Skip to main content

_ENGL 1010-1011 - Regional Campuses — Class Assignments: Stamford

This guide focuses on research resources for English classes at the Regionals with information for specific assignments.

Class Assignments

Report on the issues in The Social Dilemma

Search Google.com for web sites and articles. Make sure you understand what kind of source you use.

  • technology political polarization
  • persuasive technology 

To find books & articles, use keywords in the Library's General Search, i.e.:

  • internet safety
  • online privacy "social media"
  • Connecticut

To narrow results:

  • limit to scholarly/peer reviewed articles or books
  • limit by subjects that are relevant to you
  • understand citations: is it a book or article?
  • identify the location of the book: is it in Stamford, online, or at another library?

Access full text:

  • Click on Online accessDownload PDF, or Available online for articles and then click on a database or collection
  • Click on Available at... for books in print
  • Request books from other UConn libraries after signing in with your NetID

Save search results:

  • Add items to your Favorites after signing in with your NetID
  • Open Favorites and select all to export to RefWorks

Finding Articles

Use this database:

Enter your keywords and hit Search. Refine your results by clicking on Books on the left hand side.

Access full text:

  • Look for PDF or HTML full text links, or Click on UConn Full Text to open up a window. Click on the title in blue of full text source.

  • If "No full text available," click on Request this article through Interlibrary Services.

  • Sign in with your NetID.

Save search results:

  • Add items to your folder

  • Access folder (at top of page), select all and click on Export or Email.

  • Send to RefWorks or other citation manager

   

Search Google.com for web sites and articles.

  • protests "gay rights"
  • "social media" elections "united states"

To find books & articles, use keywords in the Library's General Search, i.e.:

  • internet safety
  • online privacy "social media"
  • Connecticut

To narrow results:

  • limit to scholarly/peer reviewed articles
  • limit by subjects that are relevant to you
  • understand citations: is it a book or article?
  • identify the location of the book: is it in Stamford, online, or at another library?

Access full text:

  • Click on Online accessDownload PDF, or Available online for articles and then click on a database or collection
  • Click on Available at... for books in print
  • Request books from other UConn libraries after signing in with your NetID

Save search results:

  • Add items to your Favorites after signing in with your NetID
  • Open Favorites and select all to export to RefWorks

Search Google.com for web sites and articles.

  • protests "gay rights"
  • "social media" elections "united states"

To find books & articles, use keywords in the Library's General Search, i.e.:

  • internet safety
  • online privacy "social media"
  • Connecticut

To narrow results:

  • limit to scholarly/peer reviewed articles
  • limit by subjects that are relevant to you
  • understand citations: is it a book or article?
  • identify the location of the book: is it in Stamford, online, or at another library?

Access full text:

  • Click on Online access, Download PDF, or Available online for articles and then click on a database or collection
  • Click on Available at... for books in print
  • Request books from other UConn libraries after signing in with your NetID

Save search results:

  • Add items to your Favorites after signing in with your NetID
  • Open Favorites and select all to export to RefWorks

Also try this general academic database:

 

Use General Search for articles, books, and more

1. To find books & articles, use keywords in the Library's General Search, i.e.:

  • internet safety
  • online privacy "social media"
  • Connecticut

To narrow results:

  • limit to scholarly/peer reviewed articles
  • limit by subjects that are relevant to you
  • understand citations: is it a book or article?
  • identify the location of the book: is it in Stamford, online, or at another library?

Access full text:

  • Click on View Online for articles and then click on a database or collection
  • Click on Find on Shelf for books in print
  • Request books from other UConn libraries after signing in with your NetID

Save search results:

  • Add items to your Favorites after signing in with your NetID
  • Open Favorites and select all to export to RefWorks.

2. Search Google.com for web sites and articles.

  • protests "gay rights"
  • "social media" elections "united states"

Using Databases to Find Articles

  • You can search in both databases at the same time. Open one, select Choose databases at the top, and then add the other.
  • Enter the name of your short story in one box and the author's name in another box
  • Once you've decided on a theme or topic, add that keyword in the third box

Access full text:

  • Click on UConn Full Text to open up a window. Click on the title in blue of full text source.
  • If "No full text available," click on Request a PDF.
  • Sign in with your NetID.

