Tests and Measures Guide — Where to Find Descriptions of Tests

Compilation of child development measures. Sponsored by the SEED Consortium (Science and the Ecology of Early Development)

Provides updated information regarding the usage of major psychological instruments cross-culturally.

Describes measures for assessment of intelligence, achievement, aptitude, interest, personality, and behavior. Provides extensive references.

Each test description includes information about population, availability, scoring, and validity.

Site from the Buros Institute. Search alphabetically or by category. Directory is equivalent to the Mental Measurements Yearbook but does not include test reviews.

Educational Testing Service provides brief descriptions of achievement, attitude, personality, vocational, aptitude, intelligence, and special populations tests. Includes availability information, age, grade level, time, and number of items.

Provides a comprehensive description of the critical features of individually administered achievement tests.

Describes tests, scales, and inventories that assess behavior in children, adolescents, adults, and the elderly. Includes purpose, development, characteristics, clinical use, and references for each test.

Describes 500 measures used in the field of communication. Organized by general topic, such as verbal communication, computer-mediated communication, and persuasion & compliance gaining. Published by the National Communication Association.

Nine-volume set contains basic descriptions of social sciences measures. Test categories include achievement, behavior, personality, and vocational evaluation. Each volume has its own subject index. Use the Title Index for the Directory of Unpublished Experimental Mental Measures for volumes 1-7.

Developed as a collection tool for libraries. Contains information on test target group, number of items, and administration.

Describes measures for personality traits, attitudes, and behavior for males and females. Includes authors, variable, sample items, audience, scoring, reliability, validity, availability, and references.

Provides abstracts of family measurement instruments 1929-1996, with 168 reproduced in full along with scoring instructions.

Vol. 10, Assessment Psychology, covers all aspects of assessment. See Chapter 18, Assessment of Intellectual Functioning, for descriptions of the major intelligence tests.

Features scales that measure social variables such as status, personality, and leadership. Includes variables measured, publisher, reliability, validity, and use for each scale. Reproduces portions of some scales.

Describes published and unpublished scales/questionnaires that measure organizations and professional behavior. Includes sample items, validity, reliability, references, and source for each test.

Provides concise descriptions for each commercially published test including audience, purpose, timing, and scoring.