LibGuides: Topic: Transatlantic Slavery and the Slave Trade: Databases & Journals

General Databases

These databases are not exclusively history-related. However, they can provide a wealth of secondary sources for your research. And often, secondary sources can lead you to primary sources.

Academic Search Premier
Includes articles from scholarly journals and popular magazines covering a wide variety of disciplines with the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Project MUSE
Full text access to journals and ebooks in classics, education, history, literature, math, philosophy, politics, religion, and visual and performing arts.
JSTOR
Scholarly journals in many academic fields, especially arts, literature, humanities, and biology.

Newspapers

Newspapers are a great resource for primary sources. Newspapers will often include advertisements for slaves for sale, rewards for information on runaway slaves, and editorials. In ProQuest Historical Newspapers, you can also find nine Black historical newspapers, including the New York Amsterdam News. You may wish to compare articles in this newspaper to the white mainstream papers, such as the New York Times.

Early American Newspapers (1690-1922)
Digitally scanned newspapers from all 50 states between 1690-1922.
Historical Newspapers from ProQuest
Search for historical articles in a variety of major American and international newspapers published between 1764-2019. See more info for complete list of newspapers included.
Includes: Arizona Republican (1870-2007)*, Atlantic Constitution (1868-1984), Atlanta Daily World (1931-2010), Baltimore Afro-American (1893-2010), Baltimore Sun (1837-1997)*, Boston Globe (1872-1991), Chicago Defender (1909-2010), Chicago Tribune (1849-2013), Chinese Newspapers Collection (1832-1953), Christian Science Monitor (1908-2009)*, Cleveland Call & Post (1934-2010), Detroit Free Press (1831-1999)*, The Globe and Mail (1844-2019)*, The Guardian and the Observer (1791-2003)*, Hartford Courant (1764-1997), Irish Times and the Weekly Irish Times (1859-2021)*, Jerusalem Post (1932-2008)*, Jewish Advocate (1905-1990)*, Korea Times (1956-2016)*, Leftist Newspapers and Periodicals (1845-2015)*, Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2010), Los Angeles Times (1881-1999), Louisville Defender (1951-2010), Michigan Chronicle (1939-2010), Minneapolis Star Tribune (1867-2001)*, New York Amsterdam News (1922-2010), New York Times (1851-2019), New York Tribune / Herald Times (1841-1962), Norfolk Journal and Guide (1916-2010), Philadelphia Inquirer (1860-2001)*, Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2010), Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2010), Pittsburgh Post-Gazette (1786-2003)*, The Scotsman (1817-1950), Times of India (1838-2010), Vermont Collection, Wall Street Journal (1889-2011), Washington Post (1877-2007)

*=available through June 30, 2024, unlimited users have access to this material. Continued access beyond that date is not guaranteed and is subject to a purchase decision by the UConn Library.
Times Digital Archive
Includes all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos from the Times of London.

Other Primary Sources

This section includes databases that will lead you to primary sources, other than newspapers.

Eighteenth Century Collections Online
Includes online access to books published during the 18th Century covering history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, and science.
Historical Statistics of the United States
Statistics of the United States, covering population, work and welfare, economics, governance, and international relations, including census data, some dating back to the 1600s.
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000
Includes books, images, essays, book and website reviews, and other primary sources covering various women's and social movements between 1600-2000.
Slavery and Anti-Slavery
Includes books, pamphlets, newspapers, periodicals, legal documents, court records, monographs, manuscripts, and maps documenting the historical conflict over slavery in the United States.
Includes Part I: Debates over Slavery and Abolition, part II: Slave Trade in the Atlantic World, part III: The Institution of Slavery, and part IV: The Age of Emancipation.
Slavery, Abolition, and Social Justice
Includes primary source documents on key aspects of the history of slavery worldwide over six centuries covering slavery in the early Americas; African coast; urban and domestic slavery; resistance and revolts; the abolition movement and the slavery debate; legislation and politics; freedmen and free Black settlements; experiences of enslaved people; and the legacy of slavery.

Topic: Transatlantic Slavery and the Slave Trade — Databases & Journals

General Databases

Newspapers

Other Primary Sources