Aeon User Guide — Searching Finding Aids

Finding aids include many sections with different types of information about an archival collection. At the top of the finding aid you will find the collection title and collection number.

Below is an overview of some of the most important components of a finding aid. 

• Scope and Content-- provides basic background information on the collection, including the types of materials included, the individuals represented in the collection, and any topics covered by the collection. 

• Dates—the date range of the materials in the collection.

• Access—information about the availability of the materials for research use.

• Restrictions on Use—if any materials are restricted for any reason, that will be noted here.

• History—provides additional information on the history of the organization that the records document (for collections of an organization). 

• Biography-- provides information about the people and organizations represented in the collection (for collections of an individual or family). 

• Extent-- provides information about the size of the collection in linear feet. 

• Language-- indicates the languages of the materials.

Searching from the UConn Library Homepage

1. Select the “Archives” option above the search bar.
2. Enter your search terms into the search bar and click the "Search" button.
3. On the search results page, you can click on the drop-down menu next to the Sort button or use the Refine Search feature to narrow your search as you see fit. For example, you can sort by Relevance, Title, Year, or Identifier. You can also refine your search using different parameters, such as additional key words, year span, and record type.

Searching from the ArchivesSpace Homepage

1. Enter your search terms then, select the record types you would like to search for. 
2. You can further refine your search by choosing which field to search within. Choosing keyword will show results from any collections in which your search term(s) appear. If you are interested in a certain time period you can enter a date range here.