Urban and Community Studies Subject Guide — Urban Studies Sources

A peer-reviewed publication produced since 1985.

An online publication, is dedicated to providing the best news and analysis on compact, mixed-use growth and development.

Provides accessible research on urban areas and issues, including studies on urban sprawl, crime, taxes, education, poverty, and related subjects.

Original research on housing and community development issues.

Online resource for citizen planners, including members of local planning commissions and zoning boards.

APA is an independent, not-for-profit educational organization that provides leadership in the development of vital communities.

An advocacy organization representing 19,000 cities, towns, and villages, and encompassing 49 state municipal leagues. NLC provides training to municipal officials, holds conferences, lobbies and provides assistance to cities in educational issues.

A nonprofit organization that helps diverse leaders and citizens navigate divisive and complex issues.

The international professional organization for urban scholars, researchers, and public service professionals.

Provides trend analysis, research and policy ideas for improving the health and prosperity of cities and metropolitan areas.

Provides a comprehensive database on employment, economic development, demographic measures, housing and land use, income and poverty, fiscal conditions and other health, social, and environmental indicators for 77 U.S. cities.

Interdisciplinary instituted that includes urban policy and community development in it policy briefs and working papers.

Resource for key issues concerning the use, regulation, and taxation of land.

Provides documents, statistics, and analysis for countries and regional issues of development.

A non-partisan economic and social policy research organization that covers international, federal, state, and local sectors.

The UChicago Urban Network is an intellectual hub for faculty, students, policymakers, and others interested in the university's urban research.

Provides full-text access to the newest online Gallup reports.

The PRC analyzes and provides free full-text reports from seven separate Pew research centers.