Puerto Rico
Digital Collections
Puerto Rico Citizenship Archives Project (PRCAP)
The Puerto Rico Citizenship Archives Project (PRCAP) is part of a public repository designed to document the legal history of the extension of citizenship to the U.S. territories. The PRCAP provides a comprehensive overview of 120+ year story of debates over the extension of citizenship to Puerto Rico. It also provides public access to the key historical documents shaping this history. English and Spanish
Biblioteca Digital Puertorriqueña / Puerto Rican Digital Library
The Biblioteca Digital Puertorriqueña includes caricatures, posters, labor movement documents, photographs (including photographs from the newspaper El Mundo), drawings, prints, and rare books from the University of Puerto Rico Library. Spanish
Chronicling America
The Chronicling America collection, supported by the Library of Congress and the National Endowment for Humanities, includes six digitized Puerto Rican newspapers from the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. English with Spanish materials
Center for Puerto Rican Studies at Hunter College (CENTRO)
The Center for Puerto Rican Studies at Hunter College (CENTRO) is the largest university-based research institute, library, and archive dedicated to the Puerto Rican experience in the United States. The digital collection includes more than 2,000 photographs, documents, artifacts, art, maps, oral histories, moving images, audio clips, and other material pertaining to the Puerto Rican diaspora. English and Spanish materials
Archivo Virtual del Instituto de Cultura Puertorriqueña
The Archivo Virtual del Instituto de Cultura Puertorriqueña includes audio and video of Puerto Rican music, as well as posters, film and journal issues.
Democracia/Diario de Puerto Rico
| Scope |
Daily newspaper founded on July 1, 1890, published by Luis Munoz Rivera in Ponce, Puerto Rico, that crusaded for Puerto Rican self-government. 1891:jul.-1942 (1940:sept. on reel with 1952:Jul./Agosto of later title); 1952:Jul.-1952:Agosto (Filmed with 1940:Sept. of earlier title) |
| Format | Microfilm (118 reels) |
| Arrangement | Chronologically, by year |
| Indexes | None |
Extranjeros
| Scope | The Royal Decree containing the regulations for promoting the population, commerce, industry, and agriculture for the island of Puerto Rico, 1815-1845. English, Spanish, and French |
| Format | Microfilm (19 reels) |
| Arrangement | Chronological |
| Indexes | None |
Memoria (Puerto Rico)
| Scope | Puerto Rican politics and government from the provincial deputation, 1887-1898. |
| Format | Microfilm (1 reel) |
| Arrangement | Chronological. |
| Indexes | None |
El Mundo (Puerto Rico)
| Scope |
Puerto Rican newspaper founded in 1919. 1919:Feb.-1950:Dec. The Digital Library of the Caribbean had digitized portions of El Mundo. |
| Format | Microfilm (423 reels) |
| Arrangement | Chronological |
| Indexes | None |
Puerto Rico. Estadística General del Comercio Exterior de la Provincia de Puerto Rico
| Scope | General statistics of the foreign trade of Puerto Rico, 1862-1897, compiled by Intendencia General de Hacienda. |
| Format | Microfilm (4 reels) |
| Arrangement | Chronological |
| Indexes | None |
Puerto Rican Labor Press
| Scope | Puerto Rican labor publications including Union Obrera and proceedings of the Pan American Federation of Labor, 1892-1934. |
| Format | Microfilm (45 reels) |
| Arrangement | Chronological |
| Indexes | Puerto Rican Labor Press. Eric Perez Collection. |
Puerto Rico. Gaceta de Puerto Rico
| Scope |
Puerto Rico’s first newspaper was the official organ of the government featuring decrees, edicts, and governmental records. First published in 1807. 1810-1818, 1820-1823, 1826-1829. |
| Format | Microfilm (4 reels) |
| Arrangement | Chronological |
| Indexes | None |
United States Bureau of the Census: Census of Population: Puerto Rico
| Scope | 13th (1910), 14th (1920), 15th (1930) |
| Format | Microfilm (90 reels) |
| Arrangement | Chronological |
| Indexes | None |
United States Bureau of the Census: Special Censuses of Puerto Rico, Agricultural Schedules, 1935
| Scope | Agricultural schedules provide information about the operator or manager of each farm; farm ownership, acreage, value, and debt; number of farm buildings and inhabitants; production of crops for sale; number and kind of domesticated animals; and farm machinery. |
| Format | Microfilm (136 reels) |
| Arrangement | Schedules are arranged alphabetically by municipality, then by enumeration district number. |
| Indexes | U.S. Bureau of the Census, Special Censuses of Puerto Rico, 1935, Agriculture Schedules: A Reel Guide. |
United States Bureau of the Census: Special Censuses of Puerto Rico, The Social and Population Schedules, 1935-1936
| Scope | For each inhabitant, provides the name, place of residence, family relationship, sex, color, age, marital status, place of birth and occupation. Also covers school attendance, literacy and employment. |
| Format | Microfilm (82 reels) |
| Arrangement | Schedules area arranged alphabetically by municipality, then by enumeration district number. |
| Indexes | U.S. Bureau of the Census, Special Censuses of Puerto Rico, 1935-1936, Social and Population Schedules; A Reel Guide. |
United States Consulate Despatches
| Scope |
U.S. Consulate Despatches of Argentina, Azores, Chile, Colombia, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Italy, Puerto Rico and Trinidad.
|
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| Format | Microfilm (375 reels) | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| Arrangement | Alphabetically by country, then area, then chronological | ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| Indexes |
Latin America: Special Studies, 1941-1988. |
