Finding Library Resources
Finding and Using Books
Books are a great resource for general background and in-depth coverage of a topic. They can be very useful when you need a broad overview of a topic, or if your topic is historical.
Books and eBooks can be found in the UConn Library's collection using the Library's General Search, found under the Find tab on the Library's homepage or directly at http://search.lib.uconn.edu.
Books from any UConn Campus library can be pulled and held for pickup at the library circulation desk of your choice. See the Requesting Materials for UConn Campuses box on this page.
If you aren't able to find what you need within the UConn Library's collection, you can search and request books from WorldCat. WorldCat search results are from library catalogs around the world. To learn more about using WorldCat, see the Requesting Books Not Owned by UConn box on this page. Please note that licensing agreements do not allow libraries to loan ebooks; WorldCat can only be used for print materials.
Finding Books Using the Library's General Search
To find books, use the Library's General Search, found under the Find tab on the Library's homepage or directly at http://search.lib.uconn.edu.
The Advanced Search provides many more options for creating your search; we recommend starting with the Advanced Search to make searching easier. Use the Advanced Search link next to the basic search box.
The Library's General Search searches across a broad spectrum of resources. To find only books and ebooks, select Material Type: Books in the Advanced Search
Finding Books on a Topic / Keyword
Keyword searches look for your term(s) in the title, author, description, and subject fields. Using the Creating Keywords guide, enter your key words and phrases in the search. Remember to Refine and Revise your search based on your results.
If you find books that might be useful, look at the subjects listed in the Details tab. Those subjects can be used to find more books on your topic.
Finding Books by Author or Title
If you are looking for a specific title or author, you can set your search to look for your term(s) in just those fields. Choose either Title or Author/creator to search title and/or author terms.
Reading a Record
Records provide information about materials and their locations, in print or online.
The Find on Shelf link displays the physical location of the item and its loan policy if you have signed in. The policy will depend on your status (student, faculty, etc.)
How do I find a book in the Babbidge Library using the call number?
The Details link provides more information on the item.
The View It link provides access to online versions, if available. Clicking on "Online Access" in the record will also open the View It link.
Requesting Materials from UConn Campuses
The Request Service delivers items from UConn's collections to the campus library of your choice.
- Search for your item using the Library General Search.
- Click on Sign in to Request to login to your library account using your NetID and password. (If you are already signed in, skip this step)
- Click on Request from UConn under Find on Shelf.
- Select your pickup location.
- Click the Request button to submit.
-
Request ServiceDetailed instructions with screenshots for requesting an item from another UConn location.
Requesting Books Not Owned by UConn
Search WorldCat to find and request items owned by other libraries.
Request items by clicking on Request Item.
Items can take anywhere from 2-14 business days to arrive.
-
WorldCat DiscoveryCatalog of books, journals, DVDs, CDs, scores, and sound recordings from over 9,000 libraries. 40 million records representing 400 languages. Covers information back to the 11th Century, and includes items at the UConn Library.
-
Interlibrary Services - How to BorrowInformation on borrowing materials not owned by UConn
UConn Library does not own or provide access to all books featured in this research guide. For some titles, clicking on the title link will take you to the record in the UConn Library, for others, it will bring you to the record in WorldCat. If UConn does not own a title, you may request it as an interlibrary loan; for more on that process, go to the Interlibrary Services page on the UConn Library website.
Kiss, Bow, or Shake Hands - Sales and Marketing by ISBN: 9780071714044Publication Date: 2011-11-15How do you break the ice in the UAE? When do you present a contract in China? How close should you stand to a South Korean? Kiss, Bow, or Shake Hands: Sales and Marketing is an informative, entertaining guide that shows you what to do--and what to avoid--in any given sales or marketing situation, from Argentina to South Africa. It provides the expert knowledge you need to gather data in diverse cultures, properly present your products, and close deals around the world.
Business Statistics for Competitive Advantage with Excel 2016 by ISBN: 3319321854Publication Date: 2016-06-28The revised Fourth Edition of this popular textbook is redesigned with Excel 2016 to encourage business students to develop competitive advantages for use in their future careers as decision makers. Students learn to build models using logic and experience, produce statistics using Excel 2016 with shortcuts, and translate results into implications for decision makers.
