The UCONN Full Text button appears in most of our library databases.
UCONN Full Text gives you quick click-through access to the online full text of the article OR a link to request the article from Interlibrary Services. See the Requesting Materials tab for more details on that.
If you use Chrome or Firefox, you can install browser extensions to cut down on the number of clicks from abstract to full text PDF. Some link you to our library's subscriptions; others find open access versions of articles for you.
One-Click Access to UConn Library Subscriptions & Open Access Publications
One-Click Access to Open Access Publications
If you use Google Scholar, you'll notice that many full text links take you to publisher web sites, which ask you to pay for access. Don’t do it! You can display our UCONN Full Text link in Google Scholar, providing click-through access to our full text articles and our interlibrary services request system, follow the numbered steps below.
To display the UCONN Full Text link:
Now, when searching in Google Scholar, you will see one of two things:
If we have access to the source in full text online through UConn: A UConn Full Text link to the right of the reference; click the link once to navigate to it:
If we don't have it: No UConn Full Text link. In that case, first click the double chevron in the options below the reference:
Then click HelpMeGetIt to navigate to our interlibrary loan form. In most cases, with a few clicks, the form will auto-populate to help you submit your request:
Beyond UCONN Full Text
Google Scholar is also especially good for locating open access versions of publications posted in faculty members’ institutional repositories or on sites like ResearchGate. Bear in mind that not every link on Google Scholar takes you to an authentic or legal version of a publication!
If you go to PubMed from the UConn Library page, you'll see our UCONN Full Text button, providing click-through access to our full text articles and our interlibrary services request system. To have that same feature when you navigate to PubMed from anywhere online, create a login using the link below, then follow the numbered steps.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial 4.0 International License. | Details and Exceptions