Creativity & Wellness
“You can’t use up creativity. The more you use, the more you have.” This quote from Maya Angelou is a wonderful reminder that creativity is always there and can be tapped for your personal outlet. While it's important to remember that creativity is yours to explore and engage with, it's more important to remember that, as Bob Ross says, there are "No mistakes. Only happy accidents." Think of ways that you creatively express yourself. Do you enjoy singing, dancing, drawing, painting, doodling, playing a musical instrument, listening to a favorite musical artist, or coloring? There are many ways to be creative. Why not make a feel-good, empowering music playlist, keep a journal, doodle on a handy scrap of paper, start a new knitting or crocheting project? By doing an activity that allows you to creatively express yourself, you can find a sense of well-being
Student at UConn pottery studio in 2017, photo by Sean Flynn . Jenna Esposito, a student worker for the archives in Homer Babbidge Library, works on a zine she is creating in the library’s Maker Studio, where zine maker kits are available to use, on Nov. 17, 2022. (Sydney Herdle/UConn Photo); Students from the UConn Dance Company performing at the Jorgensen Center for Performing Arts on April 18, 2023. (Sean Flynn/UConn Photo); Students painting at UConn Waterbury Fresh Check (Steve Bustamante / University of Connecticut)
Examples of Creative Activities:
- Coloring, painting
- Making a zine or comic
- Gardening
- Making electronics
- Cooking or baking
- Singing and dancing
- Transform the Daily Grind to Make Life More InterestingLorraine Besser, professor of philosophy, writes about the role of mindfulness, curiosity, and creativity in improving our daily lives
Arts & Crafts
- Color Our CollectionsColoring pages from libraries, archives, and other cultural institutions around the world.
- Digital Jigsaw PuzzlesFrom the Smithsonian Libraries, digital jigsaw puzzles featuring a few scenes that remind us of fall – from beautiful foliage to slightly creepy snakes and spiders. Each puzzle is set at 60 pieces but they are customizable to any skill set. Click the grid icon in the center to adjust the number of pieces.
Makerspaces at UConn
At the UConn Storrs campus, there are 2 makerspaces. There is one in the UConn Library on the 1st floor, above the plaza level. There is also a much larger space in the Learning Community Innovation Zone.
Laughter and Wellness
"Everybody laughs the same in every language because laughter is a universal connection." This quote by Jakob Smirnoff captures the great part about laughter - it's universal and can be shared by everyone. Victor Hugo said that,
"laughter is the sun that drives winter from the human face.”
Whether you are watching a stand up comedy show on Netflix or Youtube, laughing at a silly TikTok dance, or laughing with your friends-- laughter helps to calm our bodies and reduce cortisol.
Digital Books
Broken Places and Outer Spaces: Finding Creativity in the Unexpected by ISBN: 1501195484Publication Date: 2019-06-18A powerful journey from star athlete to sudden paralysis to creative awakening, award-winning science fiction writer Nnedi Okorafor shows that what we think are our limitations have the potential to become our greatest strengths. Nnedi Okorafor was never supposed to be paralyzed. A college track star and budding entomologist, Nnedi's lifelong battle with scoliosis was just a bump in her plan--something a simple operation would easily correct. But when Nnedi wakes from the surgery to find she can't move her legs, her entire sense of self begins to waver. What Nnedi discovers during her confinement would prove to be the key to her life as a successful science fiction author: In science fiction, when something breaks, something greater often emerges from the cracks. From Frida Kahlo to Mary Shelly, she examines great artists and writers who have pushed through their limitations, using hardship to fuel their work.
5,203 Things to Do Instead of Looking at Your Phone by ISBN: 9781523511754Publication Date: 2020-09-29Because life is calling. Put down your phone, close the lid on your laptop, and get back in touch with the wonders of the world around you. With thousands of ideas for simple, beautiful things to do instead of scrolling down the rabbit hole of cyberspace, this healing little book offers the opportunity, 5,203 times, to slow down, look up, and rediscover what makes you feel nourished and grounded as a human being.
Creativity: The Human Brain in the Age of Innovation by ISBN: 9780190466497Publication Date: 2018-02-01 Oxford UPBased on a growing body of scientific literature, Elkhonon Goldberg points to several brain structures and processes that are involved in the creative process: the frontal lobes, the right and left hemispheres and their respective contributions, subcortical structures, various biochemical systems, and intricate neural network processes that work in concert for the creative act to happen. To that end, he discusses the brain mechanisms of deciding what is important and what is not; of confronting cognitive novelty; and the marshalling of previously acquired knowledge to generate new insights culminating in a creative product. An active researcher neuroscientist and clinician neuropsychologist, who also has a keen interest in history, Elkhonon Goldberg offers an original account of how multiple brain mechanisms come together in order to culminate in the creative act. While a large body of scientific material is discussed, the book offers much more than a mere review. It presents a novel understanding of how the creative process takes place, and is full of original insights challenging current assumptions and theories.
