Aeon User Guide — Reading Room Policies

Archives & Special Collections | John P. McDonald Reading Room: Terms & Conditions 

Rules Governing the Use of Materials at Archives & Special Collections: 

By booking an appointment at UConn Archive & Special Collections, you agree to the rules set in place which govern the use of our materials. Permission to examine materials will be granted to all persons who complete ASC's registration form, provide valid picture identification, and agree to abide by the following rules:  

• Permission is granted subject to restrictions that may have been placed on the material by its donors or depositors.  

• Access to unprocessed collections or unprocessed portions of partially processed collections will be at the discretion of Archives & Special Collections staff.  

• In certain cases, you may be required to use reproductions when such are available.  

• When requesting items, a separate call slip for each group of materials will be completed.  

• Coats, briefcases, notebooks, purses, and other personal possessions are prohibited in the reading room. Lockers are available for use.  

• You may bring pencils, notepaper, laptops, cameras, and cell phones into the reading room. Please take cell phone calls outside of the reading room. All belongings taken into the reading room are subject to inspection by the staff.  

• Eating and drinking are prohibited in the reading room and reference area.   

Use of Materials:  

• All materials must be used in the John P. McDonald Reading Room.  

• Researchers are responsible for safeguarding any materials made available for use.  

• Materials may not be leaned on, written on, folded, traced, or handled in any way likely to damage them.  

• Researchers are asked to maintain the established order of materials in folders and boxes and to notify staff if materials are misfiled.  

• Materials should be carefully replaced in folders and boxes so that edges do not protrude.  

Permission to Publish:  

• Permission to examine materials is not an authorization to publish them.  

• Researchers who plan eventual publication of their work should inquire about possible copyright restrictions. A separate written application for permission to publish must be made to Archives & Special Collections identifying the items to be published. Further permissions to publish must be obtained from the owner(s) of the copyright.  

• Exclusive rights to examine or publish materials will not be granted.  

• Each researcher must assume full responsibility for any legal questions that may arise as a result of use of materials.  

• A free copy of all publications is to be presented to Archives & Special Collections as soon as the work is published.  

Reproductions:  

• Reproductions are made available for research, teaching and private study.  

• Reproductions are made available for one-time use for the purpose stated in this agreement.  

• Each researcher must assume full responsibility for any legal questions that may arise as a result of use of the reproductions.  

• Reproductions may not be further copied or made available to another researcher or institution without prior permission.  

• Reproductions will not be made if materials might be damaged by the reproduction process or if reproduction has been restricted by donor agreement.  

Self-service Photography: 

Self-service photography for personal reference purposes is permitted for certain collections. Photographs taken in the Reading Room are subject to copyright, privacy, and data protection legislation. Researchers are responsible for obtaining permission to publish or use reproductions for commercial purposes from all relevant copyright holders. 

We do not allow: 

• Handheld scanners (including scanning apps on smartphones) 

• Bridge or super-zoom compact cameras 

• Professional photography equipment 

• Tripods 

Citing Materials from ASC’s Collections: 

The location of materials quoted or referred to in published or unpublished papers should be accurately and precisely cited. Generally, the citation for manuscript and archival items follows this example: [Item Description, #: #], [Collection title]. Archives & Special Collections, University of Connecticut Library.  

Examples:  

• David Laine to Edward Ingraham, January 5, 1945, Folder 65, Edward Ingraham Papers. Archives & Special Collections, University of Connecticut Library.  

• Trial brief: “1933-36 Preparation for Aggression”, Folder 7208, Thomas J. Dodd Papers. Archives & Special Collections, University of Connecticut Library.  

• Original mss. sent to printer and returned by E. Wilentz, Folder 350, Charles Olson Research Collection. Archives & Special Collections, University of Connecticut Library.