Chemistry Subject Guide — Chemical Information

Welcome to Common Chemistry™ from Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS), a web resource that contains CAS Registry Numbers for approximately 7,900 chemicals of widespread general public interest.

Updated list of where to find MSDS sheets on the internet.

Allows searching by their product number. In addition, there is also web toolbox, structure searching, and “Ask a Chemist”.

TOXNET content has been integrated into other PubMed resources.

From the Pesticide Action Network (PAN) of North America. It is searchable by chemicals, products, poisoning diagnostic information, and chemicals responsible for aquatic ecotoxicity.

ChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 63 million structures from hundreds of data sources.

Chemical and physical property data on over 40000 compounds.

BRENDA is one of the most comprehensive enzyme information sources in life science, with convenient and easy searchable data extracted from the primary literature:classification and nomenclature; reaction and specificity; functional and kinetic parameters; organism-related information; enzyme structure and stability; supplemented with text-mining tools for Source/Tissues and Localization; Disease-related enzyme information; Kinetic values and expressions

Comprehensive Inorganic Chemistry II includes biological inorganic chemistry, solid state chemistry, materials chemistry, and nanoscience.

PubChem is an open chemistry database at the National Institutes of Health (NIH). “Open” means that you can put your scientific data in PubChem and that others may use it. We collect information on chemical structures, identifiers, chemical and physical properties, biological activities, patents, health, safety, toxicity data, and many others. Since the launch in 2004, PubChem has become a key chemical information resource for scientists, students, and the general public.

The NIST Chemistry WebBook provides users with easy access to chemical and physical property data for chemical species through the internet. The data provided in the site are from collections maintained by the NIST Standard Reference Data Program and outside contributors. Data in the WebBook system are organized by chemical species. The WebBook system allows users to search for chemical species by various means.

ChemBlink is an open source of chemical information available to the public online since 2005. It also serves as a platform to promote products for worldwide suppliers.

A finding aid for thermodynamic and physical properties data, from the University of Texas.

IR spectra for over 16,000 compounds, Mass spectra for over 33,000 compounds, and UV/Vis spectra for over 1600 compounds.

For organic structures and their nuclear magnetic resonance (nmr) spectra. Allows for spectrum prediction (13C, 1H and other nuclei) as well as for searching spectra, structures and other properties. Also features peer-reviewed submission of datasets by its users.

Integrated spectral database system for organic compounds,which includes 6 different types of spectra under a directory of the compounds. The six spectra are as follows, an electron impact Mass spectrum (EI-MS), a Fourier transform infrared spectrum (FT-IR), a 1H nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR) spectrum, a 13C NMR spectrum, a laser Raman spectrum, and an electron spin resonance (ESR) spectrum.