LibGuides: Urban and Community Studies Subject Guide: Find Articles

Where to Find Articles?

There are two types of articles that you can find in our databases: scholarly/peer-reviewed articles and popular press articles. Most databases will indicate which type of article you found in the results. Below are best bets for getting started with Urban Studies research:

Academic Search Premier
Includes articles from scholarly journals and popular magazines covering a wide variety of disciplines with the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
America: History and Life
Scholarly articles about the history of the United States and Canada.
JSTOR
Scholarly journals in many academic fields, especially arts, literature, humanities, and biology.
Public Affairs Index
Indexes journal articles, books, statistical yearbooks, conference proceedings, research reports and government documents world-wide on public affairs, political science, public administration, and international relations.
SocINDEX with Full Text
Scholarly journal articles about sociology and other social and behavioral sciences. Includes culture & social structure; economic development; evaluation research; family & social welfare; management and complex organizations; policy planning.
Political Science Complete
Indexes of more than 1700 journals in political science and its complementary fields, including comparative politics, international relations, public policy and law.

To see a full list of databases pertaining to Urban and Community Studies click here.

Is it scholarly?

Specialized appeal: publication includes research articles and reviews and is marketed to educators, universities, and libraries

"Peer-reviewed" and referred: articles critiqued by experts in the field before publication

Audience: scholars, researchers, professors, college students

Authors: experts in field, affiliated with a research organization or university

Jargon: technical language

Includes citations: bibliographies, references, notes, and any source of facts used in the article

Specialized content: original research meant to advance discipline

Urban and Community Studies Subject Guide — Find Articles

Where to Find Articles?

Is it scholarly?