Save search results:

  • Add items to your folder
  • Access folder (at top of page), select all and click on Export  
  • Send to RefWorks or other citation manager

Using Literature Databases to Find Articles

  • From the library home page (lib.uconn.edu), click on Research Databases
  • Click on Literature.
  • Start with Gale Literary Sources to find articles and overview essays. 
  • Add keywords to your search of the short story title in MLA International Bibliography.

Access full text:

  • Click on UConn Full Text to open up a window. Click on the title in blue of full text source.
  • If "No full text available," click on Request a PDF.
  • Sign in with your NetID.

Save search results:

  • Add items to your folder
  • Access folder (at top of page), select all and click on Export  
  • Send to RefWorks or other citation manager

Using Databases to Find Articles:

  • You can search in these two databases at the same time. Open one, select Choose Databases at the top, and then add the other.
  • Enter a keyword in one box and Alice Walker in the second box, i.e. faith or "womanism" or "black feminism"

To Access Full Text:

  • Click on UConn Full Text to open up a window. Click on the title in blue of full text source.
  • If "No full text available," click on Request this article through Interlibrary Services.
  • Sign in with your NetID.

Save search results: 

  • Add items to your folder
  • Access folder (at top of page), select all, and click on Export
  • Send to RefWorks or other citation manager

Class Reading:

Use General Search for articles, books, and more

1. To find books & articles, use keywords in the Library's General Search, i.e.:

  • internet safety
  • online privacy "social media"
  • Connecticut

To narrow results:

  • limit to scholarly/peer reviewed articles
  • limit by subjects that are relevant to you
  • understand citations: is it a book or article?
  • identify the location of the book: is it in Stamford, online, or at another library?

Access full text:

  • Click on Online access, Download PDF, or Available online for articles and then click on a database or collection
  • Click on Available at... for books in print
  • Request books from other UConn libraries after signing in with your NetID

Save search results:

  • Add items to your Favorites after signing in with your NetID
  • Open Favorites and select all to export to RefWorks.

2. Search Google.com for web sites and articles.

  • protests "gay rights"
  • "social media" elections "united states"

Societal conventions research assignment

Search Google.com for web sites and articles.

  • history of communication
  • (online OR internet) communication

To find books and articles, use the Library Catalog

  • childrearing history
  • parenting philosophy

To narrow results:

  • Click on the left to refine, i.e. Books, Reference Entries, Full Text Online
  • Look for an ebook, i.e. Full text available or Online Access

Access Full Text

  • Click on the title to open up the record
  • Under View Online, click on database or collection in blue

Save Search Results

  • Click on the pin to add to your Favorites folder
  • Remember to sign in with your NetID to access materials later
  • Favorites folder is the large pin at the top right of the catalog

Search Google.com for web sites and articles. Pay attention to the source of the article or web site.

  • “shays rebellion”
  • Waco and Branch Davidians

To find books, newspapers & scholarly articles, use keywords in the Library's General Search, i.e.:

  • internet safety
  • online privacy "social media"
  • Connecticut

To narrow results:

  • limit to scholarly/peer reviewed articles
  • limit by subjects that are relevant to you
  • understand citations: is it a book or article?
  • identify the location of the book: is it in Stamford, online, or at another library?

Access full text:

  • Click on Online accessDownload PDF, or Available online for articles and then click on a database or collection
  • Click on Available at... for books in print
  • Request books from other UConn libraries after signing in with your NetID

Save search results:

  • Add items to your Favorites after signing in with your NetID
  • Open Favorites and select all to export to RefWorks.

 

Use General Search for articles, books, and more

1. To find books & articles, use keywords in the Library's General Search, i.e.:

  • internet safety
  • online privacy "social media"
  • Connecticut

To narrow results:

  • limit to scholarly/peer reviewed articles
  • limit by subjects that are relevant to you
  • understand citations: is it a book or article?
  • identify the location of the book: is it in Stamford, online, or at another library?

