What are systematic reviews? What type of review should I choose?
There are many types of literature reviews that you may be asked to complete as an undergraduate or as a graduate student. Traditionally, if you are enrolled in a humanities related discipline, you will be asked to complete a literature review of a topic. The term "systematic review" originated in the medical and nursing environment, where it is imperative to answer health questions by following a systemic, reproducible search to answer a clinical question and summarize existing research on a topic. There are other types of literature reviews as well, such as "scoping" reviews and "rapid reviews."
So what is a systematic review? It is
- Comprehensive or exhaustive: it should should be as thorough as possible to avoid missing any relevant information.
- Transparent: it should be clear what choices you made in designing your search strategy, and why you made them.
- Well-documented and reproducible: as with the methods for any research study, readers should be able to replicate your work. That means all your search strategies should be provided in full.
This definition is from the UConn Library Systematic Review library guide which is linked below. Please navigate to that page if you are interested in learning more in depth about systematic reviews.
Above: diagram of systematic review steps from The Chinese University of Hong Kong's Library
A systematic review has a specific methodology that follows a system for retrieving, analyzing, and summarizing information about an important clinical medical topic. Other types of literature reviews include:
- Narrative or literature review
- Scoping Review
- Rapid Review
- Umbrella review
- Meta-analysis
- Systematic Searching Guide from UConn LibraryPlease refer to this comprehensive library guide for in-depth information about systematic reviews.
- Types of Literature ReviewsThis is an excellent guide from Charles Sturt University in Australia, which explains the difference between different types of literature review.
Are you unsure of what type of literature review to complete? Please refer to this decision tree from Cornell University Libraries:
Above: Partial Screen Capture of Cornell University Library's Decision Tree for Literature review types. See link below or click on image above.
- What Type of Review is Right for You?Scroll until you see the link for "review methodology decision tree."
Finally, here is a short video which simplifies the explanation of a systematic review, which is in reality a complex scientific process:
- Systematic Searching Guide from UConn LibraryPlease refer to this comprehensive library guide for in-depth information about systematic reviews.
Learning More:
Below, you will find library book resources which may help you to better understand literature reviews. I have also linked some examples of reviews at the bottom of the page.
- Free Course: Systematic Reviews and Meta-AnalysisFrom Carnegie Mellon University open courses
Books on Systematic Review
An Introduction to Systematic Reviews by ISBN: 9781473929425Publication Date: 2017-05-05Focused on actively using systematic review as method, An introduction to systematic reviews provides clear, step-by-step advice on the logic and processes of systematic reviewing. Stressing the importance of precision and accuracy, this practical text carefully balances a need for insightful theory with real-world pragmatism.
Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions by ISBN: 9781119536611Publication Date: 2019-09-23The second edition of The Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions contains essential guidance for preparing and maintaining Cochrane Reviews of the effects of health interventions. Designed to be an accessible resource, the Handbook will also be of interest to anyone undertaking systematic reviews of interventions outside Cochrane, and many of the principles and methods presented are appropriate for systematic reviews addressing research questions other than effects of interventions.
Searching Skills Toolkit: Finding the Evidence by ISBN: 9781118463093Publication Date: 2013-11-18Searching Skills Toolkit is an expert guide to help you find the clinical evidence you need more easily and effectively. Clearly presented with useful tips and advice, flow charts, diagrams and real-life clinical scenarios, it shows the best methods for finding quality evidence. From deciding where to start, to building a search strategy, refining results and critical appraisal, it is a step-by-step guide to the process of finding healthcare evidence, and is designed for use by all health and social care professionals.
How to Do a Systematic Literature Review in Nursing: a Step-By-step Guide by ISBN: 9780335242283Publication Date: 2012-03-01Does the idea of writing a systematic literature review feel daunting? Are you struggling to work out where to begin? By walking you carefully through the entire process from start to finish and breaking the task down into manageable steps, this book is the perfect workbook companion for students undertaking their first literature review for study or clinical practice improvement. Co-published with the Nursing Standard, this handy book: Goes into detail about the precise and practical steps required to carry out a systematic literature review Uses a workbook format, with 3 running examples that you can work through gradually as you carry out your review Offers suggestions and tips to help you write up your own review.
