Welcome!
This page features database resources for students enrolled in a course on French history, French colonialism, the French Empire, international affairs, politics, economics, agriculture, or human rights research on a French speaking country.
General History Research Databases
- Academic Search Premier
Includes articles from scholarly journals and popular magazines covering a wide variety of disciplines with the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
- Archives UnboundThousands of archival primary source documents from the 20th century.
- Cambridge CompanionsFull text of Cambridge Companions featuring essays on literature, classics, history, music, philosophy, religion, and culture.
- Archive FinderDirectory of over 5,750 repositories and over 206,000 collections of primary source material housed across the United States and the United Kingdom.
- Cambridge Histories OnlineFull text of various Cambridge Histories covering American and world history; economic history and the history of science; linguistics; music & theatre studies; philosophy; anthropology and political thought.
- European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750
Comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750.
- Political Science Complete
Indexes of more than 1700 journals in political science and its complementary fields, including comparative politics, international relations, public policy and law.
- JSTORScholarly journals in many academic fields, especially arts, literature, humanities, and biology.
- Project MUSEFull text access to journals and ebooks in classics, education, history, literature, math, philosophy, politics, religion, and visual and performing arts.
- Revolution and Protest OnlineIncludes scholarly books and articles, documentary films and interviews covering revolutions, protests, and social movements from the French Revolution to the Arab Spring.
- Eighteenth Century Collections OnlineIncludes online access to books published during the 18th Century covering history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, and science.
Politics
- Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)Includes scholarly articles, papers from university research institutes and non-governmental organizations, foundation-funded research projects, and conference proceedings on international affairs.
- World Politics ReviewBrowsable database of analysis on global trends and current affairs relevant to foreign policy, international politics, and foreign affairs.
- Public Affairs Index
Indexes journal articles, books, statistical yearbooks, conference proceedings, research reports and government documents world-wide on public affairs, political science, public administration, and international relations.
- Political Science Complete
Indexes of more than 1700 journals in political science and its complementary fields, including comparative politics, international relations, public policy and law.
Agriculture
- Agricola
Indexes articles in agriculture, including plant and animal sciences, forestry, entomology, soil and water resources, agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, alternative farming practices, and food and nutrition.
- AGRIS : Agricultural Science and Technology InformationIncludes article abstracts of worldwide agricultural literature covering research results, food production, and rural development.
Economics
- ABI/INFORM Collection
Includes articles, dissertations, news content and reports covering the various areas of business, advertising, insurance, public administration, real estate, and telecommunications
- EconLit
Article abstracts for international literature on economics covering economic development, fiscal and monetary theory, business and public finance, regional and urban economics.
- AgEcon SearchScholarly research in agricultural economics, including agribusiness, food supply, natural resource economics, environmental economics, policy issues, agricultural trade, and economic development.
- International Financial StatisticsData for over 200 countries and includes exchange rates, commodity prices, consumer prices, and other financial data.
Other Generalist Databases
- ScopusScholarly journal articles and conference papers on any topic in science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts & humanities. Includes cited references and h-index information.
- Springer Nature Link
Includes full-text access to a select number of journal titles in scientific, technical, and medical fields published by Springer.
- Cambridge CoreAccess to articles and select ebooks published by Cambridge University Press.
- Cambridge Companions to Philosophy, Religion, and CultureFull-text of Cambridge Companions in Philosophy, Religion, and Culture featuring essays on philosophical and religious topics.
- Oxford AcademicAccess to articles and ebooks published by Oxford University Press.
- Oxford Bibliographies - International RelationsProvides an annotated bibliography covering works related to international relations and associated topics.
- Oxford Reference
Includes subject dictionaries and reference works in various subjects including biology, computing, economics, history, law, literature, medicine, performing arts, politics, and science. Access for 6 users at a time.
Early Americas: before Louisana Purchase of 1803
- Early American Newspapers (1690-1922)
Scanned newspapers published between 1690 – 1922.
