Skip to main content

Topic: Colección Digital de Revistas y Periódicos Españoles — Propósito

This guide offers a selection of women journals & magazines from the Spanish Periodicals and Newspapers Collection from the late Duque de T'Serclaes.

Propósito/Purpose

Image: Cover Page--Prospectus of Correo de las DamasEl propósito de esta guía es dar acceso a nuestra colección de revistas y periódicos españoles. Esta selección de revistas digitalizadas refleja la historia compleja de España a través de sus revistas y periódicos que se remonta desde el siglo XVIII hasta principios del siglo XX, con la mayoría de la colección centrada en el siglo XIX. Temas literarios, políticos y de genéros pueden ser explorados en estas páginas digitalizas.


The purpose of this guide is to give access to our collection of Spanish magazines and newspapers. This selection of digitized periodicals reflect the complex history of Spain through these magazines and newspapers from the XVIIIth, XIXth and early XXth century, with the majority of the collection focusing in the XIXth century. You can research literary, political and gender topics by exploring these digital pages.

Photo info: Cover Page--Prospectus of Correo de las Damas

Historia/History

Parisean fashion print showing women hatsEl Departamento de Archivos y Colecciones Especiales de la Biblioteca de UConn, localizado en el Centro de Investigaciones Thomas J. Dodd en la Universidad de Connecticut adquirió al principio de los años 1970 una increíble colección de Revistas y Periódicos Españoles coleccionados por el famoso bibliófilo, Juan Perez de Guzman y Boza, Duque de T' Serclaes. Esta rica colección refleja la historia compleja de España a través de sus revistas y periódicos que se remonta desde al siglo XVIII hasta principios del siglo XX, con la mayoría de la colección centrada en el siglo XIX.

Gracias al apoyo y fondos aportados por el Grupo de Proyecto Digitales (DPT) de la UConn Library y sus miembros (Dave Lowe, Michael Bennett) y el catalogador Tom Koenig, quienes hicieron este proyecto una realidad. Esperamos que esta selección de revista en línea sea de gran utilidad a investigadores de alrededor del mundo.

Image of Fresh Fashion plate from one of the Spanish woman magazine

In the early 1970s, the UConn Library Archives & Special Collections  at the Thomas J. Dodd Research Center in the University of Connecticut acquired an incredible collection of Spanish Periodicals and Newspapers collected by the famous bibliophile, Juan Perez de Guzman y Boza, the Duque de T' Serclaes. This rich collection reflects the complex history of Spain through periodicals and newspapers dating from the 18th-20th centuries, with the bulk of the collection dating from the 19th century.

Thanks to the support and funding of the UConn Library' Digital Project Team (DPT) and its members (Dave Lowe, Michael Bennett) and cataloger Tom Koenig, the Library created this digital collection in-house to provide online access to researchers from around the world.

 

Photo Info: Two 19th century Parisian fashion prints founded inside the fashion magazine, Correo de la Moda, Madrid (1851) from our collection.

Other Resources