to absorb these impacts. Perspectives on Product Stewardship provides an overview on managing products throughout their life cycles in order to conserve resources, decrease environmental impact, and share the burden of responsibility. It gives the reader a broad understanding of the origins and evolution of the rapidly expanding field of product stewardship and extended producer responsibility, while providing exemplary and precautionary case studies--on paint, batteries, and packaging. Informative and timely, this reference will be useful to anyone engaged in, or embarking on, efforts to reduce impacts from consumer products: producers, retailers, waste management professionals, recyclers, governments, environmental advocates, students, and the public.
ISBN: 9781641433181Publication Date: 2023-08-21 -
Your Essential Guide to Quantitative Hedge Fund Investing
by
Your Essential Guide to Quantitative Hedge Fund Investing provides a conceptual framework for understanding effective hedge fund investment strategies. The book offers a mathematically rigorous exploration of different topics, framed in an easy to digest set of examples and analogies, including stories from some legendary hedge fund investors. Readers will be guided from the historical to the cutting edge, while building a framework of understanding that encompasses it all. Features Filled with novel examples and analogies from within and beyond the world of finance Suitable for practitioners and graduate-level students with a passion for understanding the complexities that lie behind the raw mechanics of quantitative hedge fund investment A unique insight from an author with experience of both the practical and academic spheres.
ISBN: 9780367776091Publication Date: 2023-06-01 -
Learning and Researching with Case Studies: A Student Companion for Business and Management Research
by
This companion takes the student through the different approaches to working with cases in the classroom, virtually and for research purposes. Capturing insights and best practices shared by scholars of the case method from around the world, this book aims to: equip students to work with and analyse case studies as part of their programme of study; These aims are framed in the sections of the book. Each section contains reflections from academics across the world, personal insights and lessons learnt from case sessions, templates, and exercises to develop your own skills in learning or researching with cases. Full examples showcase the nature of cases by type and format: short incident, exercise case, situation case; single, sequential and digital cases. Scott Andrews is a Principal Lecturer in Leadership and Business at the University of Worcester, UK. He is an experienced case study teacher and writer, having delivered more than 150 case development programmes across more than 30 countries. He is also a regular case user with undergraduates and postgraduates in his classes. Scott's cases have been adopted by business schools from across the world. He was appointed a Senior Fellow of the Higher Education Academy in recognition of his contribution to the global development of the case method. adapt student approaches to online learning with cases; guide students on how to use case studies as a form of assessment; help students looking to adopt a case study approach to a research project. This text is for undergraduate and postgraduate Business and Management students, those studying as part of executive education programmes, MBA students, and academics who are using or preparing to use case studies in their learning or research. Online resources include PowerPoint slides, video material and example case studies from around the world.
Call Number: HD30.4 .A596 2024ISBN: 9781032386324Publication Date: 2024 -
The whole story : adventures in love, life, and capitalism
by
"Whole Foods Market's Cofounder and CEO for 44 years, John Mackey offers an intimate and provocative account of the rise of this iconic company and the personal and spiritual journey that inspired its remarkable impact. The Whole Story invites readers on the adventure of building Whole Foods Market: the colorful cast of idealists and foodies who formed the company's DNA, the many breakthroughs and missteps; the camaraderie and the conflict, and the narrowly avoided disasters. Mackey takes us inside some of the most consequential decisions he had to make and honestly shares his regrets looking back."--Amazon.com.
ISBN: 9781637745137Publication Date: 2024
Notes
Starred items indicate a price tag of more than $100.
All titles are available online except those with call numbers. See the library catalog record for more information.
