Skip to Main Content

_English Literature Classes - Stamford — Finding Books & Articles

A resource guide for various classes.

Using the Library's General Search

The UConn Library's General Search box enables you to access our books, electronic materials such as ejournals and ebooks, and Connecticut Digital Archive (CTDA) materials with one search. Filters and facets narrow your results to suit your needs. 

Reading a Record

Records provide information about materials and their locations, in print or online.

A UConn Library General Search Record. The record reads Gender Violence at the US-Mexico border: media representation and public response. The record shows that it is available at the Babbidge Library at call number HV6250.4.W65 G475 2010 and reads Online access

The initial results displays the book title and author(s), publisher information, and access options.


The Find on Shelf section displays the physical location of the item and its loan policy, if you have signed in. The policy will depend on your status (student, faculty, etc). 

Verify the location, call number, and availability. If the item's location is at a campus other than your home campus, you can request the item be sent to you using the Request from UConn link. If you are not signed in, this link will read Sign in to request.

You can use the locate option to see a map with the item's location
This Call Number Floor Guide also provides locations for books located in Babbidge.


The The View Online section provides access to online version, if available. Clicking Online Access in the initial results will also take you to the View Online section.


The Details section provides more information on the item. Subjects can help find similar or more focused items related to your topic.

Details. the Details part of the record shows the title Gender violence at the US-Mexico border: media representation and public response. The Author, Hector Dominguez Ruvalcaba and Ignacio Corona. The Subjects Women--- Crimes against -- Mexico -- Ciudad Juarez; Gays --- Crimes against -- Mexico; Cross-dressers --- Crimes against -- Mexico; Murder -- Mexico; Mass media and crime --- Mexico

Getting Full Text Articles and Chapters

In a database, look for
UConn Full Text button

UConn Full Text will help you

1. Get the full text online if UConn subscribes to it
2. Request what we do not own through Interlibrary Services
3. Request scans of articles and chapters we own in print through Interlibrary Services

Check to see if we own the journal in print. Request a scan using Scan on Demand

Off Campus Access

When you click on an online library resource, you will be asked for your UConn NetID

UConn NetID Single Sign On  Screen