Global Business Strategy by ISBN: 9784431554677Publication Date: 2015-04-07This book presents theories and case studies for corporations in developed nations, including Japan, for designing strategies to maximize opportunities and minimize threats in business expansion into developing nations. The case studies featured here focus on Asia, including China and India, and use examples of Japanese manufacturers. Five case studies are provided, including Hitachi Construction Machinery and Shiseido in China and Maruti Suzuki in India. These cases facilitate the reader's understanding of the business environments in emerging economies. This volume is especially recommended for business people responsible for international business development, particularly in China and India. In addition, the book serves as a useful resource for students in graduate-level courses in international management.
Global Entrepreneurship by ISBN: 9780415703239Publication Date: 2014-12-04Entrepreneurs around the world are encouraged and held up as the new deliverers of economic growth in turbulent times. Entrepreneurship is taught globally, but often without much reference to the truly global array of cases and examples that can provide helpful insights for international students in particular. This collection brings together expert entrepreneurship scholars to provide a collection of global case studies around entrepreneurial firms worldwide.
Entrepreneurial Finance by ISBN: 9781452274171Publication Date: 2014-10-30A practical approach for entrepreneurs and investors Entrepreneurial Finance provides readers with the fundamental knowledge to finance, start, grow, and value new ventures, without the complex finance terms and calculations. This comprehensive yet practical approach incorporates a global perspective that appeals to entrepreneurs, investors, and students with diverse backgrounds, knowledge, and experience. From Facebook to Camera+, Gary Gibbons, Robert D. Hisrich, and Carlos M. DaSilva use real-world examples and their professional experiences to bring concepts to life. This text is one of the most readable books in the market without compromising high quality content and resources.
Sustainable Business by ISBN: 9780415739504Publication Date: 2014-08-19Sustainable Business: Key Issues is the first comprehensive introductory-level textbook to address the interface between environmental challenges and business solutions to provide an overview of the basic concepts of sustainability, sustainable business, and business ethics. The book introduces students to the background and key issues of sustainability and suggests ways in which these concepts can be applied in business practice.
Articles as research inquiry : Focused and detailed
Why use articles instead of or in addition to books? Depends on your needs.
- You need really current research or news reports
- Your interest is specific not broad (and you have a good background understanding or your topic)
- Required in your assignment or by your professor (primary research, peer-reviewed article, eye-witness accounts, etc.)
Where are articles found? In periodicals which are found in databases.
A Periodical -- as its name might imply -- is something that appears periodically, namely daily, weekly, monthly, quarterly, yearly, etc. Each time they are published, the content is completely new and different from any previous issues.
- Newspapers - Who, what, when, where. Basic vocabulary, current news, eye-witness accounts, (current and historical)
- Magazines - easy reading, informative, general public readership
- Scholarly journals (aka peer-reviewed, academic, refereed, research) - Analysis & research: College level
- Professional or Trade periodicals - more news and short reports on updates for professionals working in their field
How do articles differ from books?
- Articles are short: from part of a page to 20 or more pages. Usually, they are between 5 and 10 pages.
- Their focus is specific: one event, one experiment, one historical moment or short time period, one hypothesis, etc.
- A scholarly article title is long and descriptive. It describes the issues or problems being researched and sometimes more. It summarizes the content of the article.
- Newspaper and magazine article titles may be cryptic and may entice you to read them. For example:
| Peer-reviewed article title | Newspaper article title |
| "Strength training versus robot-assisted gait training after incomplete spinal cord injury: a randomized pilot study in patients depending on walking assistance" from Journal of Neuroengineering and Rehabilitation |
"The Skinny on This Hot Workout: Fans Gain Seam-Busting Bulk." (Wall Street Journal) |
Search Tips
To find the two articles above, the keywords used were -- strength training.
When searching for articles in databases, do not write a question or sentence. Use specific relevant terms (mainly nouns) in separate boxes and perhaps add synonyms all in one box with OR between them. Say we wanted to add an age group to be more specific. Example:
Line 1 : Strength training
Line 2 : college students OR adolescents (using synonyms increases your number and breadth of search results)
Line 3 : (if you have any other qualifier)
Most of our databases allow you to add even more lines. Each concept on a separate line! Your results will improve.
Now it's your turn.
Question: Where can I find journals discussing global marketing topics?
Go to the Library's Journal Search:
Search by Title, ISSN, or enter your keywords.
