Overview
This page offers your resources useful for your SOCI 3821W: Social Movements research projects. If you have questions or need help with your assignment, feel free to contact me anytime.
Databases/Journal Articles
Databases: The following databases are good starting point to search for academic/scholarly articles on social movements. Be specific about which social movement or group you want to search and use quotation marks (" ") when searching phrases, e.g. "Black Lives Matter", "Suffragette Movement", etc. to get better results.
-
Academic Search PremierScholarly journal articles and popular magazines covering all topics. A great database for beginning searches. 1980s-present (dates may vary).
-
Women's Studies International (EBSCO)This databases focus on women's studies and includes articles that deal with women involvements with different social movements
-
JSTOREssential scholarly journals in many academic fields, especially arts, literature, humanities, and biology. Some back to early 1900s; most recent 2-5 years not available.
-
Google ScholarNot finding any article through our databases? Try using Google Scholar! Google Scholars is more forgiving and expand your searches to include variations of a word, which allow for more results to appear. You can then identify the most successful keywords and use them in our subject specific databases.
Journals: You can search specific journals that specialized in social movements research to find more in-depth articles on your topic. You can search within a journal to find articles on specific social movements.
-
Social Movement StudiesSocial Movement Studies is an international and inter-disciplinary journal providing a forum for academic debate and analysis of extra-parliamentary political, cultural and social movements throughout the world.
-
Mobilization: An International QuarterlyMobilization is an international journal of research and theory specializing in social movements, protests and collective behavior.
-
Interface: A Journal For and About Social MovementsAn Open Access (OA) peer-review multi-lingual journal for and about Social Movements. The journal's board is comprised of both activists and academic interested in to develop analysis and knowledge by both movement participants and academics who are developing movement-relevant theory and research.
-
Social ChangeSocial Change publishes problem-oriented, empirically-grounded analytical papers, theoretical essays and policy discussions in the field of social change and development, in as non-technical language as possible. A multidisciplinary journal with a wide-ranging readership including people in academia, social movements, NGOs and policy-making sectors.
Where to Find Full-Text for Articles and Chapters?
In a database, look for
UConn Full Text will help you
1. Get the full text online if UConn subscribes to it
2. Request what we do not own through Interlibrary Services
3. Request scans of articles and chapters we own in print through Interlibrary Services
In Google Scholar, click on the link "UConn Full Text"!
Other options:
- If the article is from JSTOR, you can click the title link directly
- If the article is from an Open Access journal, can click the title link directly
Books (Selection)
Books are excellent sources to learn a topic in-depth. This selection of books focuses specifically on social movements at the national and international level. If you don't know much about social movements or don't know what movements to focus on, check these books to help narrow down your topic. There are other books about social movements in electronic and print formats available at the library. You can search for them using the Library's General Search. Check the Where to Find Articles, Books, and Videos Page to learn how to search for them.
-
The Blackwell Companion to Social Movements by ISBN: 0631226699Publication Date: 2004-02-13This book covers a wide array of topics in the field of social movement studies. -
Players and Arenas: The Interactive Dynamics of Protest by ISBN: 9789089647085Publication Date: 2015-06-15Players and Arenas brings together a diverse group of experts to examine the interactions between political protestors and the many strategic players they encounter, such as cultural institutions, religious organizations, and the mass media--as well as potential allies, competitors, recruits, and funders. -
We Make Our Own History: Marxism and Social Movements in the Twilight of Neoliberalism by ISBN: 9781783711901Publication Date: 2014-01-01This book analyzes a "movement from above" (neoliberalism) and its interaction/conflict with movements from below, also known as grassroots movements during the 20th and 21st century from a Marxist perspective. -
Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice by ISBN: 9781412918121Publication Date: 2007-04-13This encyclopedia is designed to give understanding to the topics, concepts and ideas which have motivated and shaped the fields of activism, civil engagement and social justice as well as offering short biographies of all the major thinkers and leaders who have influenced, and continue to influence, the study of activism.
Newspapers & Other Primary Sources
-
Newspapers through ProQuestTo find the most current news regarding social movements search our newspapers' databases. For a successful search, use the name of the social movement and/or group in quotation marks, e.g. "Black Lives Matter", "white nationalism", etc.
Newspapers available: Boston Globe, Christian Science Monitor, Hartford Courant, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, 1982 and the Washington Post -
Independent VoicesAnother type of primary sources are alternative press publications (journals, magazines, newsletters, etc.) produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals and the New Left, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative magazines. They are useful to understand their ideology, rhetoric, grievances and what actions they called out to their members.
-
AP Images (Updated Daily)If you are looking for images of social protests this is the right database to search! Photos are from the Associated Press 50 million image print and negative library. Includes photos from the past hour.
-
Women and Social Movements in the United StatesCollections of primary materials. Includes a Dictionary of Social Movements. Documents cover movements such as the Women's Suffrage Movement and the Guerrilla Girls. 1600-2000.
