Agriculture Resource Economics — Data and Statistics

Census of Agriculture    a complete count of U.S. farms and ranches and the people who operate them. Taken once every five years, looks at land use and ownership, operator characteristics, production practices, income and expenditures. From the USDA. 

National Agriculture Statistics Service (NASS)    The USDA's National Agricultural Statistics Service (NASS) conducts hundreds of surveys every year and prepares reports covering virtually every aspect of U.S. agriculture. Production and supplies of food and fiber, prices paid and received by farmers, farm labor and wages, farm finances, chemical use, and changes in the demographics of U.S. producers are only a few examples. One of their products is a "Quick Stats" database sortable by geography, commodity and by date.

USDA Ag Data Commons    Ag Data Commons (ADC) provides access to a wide variety of open data relevant to agricultural research. It is a centralized registry for data already on the web, as well as a repository for new data being published for the first time. Ag Data Commons hosts datasets, databases, software, and multimedia, as well as the documentation explaining these data products.

USDA Economic Research Service (ERS)   Research on the economics of food, farming, natural resources, and rural America.

USDA Economics, Statistics, and Market Information Systems (ESMIS)   The system contains nearly 2500 reports and datasets. These materials cover U.S. and international agriculture and related topics. Available titles include both current and historical data.

US Economic Census    data from the five year census measuring almost 4 million businesses of all sizes and their economic impact.

FAO Stat    free access to food and agriculture data for over 245 countries and territories. Covers all FAO regional groupings from 1961 to the most recent year available.

International Financial Statistics (IFS)  Data for over 200 countries. Includes exchange rates, commodity prices, consumer prices, and other financial data. current; many data files are from 1945 to current.

UN Comtrade Database   Free access to detailed global trade data. UN Comtrade is a repository of official international trade statistics and relevant analytical tables. Includes visualizations of huge volume of data and metadata, cutting-edge data extraction tools, and alternative dissemination platforms.

USDA Foreign Agricultural Service (FAS)  The Foreign Agricultural Service links U.S. agriculture to the world to enhance export opportunities and global food security. FAS analysts provide objective intelligence on foreign market opportunities, prepare production forecasts, assess export marketing opportunities, and track changes in policies affecting U.S. agricultural exports and imports.

UN Data   Single entry point to all United Nations statistical databases.