Speech, Language & Hearing Sciences Subject Guide — Background Information

This textbook aligns the basic science of anatomy and physiology with the applied art and science of communication disorders.

Provides comprehensive coverage of acquired motor speech and language disorders occurring in children in terms of their neuropathological basis, neurology, clinical symptomatology, prognosis, assessment, and treatment.

The Handbook of Child Language Disorders provides an in-depth, comprehensive, and state-of-the-art review of current research concerning the nature, assessment, and remediation of language disorders in children. The book includes chapters focusing on specific groups of childhood disorders (SLI, autism, genetic syndromes, dyslexia, hearing impairment); the linguistic, perceptual, genetic, neurobiological, and cognitive bases of these disorders; and the context of language disorders (bilingual, across dialects, and across languages).

Written for graduate students and practicing clinicians, this book provides comprehensive knowledge about understanding and conducting clinical research. Specifically, readers will learn to understand the strengths and weaknesses of different research methodologies, apply the results of research to clinical practice and decision making, and understand the importance of research ethics.

This volume provides a comprehensive and in-depth handbook of qualitative research in the field of communication disorders. It introduces and illustrates the wide range of qualitative paradigms that have been used in recent years to investigate various aspects of communication disorders. The first part of the Handbook introduces in some detail the concept of qualitative research and its application to communication disorders, and describes the main qualitative research approaches. The contributions are forward-looking rather than merely giving an overview of their topic. The second part illustrates these approaches through a series of case studies of different communication disorders using qualitative methods of research. This Handbook is an essential resource for senior undergraduate and graduate students, researchers and practitioners, in communication disorders and related fields.

A culmination of strategies to address issues expressed by students, this new textbook explores concerns such as finding topics, approaching research projects, constructing research projects, and more.

Introduction to American Deaf Culture is the only comprehensive textbook that provides a broad, yet in-depth, exploration of how Deaf people are best understood from a cultural perspective, with coverage of topics such as how culture is defined, how the concept of culture can be applied to the Deaf experience, and how Deaf culture has evolved over the years. Among the issues included are an analysis of various segments of the Deaf community, Deaf cultural norms, the tension between the Deaf and disabled communities, Deaf art and literature (both written English and ASL forms), thesolutions being offered by the Deaf community for effective living as Deaf individuals, and an analysis of the universality of the Deaf experience, including the enculturation process that many Deaf people undergo as they develop healthy identities.