Find Articles through Databases
Where do I Start?
In general, Academic Search Premier through EBSCOhost is a good starting place for finding articles on a variety of subjects.
If you are looking for criticism or background about a particular work or author, you may opt for Literature Databases listed in the Databases A-Z: Literature.
Databases for General Topics
- Academic Search Premier
This link opens in a new window
Includes articles from scholarly journals and popular magazines covering a wide variety of disciplines with the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
- CQ ResearcherIn-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.
- Newspapers through ProQuest
Cross search of 5 databases: the Hartford Courant (1992-present); Los Angeles Times (1985-present); New York Times (1997-present); Wall Street Journal (1982-present); and the Washington Post (1987-present).
- Issues & ControversiesSummarizes current issues and controversies in political, economic, social and scientific topics.
- Databases A-Z: GeneralA list of UConn Library databases that are useful for searching a broad range of research topics.
Exploring Article Databases
- Exploring Article DatabasesA brief explanation of databases and how to find the databases available from the UConn Library.
- Databases A - Z ListDatabases available from UConn Library by Subject or by Database name. Access using your NetID if off campus
Databases for Literature
- MLA International Bibliography
Scholarly articles, ebooks, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies in literature and linguistics.
- Gale LiteratureIncludes poems, stories, novels, articles on literature, biographies of authors, literary criticism, and literary movements.
Getting Full Text Articles and Chapters
In a database, look for
UConn Full Text will help you
1. Get the full text online if UConn subscribes to it
2. Request what we do not own through Interlibrary Services
3. Request scans of articles and chapters we own in print through Interlibrary Services