The Creative Mindset by ISBN: 9781523090150Publication Date: 2020-09-29Nearly all of today's major innovation workshops and programs call on organizations to drive innovation. What they miss is that innovation comes from the personal creativity of individuals. And creativity doesn't require an advanced education or technical skills--all employees can be creative. Often, all they lack is a fitting mindset and the right tools. The Creative Mindset brings how-to advice, tools, and techniques from two master innovators who have taught and worked with over half of all Fortune 500 companies. Jeff and Staney DeGraff introduce six essential creative-thinking skills that can be easily mastered with limited practice and remembered as the acronym CREATE- Concentrate, Replicate, Elaborate, Associate, Translate, and Evaluate. These six skills, sequenced as steps, simplify and summarize the most important research on creative thinking and draw on over thirty years of real-world application in some of the most innovative organizations in the world. It's time to rethink the way we make innovation happen. As the spirit of chef Gusteau proclaims in the Pixar classic Ratatouille, "Anyone can cook."
Unlocking Your Creativity by ISBN: 9781615647729Publication Date: 2015-05-05Creativity is the engine that drives personal self-fulfillment and business innovation. The busier and the more complicated life gets, the more difficult it is to relax and let creative ideas flow. Idiot's Guides: Unlocking Your Creativity helps readers get past the barriers that keep them from being creative at work and in their daily lives. Helpful success stories are also included.
Creative Writing by ISBN: 9781615645015Publication Date: 2014-07-01Creative writing is arguably the ultimate form of self-expression. Ideal for anyone interested in writing (student or not), Idiot's Guides: Creative Writing helps readers master the basics of crafting compelling fiction and nonfiction stories. Various genres, including novels, short stories, plays and screenplays, poetry, book-length and article-length narrative nonfiction, memoirs, and more are covered. Content includes the fundamental elements, such as plot, character, point-of-view, setting, dialogue, style, and theme. And readers will be able to hone their writing skills and boost their creativity with writing prompts and exercises.
Sewing by ISBN: 9781615644117Publication Date: 2013-09-03Become more than so-so at sewing! Whether you want to make a quilt, re-upholster a chair seat, or fix a hem, sewing is one of the most essential and useful skills you can master.
Guitar Theory by ISBN: 9781615646364Publication Date: 2014-11-04Music theory is often considered to be one of the most difficult subjects to learn. Idiot's Guides: Guitar Theory breaks down music theory for guitar and other fretboard instruments in very simple and easy-to-understand lessons. Content includes everything a budding musician needs to know about notes, guitar tablature, rhythm, chords and scales, and more.
Tiny House Designing, Building, and Living by ISBN: 9781465462701Publication Date: 2017-05-09Do you have what it takes to live tiny? Do you dream of simplifying your life, freeing up your financial resources, and ditching all of the clutter that's weighing you down? Learn the nuts and bolts of what it really takes to achieve this dream of designing, building, and living in a tiny house of 400 square feet or less!
Leather Crafts by ISBN: 9781615648955Publication Date: 2016-06-14A big part of the artisanal/DIY movement is about authenticity and quality, with a return to simplicity, real values, genuine materials, and careful craftsmanship. Leather is one of those authentic materials, and while it has always been used for handbags and gloves, it's also enjoying a resurgence in the field of crafts. Simple objects elegantly made of leather are featured everywhere on maker blogs, photo-sharing sites, tutorials, and craft marketplaces. Idiot's Guides®: Leather Crafts offers 20 projects (illustrated with copious step-by-step photos), ranging from beginner to advanced, each one building on the skills that have been taught in prior projects.
3D Printing by ISBN: 9781615647446Publication Date: 2015-04-073D printing allows just about any user, artist, or engineer to design, create, and "print" their own parts, artwork, or whatever else can be imagined -- all at very reasonable costs. Idiot's Guides: 3D Printing explores this new revolution by explaining all of the basics of materials, parts, software, modeling, design, and finishing. The book then takes it to the next level by teaching readers how to take their new skills and print some simple, fun projects.
Idiot's Guides: Bike Repair and Maintenance by ISBN: 9781615645121This book teaches riders of all levels how to maintain and repair their own bikes for years of top performance and enjoyment. With coverage for both road and mountain bikes, readers will learn from seasoned technicians not only how to perform all of the most basic (yet essential) maintenance, but also how to perform common repairs on all areas of the bike including the frame, suspension, cranksets, derailleurs, brakes, gears, pedals, shifters, and much more
Explore Creativity with UConn Video Library Collections!
- PBS Video Collection1,500 streaming videos produced by PBS. Includes films from well-known PBS series such as Ken Burns' Jazz, NOVA, Frontline, and Finding Your Roots.
