Women's, Gender, & Sexuality Studies Subject Guide — Primary Sources

The Alternative Press Collection (APC) is one of the oldest and largest collections of alternative press materials in the United States. It was founded in the late 1960s out of student participation in activist movements for social, cultural, and political change. The collection includes thousands of national and international newspapers, serials, books, pamphlets, ephemera, and artifacts documenting activist themes and organizations, dating from the 1800s to the present. The collection contains more than 7,000 newspaper and magazine titles with 90 still on subscription, 5,000 books, and pamphlets, 1,800 files of ephemeral materials from activist organizations throughout the country, as well as posters, broadsides, buttons, calendars, and manuscripts.

Dr. Johansen was a Professor of Political Science at the University of Connecticut for nearly 20 years, from 1979 to 1996. In the early part of the 1980s Dr. Johansen performed an extensive study on Comparable Worth (an economic concept stressing equal pay for equal work, often applied to arguments of gender-based pay equity). The collection consists primarily of notes, manuscripts, and supporting materials for two scholarly book projects.

Ellen Emmet Rand (1875-1941) was a painter and illustrator who produced works for prominent ladies' magazines, Vogue and Harper's Weekly. The collection includes photographs, diaries, correspondence, and exhibition catalogs.

In the 1970s & 80s, Dr. Louise Simmons worked with activist organizations, including the Connecticut Defense Coalition Against Racist & Political Repression, the Anti-Racism Coalition of Connecticut, and the Community Labor Alliance for Strike Support. The collection consists of correspondence, publications, pamphlets, press releases, newspaper clippings, meeting agendas, realia, posters, and political buttons that provide information about political, labor, and social issues relevant to communities in Hartford, Connecticut

The collection consists of 11 oral histories with leading activists in Connecticut who have been a part of the marriage equality movement as well as been engaged in other forms of LGBT activism in the state and beyond. The interviews were conducted by Valerie Love, Curator for Human Rights and Alternative Press Collections, between July 2010 and April 2011. Six of the eleven interviews have been transcribed and are available online and in print.

Administrative records almost all related to the Greater New Haven chapter of CT NOW -- correspondence, flyers, pamphlets, photographs (persons unidentified), directories, membership lists, rally signs, t-shirts with feminist slogans and artwork, newsletters, meeting minutes, newspaper clippings, scrapbook and photograph albums, annual reports, budgets.

The collection contains documentation of the activities and programs of the Rhode Island Chapter of the National Organization for Women from 1972 through 1983. Contains administrative records, publications, newspaper clippings and fliers.

The collection provides context and support to the materials found in the University of Connecticut School of Nursing Archives. This area is particularly strong in its documentation of the professional development, status, and legal activities associated with nursing by the organizations in Connecticut on behalf of their members as well as 20th century nurse training. There is limited, but significant, documentation of information on 19th century nursing activities during the American Civil War in the Josephine Dolan Collection. Formats accepted include manuscripts, diaries, correspondence, photographs, ephemera, sound recordings, and moving images.

The collection contains notes, manuscripts, syllabi, research materials, correspondence, ephemera, and similar materials associated with the professional career of the historian, Susan Porter Benson, a member of the University of Connecticut faculty from 1993 until her death in 2005.

The collection consists of research notes and datasets compiled by Thomas Dublin while he conducted research in the 1980s about workers at the Jewett City Cotton Manufacturing Company in Jewett City, Connecticut. Professor Dublin used materials about the company that are in the Slater Company Records, held in Archives & Special Collections at the University of Connecticut Libraries. Thomas Dublin is a United States Social Historian with an interest in gender, race, ethnicity, and class in the working-class experience. He has focused on both the Industrial Revolution in nineteenth-century New England and deindustrialization in the Middle Atlantic region in the twentieth century. He is a Distinguished Professor at the State University of New York at Binghamton and the author of Women at Work: The Transformation of Work and Community in Lowell, Massachusetts, 1826-1860 (Columbia University Press, 1979), Women and Power in American History, (Prentice-Hall, 2008, third edition) co-edited with Kathryn Kish Sklar, and many other works. Professor Dublin received his Ph.D. at Columbia University.

Papers, manuscripts, memorabilia, publications, and related materials collected by Dr. Thomas Long over three decades of teaching and scholarly writing. His focus in both scholarship and teaching domains included medical humanities and health studies, early-modern studies, and American literature and culture. The collection includes documents in early-modern studies, antebellum American literary culture manuscript materials, antebellum abolitionist and anti-slavery discourses (print publications), and a variety of print publications and ephemera related to twentieth-century queer culture and history.

The Women's Studies Program at the University of Connecticut began in 1974 and was the first formal program of its kind in the state. The collection contains files pertaining to a 1982 Connecticut Humanities Council grant, administrative files, publications, announcements, and fliers.