LibGuides: New Library Electronic Resources FY2020: Digital Primary Sources

JSTOR Primary Sources

Nineteenth-Century British Pamphlets
Permanent online access to 26,000 nineteeth-century British pamphlets that illuminate key political, social, technological, and environmental issues of their day. Hosted on JSTOR. While we were subscribers already, this purchase enables us to reduce ongoing costs and ensures these important resources are safeguarded from budget cuts.
more...less...
Listed as a database in LibGuides AZ.
Struggles for Freedom in Southern Africa (Aluka)
Permanent online access to 27,000 digital objects and 190,000 pages related to Southern African countries, including periodicals, newspapers, records of colonial government commissions, correspondence, UN documents, out-of-print books, oral testimonies, life histories, and speeches. While we were subscribers already, this purchase enables us to reduce ongoing costs and ensures these important resources are safeguarded from budget cuts.
more...less...
Listed as a database in the RDL and LibGuides AZ.

Historical Newspapers

Burlington Free Press Historical Newspaper 1848-2007
Permanent online access to the Burlington Free Press (Burlington, Vermont) from 1848 to 2007 - one of the oldest historical newspapers in the US and a key resource for the study of New England history.
more...less...
Listed as a database in LibGuides AZ.
Chicago Tribune Historical Newspaper 1849-2010
Permanent online access to an additional 14 years of content from the Chicago Tribune. Previously we had access only to 1849-1996 content. This purchase brings our access up to 2010.
more...less...
Available at the title level in Primo. Listed as a database in the RDL and LibGuides AZ.
Nation Magazine Archive 1865-2020
Permanent online access to the full text of The Nation (1865-2020), a leading progressive magazine and the oldest continuously published weekly magazine in the US. While we were subscribers already, this purchase enables us to reduce ongoing costs and ensures these important resources are safeguarded from budget cuts.
more...less...
Available at the title level in Primo. Listed as a database in the RDL and LibGuides AZ.

Government Documents

ProQuest Congressional Publications
Permanent online access to 2019 and 2020 content of federal government documents via ProQuest Regulatory Insight, Digital Hearings, Digital Bills and Resolutions, and Executive Branch Documents Parts 2 and 3. Access courtesy of the UConn Law Library.
more...less...
Listed as a database in the RDL and LibGuides AZ.

Primary Sources

Archives of Sexuality & Gender
Permanent online access to more than 4 million pages of primary sources on social, political, health, and legal issues impacting LGBTQ communities globally; sex and sexuality; and related issues. Over 15 languages and 35 countries are represented. UConn owns the entire four-part archive. Part 4, "International Perspectives on LGBTQ Activism and Culture," documents populations and regions underrepresented in prevailing scholarship on sexuality and gender, focusing on southern Africa and Australia. Part 4 also covers lesbian and feminist organizations as well as lesbian culture globally. Currently working to make available at the title level in Primo. Listed as a database in the RDL and LibGuides AZ.

American County Histories New England Part 1
Permanent online access to the nineteenth-century and early twentieth-century county histories of Connecticut, Maine, and Massachusetts that provides unparalleled access to these states' local history, geology, geography, weather, and changing modes of transportation. In addition to expanding our collections in New England history, this purchase enabled us to eliminate a $500 annual fee. Note that we do not have access to New England County Histories Part 2 (RI, VT, NH).
more...less...
Listed as a database in LibGuides AZ.
Children's Literature & Culture
Permanent online access to more than 2.2 million pages of primary sources recording the growth of children's literature during the nineteenth century and providing legal and sociological texts to contextualize this growth, especially in the domains of literature, education, and crime mostly from the U.S. and U.K.
more...less...
Currently working to make available at the title level in Primo.
Civil War Collection Part VI: Northeast Regimental Histories
Permanent online access to the regimental histories of US military units, including four from Connecticut, that fought in the Civil War.
more...less...
Listed as a database in LibGuides AZ.
Law and Legal History: Archives Unbound
Permanent online access to more than 180,000 pages of primary sources that enable enhanced understanding of pivotal legal decisions in the US. Coverage includes 122 cases argued by Abraham Lincoln (1855-1861), Jim Crow laws (1871-1884), price control regulations (1941-1961), and the Clean Air Act (1990). We already owned the Clean Air Act module; other modules are accessible courtesy of the UConn Law Library.
more...less...
Currently working to make available at the title level in Primo
Radical Studies: Archives Unbound
Permanent online access to tens of thousands of pages of primary sources documenting radical political groups throughout the 20th century across the United States & Europe, with focus on leftist groups, Black liberation movements, and other activist movements.
more...less...
Currently working on making them available at the title level in Primo.
Women's Magazine Archive
Permanent online access to 12 major consumer magazines aimed at a female readership from the US and UK. Titles include Better Homes & Gardens (1922-2005), Redbook (1903-2005), Cosmopolitan (1886-2005), Essence (1970-2005), Seventeen (1944-2005), and Town and Country (1846-2005). Includes more than 1.7 million pages. UConns owns Parts 1 and 2 of the Archive.
more...less...
Available at the title level in Primo. Listed as a database in LibGuides AZ.

New Library Electronic Resources FY2020 — Digital Primary Sources

JSTOR Primary Sources

Historical Newspapers

Government Documents

Primary Sources