Environmental and science databases
UConn has a number of environmental science and engineering databases.
Best choices:
- Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science CollectionScholarly articles in the science, technology and management of marine and freshwater environments.
- CleanTech DatabaseOnline free database of Utility Federal Technology Opportunities (UFTO). It is annotated by the CleanTech people.
- GreenFILE
This link opens in a new window
Articles on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, and recycling.
- Engineering VillageCross search of two engineering databases: Inspec & Compendex. Indexes scholarly articles in physics, electronics and electrical engineering, computers and control, and information technology.
Books on Environmental and Energy-Saving Technologies
This is just a sample of the print books in the library collection that cover this topic. Search the catalog using the keywords Environmental Technologies OR Energy-Saving Technologies to find more books and ebooks on this topic.
Can Science Fix Climate Change? by Call Number: STORRS QC903 H84 2014ISBN: 9780745682051Publication Date: 2014-06-03- Sustainable Energy Roadmaps byCall Number: STORRS TJ808 .O34 2012ISBN: 9781878071699Publication Date: 2012-03-20
Websites on Environmental and Energy-Saving Technologies
- American Chemistry CouncilThe American Chemistry Council is "committed to sustainable development by fostering progress in our economy, environment and society. ACC is America’s oldest trade association of its kind, representing companies engaged in the business of chemistry." (from the ACC website)
Many websites on issues like sustainability or the environment have a policy or sales agenda, so always be sure to evaluate online resources according to the criteria on the Evaluating Resources page in this guide to make sure they are accurate and authoritative!
Below are some examples of websites pertaining to environmental and energy-saving technologies:
- EPA Green Building ResourcesThe Environmental Protection Agency (a division of the U.S. Govt.) provides resources for individuals seeking to green their homes.
- Small Business Association: environmental grants and loansA division of the U.S. government, the SBA provides loans for companies to upgrade their facilities to be more energy efficient.
