Best Education Databases
The following databases are the best for research in the subject area of education.
Some search tips are as follows:
- Consider using both keywords and subject terms
- Look at the subject terms in your search results; these are usually hyperlinks and can help you find other resources on your topic
- Don't limit your search to only one database or set of search results
Key Education Databases
- ERIC (EBSCO)
Indexes scholarly journals and magazines in all areas of education, from early intervention (birth to age three), preschool, K-12 (public and private), and higher education. Includes bilingual, special, gifted, and computer education.
- PsycInfo (APA PsycInfo)
Scholarly articles in psychology, plus medicine, psychiatry, education, social work, criminology, social science, business, & organizational behavior.
- Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
Covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
- Professional Development Collection
Full-text articles about education, covering children's health and development, pedagogical theory, and current topics in education.
- Teacher Reference Center
This link opens in a new window
Includes article abstracts for various teacher and educational administrator journals and magazines.
- Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print
Information about and reviews of all English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas.
Google Scholar
- Configure Google ScholarAccess UConn materials from Google Scholar. Check off UConn-UConn Full Text and Save
How ERIC Selects Sources
ERIC builds a strong education research collection by continuously seeking out new sources of rigorous content and adding them to their collection. If you are from UConn, use ERIC from Ebsco.
Related Research Databases
- ABI/INFORM Collection
- This link opens in a new window
Includes articles, dissertations, news content and reports covering the various areas of business, advertising, insurance, public administration, real estate, and telecommunications
- Academic Search Premier
- This link opens in a new window
Includes articles from scholarly journals and popular magazines covering a wide variety of disciplines with the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
- Business Source Complete
Comprehensive coverage of business journals.
- EconLit
Article abstracts for international literature on economics covering economic development, fiscal and monetary theory, business and public finance, regional and urban economics.
- Factiva
Access to global news and business information articles.
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses GlobalIndexes doctoral dissertations completed in the U.S. Includes some master's theses and foreign language dissertations.
- ScopusScholarly journal articles and conference papers on any topic in science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts & humanities. Includes cited references and h-index information.
Find a Journal / Citation
- Ulrichsweb: Global Serials DirectoryIncludes journal information plus reviews from Choice and Library Journal including publisher, dates of publication, and subject areas covered.
