Scientific Research and Communication — Requesting Full Text and Interlibrary Loan

The UConn Library provides access to a responsive research collection that meets the needs of the UConn community in support of faculty and student success (Future of Journals).  Where the Library is unable to provide immediate access to a book, journal article, or video, services and tools are in place to expedite access to these materials without the user incurring any costs. This guide will help you navigate the libraries' collections for a more seamless searching experience.

Article Galaxy Scholar provides UConn faculty (including emeriti and adjunct) and graduate students the ability to request rapid delivery of articles from a small number of selected journals. This service is available 24/7. The UConn Library launched Article Galaxy Scholar in December 2021 and the service is now a permanent part of operations.

• Articles from these publishers are available via Article Galaxy Scholar:
  • Springer
  • Cambridge
  • Elsevier
  • Taylor & Francis
  • Wiley
  • Sage
• Article Galaxy Scholar works in conjunction with our Interlibrary Services to provide access to journal articles. Articles that are not available via Article Galaxy Scholar are provided by our Interlibrary Services department.
• There is no limit on the number of requests for articles when using the "Get this PDF" link for UConn faculty and graduate students.

Articles are for individual research use only and are not eligible to be used for class use. For help or guidance on how to obtain articles and other materials to post on HuskyCT please contact Access and Visitor Services at askcirc@uconn.edu.  

If you receive the accepted manuscript version or prepublication version of an article and would like to receive the article version of record, please contact Interlibrary Services at udoc@uconn.edu.

One of the essential ways that help streamline access to full text is our UConn Full Text button.  This button appears in most of our library databases.

UConn Full Text gives you quick click-through access to the online full text of the article OR directs you to a link in which you can request the article "Get this PDF (formerly ExpressPDF/Request a PDF)".

Example of the  button on a publisher page.

The button may not appear if you are not logged into the Library, or the button may not be readily visible on the website you are searching. To make sure you always get what you are looking for, see the additional library tools/services below that work in conjunction with the UConn Full Text button to help streamline the process for finding and requesting full text from wherever you are doing your research:  

LibKey Nomad is a browser add-on that allows users to access to articles available through Library subscriptions when starting at various publisher's websites. It links to the UConn Full text service to connect you to our subscriptions or link you to other library services available to provide access to an article.

Using the links below, download the extension for your browser of choice.  Make sure that you are in the browser you would like to add the extension before you attempt to download the browser extension.  If you use multiple browsers, it is recommended that you download the corresponding extension for each browser.  You will be prompted to use a dropdown to select "University of Connecticut" as your organization.