LibGuides: _MKTG5230: New Product and Service Innovation Management: Citing Business Sources

Citation Styles for Business

The three most commonly used citation styles are represented by the following manuals: The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (APA style), The MLA Handbook (MLA style), and The Chicago Manual of Style (Chicago style). Generally speaking, the sciences and social sciences tend to use the APA or Chicago style while the humanities will often use the MLA style.

There is no "official" style for citing business sources. Check with your instructor about which style he/she expects you to use in your course.

Citing Business Databases in APA Style
This guide from the University of North Carolina provides examples of how to cite articles, profiles, reports, data and other information from various business databases in the APA Style.
Harvard Business School
This guide from Harvard Business School is based on the Chicago Style. It provides guidance on creating footnotes, source lines, and bibliographies. It also includes examples of citations for advertisements, analyst reports, articles, blogs, books, brochures, cases, charts, conference papers, databases, emails, interviews, legal cases, podcasts, SEC filings, tables, videos, and more. In addition, major business databases including ABI/Inform, Business Source Premier, Compustat, Factiva, Gartner, GMID, I/B/E/S, JSTOR, LexisNexis, Mintel, Standard & Poor's , and Thomson One Banker are covered.

HBS Citation Guide 2017-18

Citing Business Sources
This guide from UCLA is based on the Chicago Manual of Style and covers commonly used business sources.

Citation Styles and Management Tools Guide
by Samuel Boss Last Updated Oct 11, 2024 4875 views this year

This guide offers you advice on how to cite your references in a paper or how to format your bibliography in Chicago, APA and MLA citation styles

_MKTG5230: New Product and Service Innovation Management — Citing Business Sources

Citation Styles for Business