Background and Books
This page lists some of the books and collections whose contents are available for research through the UConn Library. None of these resources is dedicated to medieval studies, but all contain information that can assist researchers. The cautions given for the dedicated resources apply here: names can be spelled in different ways, as can individual words and specific terms.
- ABC-CLIO eBooks
Access to encyclopedias, handbooks, dictionaries, and guides focusing on U.S. and world history, current issues, politics, and geography.
- Bloomsbury Medieval StudiesIn addition to the Global Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages, this contains more than 150 scholarly ebooks, museum images, and an interactive timeline.
- Cambridge CompanionsFull text of more than 700 Cambridge Companions featuring thousands of essays on literature, classics, history, medieval studies, music, philosophy, religion, and culture.
- Gale eBooksAccess to various ebooks and reference works in multiple disciplines.
- Niermeyer Online: Mediae Latinitatis Lexicon MinusThis medieval Latin dictionary offers contextualized searches on lemma and full text; searches can be refined by century of use. French, English and German translations for every entry of a Medieval Latin concept. All entries are contextualized with relevant text passages.
Note: Also available in paper: PA2890 .N54 2002
- Oxford English Dictionary (OED)
Access to the Oxford English Dictionary.
- Oxford Reference
Includes subject dictionaries and reference works in various subjects including biology, computing, economics, history, law, literature, medicine, performing arts, politics, and science. Access for 6 users at a time.
Dictionary of Medieval Latin from British Sources by Call Number: PA2891 .L32ISBN: 0197259480Publication Date: 1975This dictionary is an indispensable guide to the study of the Latin Middle Ages. It records the continuing usage of classical and late Latin in this period (6th-16th centuries), but it presents most fully the medieval developments of the language, drawing on a rich variety of printed andmanuscript sources. Many new formations from other languages are revealed--some of the borrowings recorded in Latin centuries before their appearance in written vernacular sources. Due to the high number of entries for P, this letter will be spread over four fascicules.
