Scientific Research and Communication — STEM Career Exploration

A highlight of many chapters is the Conversation With—a comprehensive interview with a professional in a related job. This section offers insight into specific areas of this career path including an aerospace engineer, an agricultural engineer, a chemical engineer, a computer hardware engineer, an industrial engineer, a marine engineer/ naval architect, and more.

Each chapter begins with a Snapshot of the occupation that includes median pay, job outlook, typical education requirements, working conditions, and recommended areas of interest.

Demystifying the Engineering Ph.D. explores what it means to be an engineering Ph.D. holder, including insights from engineering professionals working in academia and industry across multiple institute types and companies. Topics covered include motivations for obtaining a Ph.D., the added value of a Ph.D., and career options for Ph.D. holders. The book concludes with recommendations for transforming engineering doctoral education to preparing doctoral students for diverse careers in industry and academia. Helps readers gain insights into diverse engineering work environments and explores ways to transition across engineering sectors and careers Presents real-world experiences of engineering Ph.D.'s working in academia, industry, government and other non-traditional areas Discusses how to communicate your work to a variety of audiences

Artificial intelligence (AI) is all around us, from music choices to electronics to healthcare. AI refers to machines that are programmed to think and act like humans. Examples of AI include Pandora personalized song lists, robotic vacuum cleaners and self-driving vehicles. Many industries offer careers in AI, including financial services, technology, marketing, agriculture, gaming, and retail

How does someone become a pro gamer or the person behind the game? The gaming industry includes programmers, engineers, writers, artists, animators, players, and more. Learn more about this exciting field

The approach taken in this book emphasizes the basics of information technology and helps students decide whether to pursue an information technology career. Most students fail to pursue an IT career because of their limited knowledge (sometimes no knowledge) about the area. Similarly, most students pursuing a career in IT do not research the field before their pursuit. This book is purposely designed for students in this category. The book may be offered as a required text for an elective or core course to all bachelor's degree students regardless of specialization.

Exploring Careers in Cybersecurity and Digital Forensics is a one stop shop for students and advisors, providing information about education, certifications, and tools to guide them in making career decisions within the field. Cybersecurity is a fairly new academic discipline and with the continued rise in cyberattacks, the need for technological and non-technological skills in responding to criminal digital behavior, as well as the requirement to respond, investigate, gather and preserve evidence is growing. Exploring Careers in Cybersecurity and Digital Forensics is designed to help students and professionals navigate the unique opportunity that a career in digital forensics and cybersecurity provides. From undergraduate degrees, the job hunt and networking, to certifications and mid-career transitions, this book is a useful tool to students, advisors, and professionals alike.

We are starting to see the first real progress in space exploration in the private sector, and there are many jobs becoming available in this fascinating new field. Sierra Nevada, Northrup Grumman, Boeing, and Bigelow Aerospace built prototypes of deep-space habitats that NASA began testing in March 2019. Therefore, physical evidence exists that human beings are committed to living in space for purposes of research and industrial pursuits such as mining. Now that companies are set to take both professional astronauts and well-trained passengers into space as early as summer of 2021, this book will prepare you to take your place--whether as an investor, owner, employee, or enthusiast--in the exciting world of space exploration.

Careers in Biomedical Engineering offers readers a comprehensive overview of new career opportunities in the field of biomedical engineering. The book begins with a discussion of the extensive changes which the biomedical engineering profession has undergone in the last 10 years. Subsequent sections explore educational, training and certification options for a range of subspecialty areas and diverse workplace settings. As research organizations are looking to biomedical engineers to provide project-based assistance on new medical devices and/or help on how to comply with FDA guidelines and best practices, this book will be useful for undergraduate and graduate biomedical students, practitioners, academic institutions, and placement services.

Welcome to the Information Technology (IT) Professionals field! If you are interested in a career as an Information Technology (IT) professionals you’ve come to the right book. So what exactly do these people do on the job, day in and day out? What kind of skills and educational background do you need to succeed in these fields? How much can you expect to make, and what are the pros and cons of these various fields? Is this even the right career path for you? How do you avoid burnout and deal with stress? This book can help you answer these questions and more.

Cybersecurity and Information Security Analysts: A Practical Career Guide, which includes interviews with professionals in the field, covers the following areas of this field that have proven to be stable, lucrative, and growing professions: Security Analysts/Engineers -- Security Architects -- Security Administrators -- Security Software Developers -- Cryptographers/Cryptologists/Cryptanalyst

Computer Game Development & Animation which includes interviews with professionals in the field, covers the following areas of this field that have proven to be stable, lucrative, and growing professions. Artist/Animator. Producer. Sound Designer. Video Game Designer. Video Game Developer. Video Game Tester. Writer

A must-read for STEM graduates who aspire to be the technical leaders and executives of our next generation. This book is also for mid-level technical managers who seek to move up the corporate ladder but are not sure how to differentiate themselves from their peers. Pete Devenyi highlights ten capabilities that technology leaders must develop and nurture in order to achieve their full potential.

