_NURS 4265: Nursing Past as Prologue — Find Archives

Collections (personal papers, books, manuscripts, pictures and other items) that document leaders of the nursing profession, records of statewide and regional nursing organizations, and other materials that document nursing history in Connecticut and New England.

Oral history video interviews with graduates of the UConn School of Nursing who are (or were) nurses in the military. Curated by Dr. Jennifer Telford.

The UConn School of Nursing has preserved the legacy of nursing's history with a body of artifacts, documents, and emphemera collected by nurse historians Josephine Dolan and Eleanor Krohn Herrmann, as well as donations by alumni and other benefactors.

Digital collection from Graham Hospital and School of Nursing located in Canton, IL.

Offers a historical perspective on the epidemiology and the implications of diseases, such as smallpox, cholera, TB, and the Spanish Influenza.

The Florence Nightingale Digitization Project website allows researchers to search the original letters of Florence Nightingale by date, author, subject and partner name.
Some suggested search terms are provided on this page
Search results provide a description of the individual letters, the institution that houses each letter as well as option to view each letter

History of African American nurses and their struggle for equality in the profession.

Digital collection dedicated to the health sciences at the University of Virginia and around the world. Explore online exhibits about yellow fever, Tuskegee Syphilis Study and ancient surgical instruments.

Website addresses the role of professional nurses, nurse shortages, workplace problems and public health issues.

The collection explores the relationships between modern medicine and modern advertising, or "Madison Avenue" from the 1910s through the 1950s.

Created by the U.S. Army Center of Military History, highlights the history of the American Nursing Corps.

Created by Naval History and Heritage Command, which serves as the Navy's institutional memory .

Use search box to find content and photographs related to the history of the Army Nurse Corps.

Small collection of oral histories of American army nurses. Read the transcripts or listen to the videos.

Site contains oral histories and a bibliography from Pre-World War II through Post Desert Storm.

Historical collections related to health and disease and include digitized books, photographs, and videos. Select "Images from the History of Medicine" to access more than 64,000 historical images (not clinical images). Select "Digital Collections" and refine by Nurses (as a Subject).

Click "Research & Resources" tab for more information. Click "Nursing History" tab to view historical nursing collectibles

Gives a brief history of the American Red Cross.

Use the search box to find nursing or health related information and photos.

The collection is made up of almost 3000 artifacts relating to the life, works and legacy of Florence Nightingale. Click the "Search the Collection" link.

Extract was taken from the book, Ambulance Work and Nursing - A Handbook on First Aid to the Injured with a Section on Nursing (1890). Maintained by Emergency Nursing World.org.

The Medical Heritage Library (MHL), a digital curation collaborative among some of the world’s leading medical libraries, promotes free and open access to quality historical resources in medicine. This growing collection of digitized medical rare books, pamphlets, journals, and films number in the tens of thousands, with representative works from each of the past six centuries, all of which are available here through the Internet Archive.