Topic: UConn Student Activism in Archives & Special Collections

Student activists staying at the Dove Tower UCommune Encampment or just passing through made signs with markers and chalk depicting slogans for a free-palestine, ending the genocide by Israel, and divestment from the UConn administration's ties to weapon's manufacturing industries in Connecticut which are supplying munitions to the Israeli Defense Force for use in Gaza. The bulk of materials collected by Nathan Henault ('25) include cardboard signs that were made at the encampment or brought there as well as zines which were created using materials from the UConn Library Liberated Zine Zone Maker kits. Archivist Graham Stinnett and Librarian Rhonda Kauffman tabled at the encampment (Friday April 26th) and encouraged donation of zines to the community library box which was created by Lily Luo, graduate student in the Political Science Department and Stinnett. Materials were added to the community library box throughout the encampment and were occasionally removed to a dry location from rain. On April 29th, rumors once again circulated that the police would make arrests the following day and in attempt to preserve what he could Nathan Henault gathered these materials into a box he fashioned into a folder marked "Archivists for a Free Palestine" and brought them to his dorm room before returning to the encampment. Other materials collected were claimed by members of the UConn 26 at the UConn Police Department and given to Henault for their collection.

386 envelopes of 35mm strip negatives and contact sheets of photographs Dr. Goldbaum took of campus activities and events while a student (1967-1969) and as staff photographer for Joseph Duffey's 1970 campaign for Senate.

Poster's used at a demonstration against "Lockheed Martin University Day" (9/27/2018), a recognized celebration by the University and its relationship with the weapons manufacturing corporation. The protest occured at the Waugh Sundial across from the quad where a Lockheed Martin black hawk helicopter and a non-military helicopter were landed.

Rufus A. Blanshard was an Emeritus Professor of English at the University of Connecticut. He was involved with combating racism at the university during the 1970s and 1980s, and was influential in introducing an alternative classroom curriculum to the University. Materials in the collection are comprised of his personal papers, and include documents related to his civil rights work.

This folder contains a schedule for a critical appraisal of the University of Connecticut conducted by University faculty, as well as an academic paper written about stuent activism in the 1960's pertaining to the Vietnam war.

The collection contains the administrative records, correspondence, legal documents, fliers, notes, and publications of the Storrs Draft Information Committee. The records contain information associated with draft counseling, draft resistance, non-violent protest, peace movement groups, and selective service at the University of Connecticut during the Vietnam War.

Documents student protests, takeovers and meetings from 1968-1974.

The collection contains the white paper "The Continuing Crisis at UConn" and background materials.

The collection contains articles, publications, and information associated with the principles of the IDC collected and/or created by Burns Crookston, Jane Fried and members of the Community. Additional materials, stories, photographs and interviews have been added by the individuals who were members of the IDC at UConn.

Posters, documents and buttons which draw language and inspiration from the #MeToo movement of the early 21st century. This feminist student organization used these signs and buttons at a rally coordinated to denounce rape culture on campus and to affirm victims of gender based violence by believing them.