Welcome to the mathematics and statistics field! If you are interested in a career in mathematics or statistics, you've come to the right book. So what exactly do these people do on the job, day in and day out? What kind of skills and educational background do you need to succeed in this field? How much can you expect to make, and what are the pros and cons of these various professions? Is this even the right career path for you? How do you avoid burnout and deal with stress? This book can help you answer these questions and more.

Are you a mathematics major or thinking about becoming one? This friendly guidebook is for you, no matter where you are in your studies. For those just starting out, there are: interactive exercises to help you chart your personalized course, brief overviews of the typical courses you will encounter during your studies, recommended extracurricular activities that can enrich your mathematical journey. Mathematics majors looking for effective ways to support their success will discover: practical examples of dealing with setbacks and challenges in mathematics, a primer on study skills, including particular advice like how to effectively read mathematical literature and learn mathematically focused programming. Students thinking about life after graduation will find: advice for seeking jobs outside academia, guidance for applying to graduate programs, a collection of interviews with former mathematics majors now working in a wide variety of careers-they share their experience and practical advice for breaking into their field.

A common question posed to PhD students from friends and family is, "What will you do after?" But many students are too focused on the PhD itself and have not yet had a chance to sufficiently think about post-PhD life. This book is a collection of 31 interviews with those who have completed a PhD and are now in a non-academic role. Interviewees provide background into their PhD topic and discuss how they transitioned to their current position, including what additional training was necessary and how their PhD training has helped them succeed.

A common question posed to PhD students from friends and family is, "What will you do after?" But many students are too focused on the PhD itself and have not yet had a chance to sufficiently think about post-PhD life. This book is a collection of 22 interviews with those have completed a PhD and then are now in an academic position or another career path. In either case, they have all been successful and have a multitude of insights to share with those who are interested in considering a variety of careers.

The first large-scale empirical analysis of the gender gap in science, showing how the structure of scientific labor and rewards-publications, citations, funding-systematically obstructs women's career advancement.

Higher Education Careers Beyond the Professoriate is one of the first collections to explore PhD career versatility within higher education. The twenty-three contributors represent diverse disciplines, institution types, professional roles, and intersectional identities. Each thoughtful and personal essay explores firsthand what it means to remain in higher education, yet not in the traditional role of a professor. Topics include establishing new career paradigms, well-being and work-life balance, blended roles and identities, and professional work around advocacy and inclusion. Unifying the essays is the idea that career diversity is intertwined with other diversity discourse, yielding a broad-based but critical examination of careers in higher education administration. Though the doctoral landscape continues to change, a self-determined, values-driven attitude remains essential. This book offers powerful insight into cultural and structural barriers that inhibit institutional transformation and obscure the real range of PhD futures. Frank about both challenges and opportunities, these essays reveal how letting go of "track" thinking opens a constellation of possibilities and many paths to meaningful work and a fulfilling life.

The first book to provide first-generation, low-income, and nontraditional students of color with insider knowledge on how to consider and navigate graduate school

A career in the automotive industry can be as varied as the number of different cars on the road today, and can span many industry segments including maintenance, repair, design, development, sales, and customer service. Careers in the automotive industry will usually allow you to work with a diverse mix of individuals and are usually stable career choices. Working in this industry is ideal for those who love cars, hands-on work and technology. Careers in the Automotive Industry provides detailed information and need-to-know information on various careers in the automotive industry.

Scientists offer personal accounts of the challenges, struggles, successes, U-turns, and satisfactions encountered in their careers in industry, academia, and government. This insightful book offers essential life and career lessons for newly minted STEM graduates and those seeking a career change.

Not all research careers look the same. Not all academics spend their working lives in labs, or dark offices surrounded by dusty books. A research career can mean working in theatres or schools, influencing policy, working with the world's leading brands and businesses, and much, much more. Showing the true diversity of scholarship, and the women leading the way, ResearcHERoffers an A-Z of research and researchers from around the world, exploring who researchers are and what they really do, all whilst celebrating female scholarship

Offers practical career guidance to all engineers, covering everything from early education through to retirement Provides a big-picture view of the engineering profession, citing examples from both the author's life and the lives of his associates Guides engineers in a systematic way on how to make good career decisions Discusses the ethics of engineering, presenting concepts and tips that can be applied to engineers all over the world Written in the form of personal, conversation-style letters perfect for quick and easy comprehension

Authored by two Ex-Facebook employees, Ace the Data Science Interview is the best way to prepare for Data Science, Data Analyst, and Machine Learning interviews, so that you can land your dream job at FAANG, tech startups, or Wall Street. Questions cover the most frequently-tested topics in data interviews: Probability, Statistics, Machine Learning, SQL & Database Design, Coding (Python), Product Analytics, and A/B Testing