Archaeobotany — Ethnobotany Resources

Project components include summaries of archaeological sites bearing archeobotanical data, a searchable database of archaeological plant remains and interpretive essays and resources on the history of Maryland’s landscapes.

This database from the University of Michigan focus on the Foods, Drugs, Dyes and Fibers that Native American Peoples derived from Plants.

In this database you can search or just click on the name of a plant used by Native Hawaiian and learn its medicinal and non-medicinal uses. It includes botanical description, latin name, etc...

The archaeobotanical database is part of the research project Climate, Agriculture and Society – On the sustainability of Ancient Agricultural Systems, conducted at the universities of Freiburg and Tübingen between 2010 and 2015. The geographic area covered by the represented in the archaeobotanical data in ADEMNES, includes Greece, Turkey, Western Iran, Iraq, Syria, Lebanon, Israel, Jordan, and Northern Egypt. The chronological frame comprises the Epipalaeolithic up to the Medieval periods, with a special focus on the Bronze and Iron Ages.

A site to search for Literature on archaeological remains of cultivated plants 1981-2004 by H. Kroll.

A portal to Phytochemical and Ethnobotanical Databases

Native Planet is a non-governmental organization (NGO) dedicated to the self-empowerment of Indigenous peoples and the preservation of world ethnic cultures.

Explore Kew's data and resources for plant and fungal information.

A compilation of bibliographies of archaeobotanical site reports from the Near East. This is a work in progress by the compiler, Naomi F. Miller.

From the Crow Canyon Archaeological Center: Plant Use by Native Peoples of the American Southwest: Ethnographic Documentation by Katharine D. Rainey and Karen R. Adams (2004)