Access full text:

  • Click on View Online for articles and then click on a database or collection
  • Click on Find on Shelf for books in print
  • Request books from other UConn libraries after signing in with your NetID

Save search results:

  • Add items to your Favorites after signing in with your NetID
  • Open Favorites and select all to export to RefWorks

2. Search Google.com for web sites and articles.

  • protests "gay rights"
  • "social media" elections "united states"
Use General Search for articles, books, and more

1. To find books & articles, use keywords in the Library's General Search, i.e.:

  • internet safety
  • online privacy "social media"
  • Connecticut

To narrow results:

  • limit to scholarly/peer reviewed articles
  • limit by subjects that are relevant to you
  • understand citations: is it a book or article?
  • identify the location of the book: is it in Stamford, online, or at another library?

Access full text:

  • Click on View Online for articles and then click on a database or collection
  • Click on Find on Shelf for books in print
  • Request books from other UConn libraries after signing in with your NetID

Save search results:

  • Add items to your Favorites after signing in with your NetID
  • Open Favorites and select all to export to RefWorks.

2. Search Google.com for web sites and articles.

  • protests "gay rights"
  • "social media" elections "united states"

Search Google.com for web sites and articles.

  • protests "gay rights"
  • "social media" elections "united states"

To find books & articles, use keywords in the Library's General Search, i.e.:

  • internet safety
  • online privacy "social media"
  • Connecticut

To narrow results:

  • limit to scholarly/peer reviewed articles
  • limit by subjects that are relevant to you
  • understand citations: is it a book or article?
  • identify the location of the book: is it in Stamford, online, or at another library?

Access full text:

  • Click on Online access, Download PDF, or Available online for articles and then click on a database or collection
  • Click on Available at... for books in print
  • Request books from other UConn libraries after signing in with your NetID

Save search results:

  • Add items to your Favorites after signing in with your NetID
  • Open Favorites and select all to export to RefWorks

Also try this general academic database:

Use General Search for articles, books, and more

1. To find books & articles, use keywords in the Library's General Search, i.e.:

  • internet safety
  • online privacy "social media"
  • Connecticut

To narrow results:

  • limit to scholarly/peer reviewed articles
  • limit by subjects that are relevant to you
  • understand citations: is it a book or article?
  • identify the location of the book: is it in Stamford, online, or at another library?

Access full text:

  • Click on View Online for articles and then click on a database or collection
  • Click on Find on Shelf for books in print
  • Request books from other UConn libraries after signing in with your NetID

Save search results:

  • Add items to your Favorites after signing in with your NetID
  • Open Favorites and select all to export to RefWorks.

2. Search Google.com for web sites and articles.

  • protests "gay rights"
  • "social media" elections "united states"

Search Google.com for web sites and articles.

  • protests "gay rights"
  • "social media" elections "united states"

To find books & articles, use keywords in the Library's General Search, i.e.:

  • internet safety
  • online privacy "social media"
  • Connecticut

To narrow results:

  • limit to scholarly/peer reviewed articles
  • limit by subjects that are relevant to you
  • understand citations: is it a book or article?
  • identify the location of the book: is it in Stamford, online, or at another library?

Access full text:

  • Click on Online accessDownload PDF, or Available online for articles and then click on a database or collection
  • Click on Available at... for books in print
  • Request books from other UConn libraries after signing in with your NetID

Save search results:

  • Add items to your Favorites after signing in with your NetID
  • Open Favorites and select all to export to RefWorks

Using Literature Databases to Find Articles

  • From the library home page (lib.uconn.edu), click on Research Databases
  • Click on Literature.
  • Start with Gale Literary Sources to find articles and overview essays. 
  • Add keywords to your search of the short story title in MLA International Bibliography.

Access full text:

  • Click on UConn Full Text to open up a window. Click on the title in blue of full text source.
  • If "No full text available," click on Request a PDF.
  • Sign in with your NetID.

Save search results:

  • Add items to your folder
  • Access folder (at top of page), select all and click on Export  
  • Send to RefWorks or other citation manager