Popular Databases
If you have an idea of what fields of study your research pertains to, it is recommended that you consult the corresponding Subject Guide for targeted recommendations-- what follows is a list of broadly useful databases popular with our student body.
- Academic Search Premier
This link opens in a new window
Includes articles from scholarly journals and popular magazines covering a wide variety of disciplines with the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
- Business Source Complete
Comprehensive coverage of business journals.
- JSTORScholarly journals in many academic fields, especially arts, literature, humanities, and biology.
- OED: Oxford English DictionaryContains current and historical definitions and synonyms for words in the English language, their correct pronunciations, and how they've changed over time.
- PsycInfo (APA PsycInfo)
Scholarly articles in psychology, plus medicine, psychiatry, education, social work, criminology, social science, business, & organizational behavior.
- ScopusScholarly journal articles and conference papers on any topic in science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts & humanities. Includes cited references and h-index information.
- StatistaProvides statistics on media, the environment, business and industry, sports, communication, politics, health care and more. Geographic coverage is worldwide, with particular emphasis on the United States, China, and European Union countries.
If you are looking for Research Data, consider using the following resources!
- ICPSRAccess to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction covering political science, demographics, history, economics, and international relations.
- iPollIncludes polls and data survey results from academic, commercial and media survey organizations such as Gallup Organization and Harris Interactive.
What is Peer Review ?
Peer review (also known as "Refereed") happens in all parts of academia. Peer review has developed over many years as the primary system to make sure accurate, reliable and original research findings are published in the journal literature. The following infographic outlines that process, used with permission:
How to Search a Database
Knowing where to look for research articles and available data for your research can be tough. The following resources listed in the columns below can help you to narrow your search to databases that are go-to resources in researching published scholarly content in your discipline of study and resources for finding data that can be utilized in your own research.
For a complete listing of databases ear-marked for research by discipline, check out the Databases A-Z listing of offerings.
Not sure how to search a database? See the following video for tips!
