Skip to main content

Animal Science Subject Guide — Journals

Description of databases, reference materials, journals, books, etc. available for animal science research.

Finding Articles

Direct access to journal articles is available from a listing of electronic journals held at UCONN. This listing is available on the library homepage under FIND. It provides direct access to 30,000+ subscription journals.

If you need access to a journal article we do not have, place a request for the article through our Interlibrary Loan Services. 

Eigenfactor and SciMago

Two web resources with statistical citation information about journals are:

Eigenfactor offers a statistical ranking and analysis of journals based on their citation patterns. Includes journals indexed in the Web of Science.

SciMago Journal Rankings provides a variety of journal ranking indicators based on a Google-like ranking system. Also provides graphical information about journal citing behaviors. Includes journals index in Scopus.

Journal Information

Several databases offer information about journals.

Ulrich's Periodicals Directory provides bibliographic, subscription and publisher information about more than 300,000 journals.It will tell you:

  • subscription price
  • whether a journal is refereed
  • ordering information
  • access to tables of contents
  • instruction to authors
  • where a journal is indexed for searching
  • distribution
  • editors

 

Journal Citation Reports (JCR) provides quantitative measures for evaluating and comparing journals. Contains journal information from the Web of Sciences Databases. For any listed journal it will provide you with:

  • impact factor
  • cited half life
  • immediacy index
  • Eigenfactor score
  • article influence score
  • journal ranking within its field