- Primary Sources for Humanities and Social Sciences
83 Databases Found for:Primary Sources for Humanities and Social Sciences
A
Access to collection of African American newspapers covering cultural life and history during the 1800s and includes first-hand reports of the major events.
Includes magazines and journals articles from 1691 to1877 covering topics such as Black and African American history and culture, agriculture, children's literature, education, medicine, religion, science and technology, the trades, and women's literature.
Includes magazines and journals articles from 1691 to1877 covering topics such as Black and African American history and culture, agriculture, children's literature, education, medicine, religion, science and technology, the trades, and women's literature.
Photos from the Associated Press's 50 million image print and negative library.
Photos from the Associated Press's 50 million image print and negative library.
Includes articles, manuscripts, images, and correspondence on social, political, health, and legal issues impacting LGBTQ communities globally; sex and sexuality; and related issues. Library has access to all five collections: LGBTQ History and Culture since 1940 part I-II, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century, International Perspectives on LGBTQ Activism and Culture, and L'Enfer de la Bibliotheque Nationale de France.
Includes articles, pamphlets, and ebooks covering U.S. Hispanic history, literature and culture from the late 19th and 20th centuries, with a focus on civil rights, religious thought, and the growing presence of women writers. Content is in both English and Spanish.
Includes articles, pamphlets, and ebooks covering U.S. Hispanic history, literature and culture from the late 19th and 20th centuries, with a focus on civil rights, religious thought, and the growing presence of women writers. Content is in both English and Spanish.
Full text coverage from 1931 to 2010 of the Atlanta Daily World.
B
Digital archive for the Baltimore Afro-American from 1893 to 2010
Offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue.
Includes London national newspapers, English regional papers, home country newspapers from Scotland, Northern Ireland and Wales, and titles in specialist areas such as Victorian radicalism and Chartism from 1732 to 1950.
Through June 30, 2023, unlimited users have access to the British Periodical Collection III & IV. Continued access beyond that date is not guaranteed and is subject to a purchase decision by the UConn Library.
Access to the Burlington Free Press (Burlington, Vermont) from 1848 to 2007.
Includes newspapers, pamphlets, and proclamations gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817).
C
Archive of domestic and foreign newspapers on microfilm, which can be borrowed through the library's Interlibrary Loan service.
Includes articles, editorials, comics and ads from 12 English-language Chinese newspapers from 1832 to 1953 including North China Herald, Canton Times, China Press, Peking Daily News, Peking Gazette, and Shanghai Times.
D
Complete record of surviving Old English except for some variant manuscripts of individual texts.
Through June 30, 2024, unlimited users have access to this material. Continued access beyond that date is not guaranteed and is subject to a purchase decision by the UConn Library. Latin American collection set will continue to be available after 6/30/23.
E
Scanned newspapers published between 1690 – 1922.
Full text access to nearly every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere between 1475-1700.
G
H
Full-text of the Hartford Courant from 1764-1998.
Full text of the Hartford Courant from 1992 - present.
Full text to various Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries.
Search for historical articles in a variety of major American and international newspapers published between 1764-2019. See more info for complete list of newspapers included.
Includes: Atlantic Constitution (1868-1984), Atlanta Daily World (1931-2010), Baltimore Afro-American (1893-2010), Baltimore Sun (1837-1998), Boston Globe (1872-1993), Chicago Defender (1909-2010), Chicago Tribune (1849-2014), Chinese Newspapers Collection (1832-1953), Cleveland Call & Post (1934-2010), The Guardian and the Observer (1791-2003), Hartford Courant (1764-1998), Irish Times and the Weekly Irish Times (1859-2022), Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2010), Los Angeles Times (1881-2000), Louisville Defender (1951-2010), Michigan Chronicle (1939-2010), New York Amsterdam News (1922-2010), New York Times (1851-2020), New York Tribune / Herald Times (1841-1962), Norfolk Journal and Guide (1916-2010), Philadelphia Inquirer (1860-2001), Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2010), Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2010), Times of India (1838-2011), Vermont Collection, Wall Street Journal (1889-2012), Washington Post (1877-2008)
Available collections of fully searchable colonial and nineteenth-century U.S. newspapers: African American Newspapers, The Lily, National Citizen and Ballot Box 1876-1881, and Pennsylvania Gazette Folio IV.
I
Full text with images from the worlds first illustrated news-magazine, London News Illustrated, from 1842-2003.
Alternative press publications produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals and the New Left, Native peoples, antiwar activists, Black Power advocates, Latino/as, LGBT activists, right-wing extremists, and more.
Includes articles from North American Indigenous newspapers from the United States and Canada, including Alaska, Arizona, British Columbia, California, Nevada and Oklahoma, from 1828 to 2016.
L
Provides access to newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries from Argentina, Brazil, Bolivia, Belize, Costa Rica, Chile, Cuba, El Salvador, Guatemala, Haiti, Mexico, Nicaragua, Peru, and Venezuela from 1822-1922.
Full text for various Latin American newspapers and newswires covering international and Latin American regional topics. Includes titles such as El Universal (Mexico City), O Globo (Brazil), La Nación (Argentina), and El Mercurio (Chile). Languages include Spanish, Portuguese, and English.
Access to the online archive of the Lily (1849-1856), a temperance and abolitionist newspaper, and the first newspaper for women.
M
N
Searchable archive of The Nation Magazine, 1865-2020.
Searchable archive of The Nation Magazine, 1865-2020.
Access to National and Ballot Box, a monthly journal deeply involved in the roots of the American feminist movement from 1876-1881.