- European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750
Comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750.
- American PeriodicalsArticles from over 1,000 American magazines and journals published between 1741-1900.
African and Caribbean History Research
- Africa and the New ImperialismIncludes papers, photographs, correspondence, and diaries from 1870-1914 covering the colonization of Africa.
- Archives of Latin American and Caribbean History: Sixteenth to the Twentieth-Century
Access to articles, manuscripts, and books covering the history of Latin America and the Caribbean from the 16th to the 20th century. Through June 30, 2025, unlimited users have access to this material. Continued access beyond that date is not guaranteed and is subject to a purchase decision by the UConn Library.
- Slavery, Abolition, and Social JusticeIncludes primary source documents on key aspects of the history of slavery worldwide over six centuries covering slavery in the early Americas; African coast; urban and domestic slavery; resistance and revolts; the abolition movement and the slavery debate; legislation and politics; freedmen and free Black settlements; experiences of enslaved people; and the legacy of slavery.
- Slavery and Anti-SlaveryIncludes books, pamphlets, newspapers, periodicals, legal documents, court records, monographs, manuscripts, and maps documenting the historical conflict over slavery in the United States.
- Black Thought & CultureIncludes over 100,000 letters, speeches, essays, interviews, and trial transcripts by Black and African American leaders with a focus on 19th and 20th centuries.
Topical Databases
- Digital National Security ArchiveIncludes significant primary documents central to U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945.
- Human Rights Studies OnlineIncludes articles, audiovisual content, and other primary source materials covering major human rights violations and genocides worldwide from 1900 to 2010.
- Making of Modern Law: Foreign, Comparative, and International LawFully searchable digital archive of foreign, comparative and international legal treatises between 1620-1926.
- Making of the Modern WorldIncludes nineteenth century magazines and journals, ebooks, and pamphlet material focused on political economy; trade; finance and manufacturing.
- Archives of Sexuality & Gender
Includes articles, manuscripts, images, and correspondence on social, political, health, and legal issues impacting LGBTQ communities globally; sex and sexuality; and related issues. Library has access to all five collections: LGBTQ History and Culture since 1940 part I-II, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century, International Perspectives on LGBTQ Activism and Culture, and L'Enfer de la Bibliotheque Nationale de France.
Newspapers
- Newspapers through ProQuest
Cross search of 5 databases: the Hartford Courant (1992-present); Los Angeles Times (1985-present); New York Times (1997-present); Wall Street Journal (1982-present); and the Washington Post (1987-present).
- Historical Newspapers from ProQuest
Search for historical articles in a variety of major American and international newspapers published between 1764-2019. See more info for complete list of newspapers included.
- Readex
Cross-search the full text of hundreds of early American, Hispanic American, Latin American, and other global newspapers, plus American historical imprints.
- Monde, Le
Access to this notable French newspaper from 1944-2000.
- Alternative Press Index
Includes article abstracts covering cultural, economic, political & social change.
- World Newspaper Archive
Access to select historical newspapers from around the world, many not in English.
- Factiva
Access to global news and business information articles.
- Nexis Uni
Full text of various newspapers, magazines, wire services, radio and TV transcripts.
STEM Databases
You could search STEM databases if your research involves a STEM topic in a Francophone country
- Engineering VillageCross search of two engineering databases: Inspec & Compendex. Indexes scholarly articles in physics, electronics and electrical engineering, computers and control, and information technology.
- Medline (Clarivate/Web of Science)Scholarly journal articles about health and medicine, nursing, audiology, and biology.
- PubMedScholarly journal articles about health and medicine, nursing, audiology, and biology.
- GreenFILE
Articles on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, and recycling.
- E&E NewsIncludes articles, videos and subject specific compilations of policy developments in energy, environment and climate policy.
- GeoScienceWorldScholarly articles in geosciences, geological, and earth sciences.