Piecing together systematic reviews and other evidence syntheses by ISBN: 9781538150184Publication Date: 2022The book is for training librarians new to systematic reviews, for those developing a new systematic review service, for those wanting to establish protocols for a current service, and as a reference for those conducting reviews or running a service.
The Integrative Review
The author's of the study linked below, state that the "integrative review is the most comprehensive methodological approach of reviews, and it allows including experimental and non-experimental studies to fully understand the phenomenon analyzed. It also combines data from theoretical and empirical literature, and has a wide range of purposes, such as definition of concepts, review of theories and evidence, and analysis of methodological problems of a particular topic."
Souza MT, Silva MD, Carvalho Rd. Integrative review: what is it? How to do it? Einstein (Sao Paulo). 2010 Mar;8(1):102-6. English, Portuguese. doi: 10.1590/S1679-45082010RW1134. PMID: 26761761.
A step-by-step guide to conducting an integrative review by ISBN: 9783030375041Publication Date: 2020 SpringerThis book provides guidance to readers for how to conduct an integrative review. Over the decades, with the expansion of evidence-based practice (EBP), the evolution of methods used in reviews has resulted in a wide spectrum of review types. Due to the overlapping characteristics of the various review methods, confusion exists related to terminology, descriptions and methods of each type. To fill this gap, this book examines components necessary to conduct a rigorous integrative review from formulating questions through dissemination of the results of the review.
More Titles
- Piecing together systematic reviews and other evidence syntheses by ISBN: 9781538150184Publication Date: 2022 : Rowman & LittlefieldThe book is for training librarians new to systematic reviews, for those developing a new systematic review service, for those wanting to establish protocols for a current service, and as a reference for those conducting reviews or running a service.
Evidence-based decisions and economics : health care, social welfare, education, and criminal justice by ISBN: 9786612684920Publication Date: 2010 WileyThe need for evidence-based decisions that take account of both effectiveness and economics is greater now than ever. Using case studies and illustrative examples throughout the authors describe how the activities and outputs of evidence synthesis, systematic review, economic analysis and decision-making interact within and across different spheres of health and social policy and practice. Expanding on the first edition the book now covers approaches to evidence synthesis that combine economics and systematic review methods in the applied fields of social welfare, education and criminal justice
Evidence-Based Software Engineering and Systematic Reviews by ISBN: 9780429157653Publication Date: 2015-11-04In the decade since the idea of adapting the evidence-based paradigm for software engineering was first proposed, it has become a major tool of empirical software engineering. Evidence-Based Software Engineering and Systematic Reviews provides a clear introduction to the use of an evidence-based model for software engineering research and practice.
Assembling the pieces of a systematic review : a guide for librarians by ISBN: 9781442277021Publication Date: 2017 Rowman & LittlefieldThis book guides librarians in defining and marketing their services, covering topics such as co-authorship, stakeholders, developing documentation and conducting the reference interview, systematic reviews standards, search strategy techniques, and best practices for reporting the findings.
Cross Disciplinary Titles that Address Literature Search
The Quintessence of Basic and Clinical Research and Scientific Publishing by ISBN: 9789819912834Publication Date: 2023-10-02Although this book is intended for biomedical researchers, it addresses subjects of cross-disciplinary importance for scientific research such as research, communication, and publication. Evolving topics such as artificial intelligence, machine and deep learning, drug repurposing approaches, and bioinformatics are included. Additionally, it covers publication strategies, including literature search, manuscript preparation, data presentation, relevant discussion, editorial processes, elements of peer review, and bibliometrics. Finally, the book addresses grantsmanship, key strategies for building effective networks, mentorships, maintaining research integrity, and forging career advancement opportunities, including entrepreneurship.
Making literature reviews work : a multidisciplinary guide to systematic approaches by ISBN: 9783030900250Publication Date: Springer 2022This book guides the reader on how to undertake high-quality literature reviews, from traditional narrative to protocol-driven reviews. The guidance covers a broad range of purposes, disciplines and research paradigms.
Sample Systematic Reviews
You may wish to read some existing systematic reviews in your discipline in order to better understand the methodology.