Digitized version of the New York Amsterdam News (1922-2010), one of the U.S.'s leading Black newspapers and one of New York's most influential Black-owned institutions.
Access to The New York Times from 1851-2020.
Cross search of 5 databases: the Hartford Courant (1992-present); Los Angeles Times (1985-present); New York Times (1997-present); Wall Street Journal (1982-present); and the Washington Post (1987-present).
Full text access to 17th and 18th century English newspapers gathered by printer/collector John Nichols (1745-1826).
P
Full-text access to this Philadelphia newspaper from 1728 through 1800.
R
S
Through June 30, 2023, unlimited users have access to this material. Continued access beyond that date is not guaranteed and is subject to a purchase decision by the UConn Library.
Includes Part I: Debates over Slavery and Abolition, part II: Slave Trade in the Atlantic World, part III: The Institution of Slavery, and part IV: The Age of Emancipation.
Includes the following nine State Papers collections:
Part I: The Tudors, 1509-1603: State Papers Domestic
Part II: The Tudors, 1509-1603: State Papers Foreign, Scotland, Borders, Ireland and Registers of the Privy Council
Part III: The Stuarts and Commonwealth, James I - Anne I, 1603-1714: State Papers Domestic
Part IV: The Stuarts and Commonwealth, James I - Anne I, 1603-1714: State Papers Foreign, Ireland and Registers of the Privy Council
Eighteenth Century, 1714-1782, Part 1: State Papers Domestic, Military, Naval and Registers of the Privy Council
Eighteenth Century, 1714-1782, Part 2: State Papers Foreign, Low Countries and Germany
Eighteenth Century, 1714-1782, Part 3: State Papers Foreign, Western Europe
Eighteenth Century, 1714-1782, Part 4: State Papers Foreign, Scandinavia, Eastern Europe and Turkey
The Stuart and the Cumberland Papers from the Royal Archives, Windsor Castle
Includes content from UConn Archives and Special Collections.
T
Provides a dual language interface, Spanish and English.
Includes all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos from the Times of London.
Access to the Times Literary Supplement from 1902 to 2019.
Access to the full text of the Times of India newspaper.
V
W
Access to the Wall Street Journal newspaper from 1889 to 1991.
The most frequently-used databases
Includes articles from scholarly journals and popular magazines covering a wide variety of disciplines with the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Comprehensive coverage of business journals.
Scholarly articles in psychology, plus medicine, psychiatry, education, social work, criminology, social science, business, & organizational behavior.
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Access to articles, manuscripts, and books covering the history of Latin America and the Caribbean from the 16th to the 20th century. Through June 30, 2025, unlimited users have access to this material. Continued access beyond that date is not guaranteed and is subject to a purchase decision by the UConn Library.
Access to articles, manuscripts, images, and videos covering events, people, and trends from the mid-1800s to 20th century. Through June 30, 2025, unlimited users have access to this material. Continued access beyond that date is not guaranteed and is subject to a purchase decision by the UConn Library.
Access to manuscripts from British authors that include poems, plays, novels, and diaries. Through June 30, 2025, unlimited users have access to this material. Continued access beyond that date is not guaranteed and is subject to a purchase decision by the UConn Library.
Access to the Daily Mail newspaper from 1896 to 2016. Through June 30, 2025, unlimited users have access to this material. Continued access beyond that date is not guaranteed and is subject to a purchase decision by the UConn Library.
Access to articles, manuscripts, monographs, and photographs covering the history of Native peoples from the 17th to 20th century. Through June 30, 2025, unlimited users have access to this material. Continued access beyond that date is not guaranteed and is subject to a purchase decision by the UConn Library.
Access to the Mirror, a British newspaper, from 1903 to 2000. Through June 30, 2025, unlimited users have access to this material. Continued access beyond that date is not guaranteed and is subject to a purchase decision by the UConn Library.
Access to the issues from the National Geographic Magazine from 1888 to 2020. Through June 30, 2025, unlimited users have access to this material. Continued access beyond that date is not guaranteed and is subject to a purchase decision by the UConn Library.
Access to manuscripts, maps, articles, and photographs covering history, literature, and culture in the 19th century. Library has access to several collections: British Theatre, Music, and Literature, High & Low; Women: Transnational Networks; and Children's Literature and Childhood. Through June 30, 2025, unlimited users have access to this material. Continued access beyond that date is not guaranteed and is subject to a purchase decision by the UConn Library.
Access to articles from several magazines published during the 19th century covering life in the UK. Our access includes Part 1 (lifestyle and women's magazines) and Part 2 (magazines published across the British Empire covering economic and related topics of British expansionism). Through June 30, 2025, unlimited users have access to this material. Continued access beyond that date is not guaranteed and is subject to a purchase decision by the UConn Library.
Provides an annotated bibliography covering works related to biblical studies.
Access to the Times Educational Supplement newspaper, focused on topics and issues related to education for teachers, from 1910 to 2000. Through June 30, 2025, unlimited users have access to this material. Continued access beyond that date is not guaranteed and is subject to a purchase decision by the UConn Library.
Access to primary source materials including pamphlets, correspondence, posters, and articles covering women's lives from 1914-1918. Through June 30, 2025, unlimited users have access to this material. Continued access beyond that date is not guaranteed and is subject to a purchase decision by the UConn Library.
Access to articles, manuscripts, books, and photographs covering women's lives from the 19th to 20th centuries. Through June 30, 2025, unlimited users have access to this material. Continued access beyond that date is not guaranteed and is subject to a purchase decision by the UConn Library.