- Academic Video OnlineIncludes documentaries, interviews, feature films, performances, demonstrations, and news programs and newsreels covering subject areas that span anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, and music.
- Kanopy Streaming Video
Access to a select number of documentaries, classic films, and feature films requested by UConn faculty.
- Alexander Street Press Film PlatformCross-search Alexander Street Press streaming videos across such subjects as anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and theatre. The materials include documentaries, interviews, feature films, performances, news programs and newsreels, and demonstrations.
Artists Speak About Creativity
The opening event of the National Endowment for the Arts's In the Pursuit of the Creative Life Special 50th anniversary convening on November 18, 2016, featured musician, producer, designer, DJ, and author Questlove talking with NPR television critic Eric Deggans about living creatively and supporting creativity in others.
Jazz musician Wynton Marsalis talks to Jazz at Lincoln Center about the power of "collective creativity:"
Physical Library Books on Creativity
The Creative Habit by ISBN: 9780743235273Publication Date: 2006-01-06One of the world's leading creative artists, choreographers, and creator of the smash-hit Broadway show, Movin' Out, shares her secrets for developing and honing your creative talents--at once prescriptive and inspirational, a book to stand alongside The Artist's Way and Bird by Bird. All it takes to make creativity a part of your life is the willingness to make it a habit. It is the product of preparation and effort, and is within reach of everyone.
Creativity: A Short and Cheerful Guide by ISBN: 9780385348270Publication Date: 2020-09-08The legendary comedian, actor, and writer of Monty Python, Fawlty Towers, and A Fish Called Wanda fame shares his key ideas about creativity: that it's a learnable, improvable skill.
Misfits: A Personal Manifesto by Call Number: Leisure Reading Collection: B LevelISBN: 1250843448Publication Date: 2021-09-07From the brilliant mind of Michaela Coel, creator and star ofI "I May Destroy You" and "Chewing Gum," comes a passionate and inspired declaration against fitting in. When invited to deliver the MacTaggart Lecture at the Edinburgh International Television Festival, Michaela Coel touched a lot of people with her striking revelations about race, class and gender, but the person most significantly impacted was Coel herself. Building on her celebrated speech,Misfits immerses readers in her vision through powerful allegory and deeply personal anecdotes--from her coming of age in London public housing to her discovery of theater and her love for storytelling. And she tells of her reckoning with trauma and metamorphosis into a champion for herself, inclusivity, and radical honesty. With inspiring insight and wit, Coel lays bare her journey so far and invites us to reflect on our own. By embracing our differences, she says, we can transform our lives. An artist to her core, Coel holds up the path of the creative as an emblem of our need to regard one another with care and respect--and transparency. Misfits is a triumphant call for honesty, empathy and inclusion. Championing "misfits" everywhere, this timely, necessary book is a rousing coming-to-power manifesto dedicated to anyone who has ever worried about fitting in.
Hooked: : how crafting saved my life by Call Number: Leisure Reading Collection: B LevelISBN: 1538734281Publication Date: 2021-10-12From the 2-time Tony Award-winner and the star of TV's Younger, funny and intimate stories and reflections about how crafting has kept her sane while navigating the highs and lows of family, love, and show business (and how it can help you, too).
Creativity: the psychology of discovery and invention by ISBN: 9780062283252Publication Date: 2013-08-06The classic study of the creative process from the bestselling author of Flow Creativity is about capturing those moments that make life worth living. Legendary psychologist Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi ("The leading researcher into 'flow states.'" -- Newsweek) reveals what leads to these moments--be it the excitement of the artist at the easel or the scientist in the lab--so that this knowledge can be used to enrich people's lives. Drawing on nearly one hundred interviews with exceptional people, from biologists and physicists, to politicians and business leaders, to poets and artists, as well as his thirty years of research on the subject, Csikszentmihalyi uses his famous flow theory to explore the creative process. He discusses such ideas as why creative individuals are often seen as selfish and arrogant, and why the "tortured genius" is largely a myth. Most important, he explains why creativity needs to be cultivated and is necessary for the future of our country, if not the world.
Two Beats Ahead: What Musical Minds Teach Us About Innovation by ISBN: 9781541730588Publication Date: 2021-04-06Discover what the musical mind has to teach us about innovation in this fascinating book, featuring interviews with Justin Timberlake, Pharrell Williams, T Bone Burnett, Gloria Estefan, Imogen Heap, and many more.
The Art of Possibility by ISBN: 9780142001103Publication Date: 2002-09-24The Art of Possibility combines Benjamin Zander's experience as conductor of the Boston Philharmonic and his talent as a teacher and communicator with psychotherapist Rosamund Stone Zander's genius for designing innovative paradigms for personal and professional fulfillment. The authors' harmoniously interwoven perspectives provide a deep sense of the powerful role that the notion of possibility can play in every aspect of life.
