LibGuides: Endangered languages: Research databases

Resources for Endangered Language Research

Linguistics-Specific Resources
Additional Resources

These databases are primary databases for research in endangered languages, but to be exhaustive the secondary resources must also be used. In all databases, it is imperative to use the thesaurus, for even such common terms as second language acquisition are indexed in different ways.

Anthropology Plus
Indexes worldwide materials from the late 1800s to today in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology; ethnology, archaeology, folklore, and material culture.
AnthroSource
Scholarly articles published by the American Anthropological Association.
ERIC (EBSCO)
Indexes scholarly journals and magazines in all areas of education, from early intervention (birth to age three), preschool, K-12 (public and private), and higher education. Includes bilingual, special, gifted, and computer education.
eHRAF World Cultures
Includes ethnographic primary source materials on hundreds of cultures and ethnic groups describing cultural and social life.
JSTOR
Scholarly journals in many academic fields, especially arts, literature, humanities, and biology.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
Indexes scholarly articles in linguistics including speech sounds, sentence and word structure, meaning in language forms, spelling, phonetics.
MLA International Bibliography
Scholarly articles, ebooks, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies in literature and linguistics.
Oxford Bibliographies Online - Anthropology
Provides an annotated bibliography covering books in the field of anthropology.
Project MUSE
Full text access to journals and ebooks in classics, education, history, linguistics, literature, math, philosophy, politics, religion, and visual and performing arts.
Statista
Provides statistics on media, the environment, business and industry, sports, communication, politics, health care and more. Geographic coverage is worldwide, with particular emphasis on the United States, China, and European Union countries.

These databases often contain material that supplements the content accessible through the Linguistics resources. It is imperative to use the database's thesaurus when doing research.

Academic Search Premier
Includes articles from scholarly journals and popular magazines covering a wide variety of disciplines with the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
BIOSIS Citation Index
Article abstracts and conference documents from the world's life sciences literature, covering more than 5,200 journals.
Cambridge Core
Access to articles and select ebooks published by Cambridge University Press.
DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals
Full-text scientific, scholarly journals and popular magazines, intended to cover all subjects and languages.
Linguistics Journals available at no cost via the web
Engineering Village
Cross search of two engineering databases: Inspec & Compendex. Indexes scholarly articles in physics, electronics and electrical engineering, computers and control, and information technology.
Knovel
Over 800 full-text engineering and scientific reference works, handbooks, encyclopedias, reference books, and standards in engineering and chemistry.
O'Reilly for Higher Education
Access to thousands of ebooks, case studies, tutorials, and videos in computer science, business, communication, and design.
Select "not listed" when prompted to select institution and then enter UConn email addresss.
PsycInfo (APA PsycInfo)
Scholarly articles in psychology, plus medicine, psychiatry, education, social work, criminology, social science, business, & organizational behavior.
PubMed
Scholarly journal articles about health and medicine, nursing, audiology, and biology.
Scopus
Scholarly journal articles and conference papers on any topic in science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts & humanities. Includes cited references and h-index information.
SocINDEX with Full Text
Scholarly journal articles about sociology and other social and behavioral sciences. Includes culture & social structure; economic development; evaluation research; family & social welfare; management and complex organizations; policy planning.
Synthesis Digital Library of Engineering and Computer Science
Access to electronic books that synthesize an important research or development topic, authored by a prominent contributor to the field.
Zoological Record
Scholarly articles, books, and reports from 1864 to present on zoology, ecology, taxonomy and biology of living and fossil animals.

Endangered languages — Research databases

Resources for Endangered Language Research