Social Work Subject Guide — Find Statistics

A periodic Chartbook prepared by the Federal Interagency Forum (Forum) on Aging-Related Statistics, provides a comprehensive, easy-to-understand picture of our older population. Readers will find here an accessible compendium of indicators drawn from the most reliable official statistics. Indicators are categorized into six broad groups: Population, Economics, Health Status, Health Risks and Behaviors, Health Care, and Environment.

A comprehensive site for locating information on the aging population. In addition, the AgeLine database can be accessed directly from this site.

Provides detailed information on state & national profiles, graphs, maps, rankings and raw data on the status of children in the United States. From the home page, follow Kids Count link to the latest Data Book Online & Kids Count Census Data (interactive site).

Using information collected through various monitoring and reporting systems, the Children's Bureau analyzes and reports data on a variety of topics, including adoption, foster care, and child abuse and neglect.

CDF educates the nation about the needs of children and encourages preventive investments before they get sick, drop out of school, get into trouble or suffer family breakdown.

An advocacy group for children in Connecticut comprised of professionals in law, education, business, government, and non-governmental agencies.

This site contains links to information on policy, grants, research and statistics in the field of education.

America's Children: Key National Indicators of Well-Being, 2017. This year's report marks the 20th release of the Forum's flagship publication. A working group of 23 Federal agencies, the Forum fosters coordination, collaboration, and integration of Federal efforts to collect, analyze, and report data on conditions and trends related to child and family well-being.

NCES is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education in the U.S. and other nations. NCES is located within the U.S. Department of Education and the Institute of Education Sciences. NCES fulfills a Congressional mandate to collect, collate, analyze, and report complete statistics on the condition of American education; conduct and publish reports; and review and report on education activities internationally.

The Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation (ASPE) is the principal advisor to the Secretary of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services on policy development, and is responsible for major activities in policy coordination, legislation development, strategic planning, policy research, evaluation, and economic analysis.

The FastStats site provides quick access to statistics on topics of public health importance and is organized alphabetically. Links are provided to publications that include the statistics presented, to sources of more data, and to related web pages.

Information on access to mental health and mental illness (MH/MI) surveillance data sources is provided on various MH/MI topics. Data sources include the Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS), the National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES), and the National Health Interview Survey (NHIS). Relevant statistics are also presented.

NCHS collects data with surveys, from other agencies and U.S. states, from administrative sources, and from partnerships with private health partners. NCHS collects data from birth and death records, medical records, interview surveys, and through direct physical examinations and laboratory testing. These diverse sources give perspectives to help understand the U.S. population’s health, health outcomes, and influences on health.

CDC’s Division of Reproductive Health (DRH) monitors maternal and infant mortality, the most serious reproductive health complications. In addition, attention is focused on gathering data to better understand the extent of maternal and infant morbidity, adverse behaviors during pregnancy, and long-term consequences of pregnancy.

Health information, fact sheets, disease prevention information & more can be accessed at this site.

HHS is a cabinet-level department of the U.S. federal government with the goal of protecting the health of all Americans and providing essential human services. Its motto is "Improving the health, safety, and well-being of America".

The Foundation publishes research, analysis, polling and journalism about health-care issues, and states that much of its research especially concerns persons with low income or those who are otherwise especially vulnerable to health-care cost, such as the uninsured, those with chronic illnesses, or Medicaid/Medicare recipients. In addition to domestic U.S. health policy issues, KFF also conducts work on the U.S. role in global health policy.[

The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation makes grants for a range of health issues, including access to care, childhood obesity, and training for doctors and nurses. Other topics of interest to the foundation include social and economic factors that can impact health, including quality of housing, violence, poverty, and access to fresh food.

Provided by the Kaiser Family Foundation (KFF).

The Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) is the agency within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services that leads public health efforts to advance the behavioral health of the nation. SAMHSA's mission is to reduce the impact of substance abuse and mental illness on America's communities.

BJS collects, analyzes, publishes, and disseminates information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government.

BLS is the principal fact-finding agency for the Federal Government in the broad field of labor economics and statistics.

There is much information available through this site. Of particular note are the following links under Census 2000: People, News, and Special Topics; American FactFinder; Subjects A-Z; FedStats; Statistical Abstract; and State & County QuickFacts.

FedStats supports a community of practice for over 100 agencies engaged in the production and dissemination of official federal statistics, and provides the public with a showcase of information, tools and news related to official federal statistics.

The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.

Provides access to business and employment statistics, demographic data, education data sources, geographical and environmental resources, health and insurance data resources, household economic statistics, immigration and migration economic statistics, and poverty and welfare statistics resources.

A cooperative program between the states and the Census Bureau that was created in 1978 to make data available locally to the public through a network of state agencies, universities, libraries, and regional and local governments.

Connecticut statistics.Topics include aging, census, children, crime, economy, education, general, health, housing, libraries, public finance, and social indicators.

AdvanceCT has created interactive reports of demographic and economic information for each of Connecticut’s 169 municipalities. Containing detail about population, major employers, education, fiscal issues, labor force and housing, these town profiles are continuously updated as new data becomes available.

HartfordInfo.org is discontinuing the addition of new materials. The site will continue to be available on the web, but will not be adding materials or updating broken links. The date range of materials is from January 2004 to October 31, 2013.

United Way of Connecticut’s goal is to help meet the needs of Connecticut residents by providing information, education and connection to services.

The Gender Data Portal is the World Bank Group’s comprehensive source for the latest sex-disaggregated data and gender statistics covering demography, education, health, access to economic opportunities, public life and decision-making, and agency.

This series comprises two types of data collections: a national survey of housing units, and surveys of housing units in selected metropolitan areas. The interviews cover core questions that are repeated each year, and an additional set of questions on recurring or one-time supplemental topics.