Library Databases for Marketing Research
These databases contain articles about current market conditions; use them to enhance your market research.
-
ABI/INFORM Collection
Includes articles, dissertations, news content and reports covering the various areas of business, advertising, insurance, public administration, real estate, and telecommunications
-
IBISWorld
Full-text of industry, company, and economic reports, covering over 700 U.S. industries. Reports include key statistics, market characteristics, segmentation, industry conditions, key factors, key competitors and outlook.
-
Mintel Reports
Product and industry market research reports covering US and International marketplaces.
-
SRDS
Media rates and data for the advertising industry. Includes print and online media sources.
Books on Marketing and Branding
-
Advanced Brand Management
by
Call Number: Stamford HD69.B7 T448 2010ISBN: 9780470824498Publication Date: 2010-03-15Those building and managing brand assets will find the issues facing them addressed in Advanced Brand Management with clarity, insight, and an easy-to-read style. Chock full of case studies, I especially found useful and stimulating, the author's willingness to offer critical judgments of brand decisions. - Review by David Aaker. -
Marketing
by
Call Number: Stamford HF5415.13 .M664 2006ISBN: 0415380804Publication Date: 2006-08-01Marketing: The Basics is a clear, concise resource for students or practitioners looking to improve their understanding of marketing fundamentals in a global context. Covering the basic functions of marketing, its role in corporate decision-making and the importance of competitive strategies, this accessible text provides international perspectives on the areas discussed through examples of practice from North America, Asia, Europe and the Middle East. -
Statistics in Market Research
by
Call Number: Stamford HF5415.2 .C378 2004ISBN: 0340763973Publication Date: 2004-03-29The techniques of multivariate statistics offer extremely powerful tools for use in solving everyday problems in a wide range of fields. Yet because of their statistical nature they are often out of reach of many of the people who could benefit from them. The rationale behind this book is that it is possible for an interested non-technical reader to gain a working understanding of multivariate analysis. It assumes a general but fairly basic statistical knowledge and concentrates on the statistical techniques specifically relevant to market research.
YouTube Videos on Marketing Techniques
There are a variety of marketing how-to videos on YouTube from experts, businessmen, and entrepreneurs, as well as several dedicated business channels that cover marketing and branding. Always be sure to evaluate online resources according to the criteria on the Evaluating Resources page in this guide to make sure they are accurate and authoritative!
(You are watching "Viral Marketing: Expert tips, ads and examples," from the channel Your Business Channel.)
Websites for Demographic & Consumer Info
Database:
-
Statista
Provides statistics on media, the environment, business and industry, sports, communication, politics, health care and more. Geographic coverage is worldwide, with particular emphasis on the United States, China, and European Union countries.
Websites:
-
Harris Interactive:Harris VaultNew Harris Poll website of surveys dating back to 1963. Searchable by keyword, subject, year span.
-
Statistical AbstractSummary of statistics on the social, political, and economic aspects of the United States.
-
American Time Use SurveyMeasures the amount of time people spend doing various activities, such as paid work, childcare, volunteering, and socializing.
