How to guide for all women's, gender, and sexuality courses. Find information from many different kinds of sources -- worldwide research organizations, NGOs, peer-reviewed journals, books, ebooks, experts, etc.
Encyclopedia of Gender and Sexuality Studies by Nancy A. Naples (Editor-In-Chief); Renee C. Hoogland (Associate Editor); Maithree Wickramasinghe (Associate Editor); Angela Wong (Editor); Wai Ching Angela Wong (Associate Editor)The Wiley Blackwell Encyclopedia of Gender and Sexuality Studies provides an invaluable resource for students and scholars in the overlapping areas of gender, feminist, queer, masculinity, and sexuality studies; and acknowledges the growing interdisciplinary impact of these fields. Edited by a first rate team of geographically diverse scholars drawn from disciplines across the social sciences and humanities with international reputations in the field Entries are written in an approachable and accessible manner and include a short bibliography and a list of cross-references Unique in its interdisciplinary approach across allied social sciences including sociology, anthropology, cultural studies, economics, literary studies, politics, history, and psychology as well as the fields of women's, gender and sexuality studies Attention paid to the identification and inclusion of feminist activism, regional and national diversity, international context, social policy, economics, non-governmental organizations and key term 5 Volumes www.genderandsexualityencyclopedia.com
Connexions investigates the ways in which race and sex intersect, overlap, and inform each other in United States history from prerevolutionary era to today.
--- How descriptions of bodies shaped colonial Americans' understandings of race and sex
--- Same-sex sexual desire and violence within slavery
--- Whiteness in gay and lesbian history
--- College women's agitation against heterosexual norms in the 1940s and 1950s
--- Ways society used sexualized bodies to sculpt ideas of race and racial beauty
--- How Mexican silent film icon Ramon Navarro masked his homosexuality with his racial identity
--- Sexual representation in mid-twentieth-century African American print pop culture
This book addresses feminism, including the aspects of human nature, intersectionality, sexism and oppression, LGBTQ theory, ecofeminism, and power. Contains article by UConn Professor Daniel Silvermint, "Central theoretical concepts of feminist philosophy: Feminist perspectives on sexism and oppression."
Includes coverage of historical, political, and cultural contexts; leadership; organizational dynamics; social networks and participation; consequences and outcomes; and case studies of major social movements.
3 volume encyclopedia. Includes concepts and ideas in the fields of activism, civil engagement, and social justice as well as short biographies of major thinkers and leaders who have influenced the study of activism. Fields included: education; communication studies; political science; leadership studies; social work; social welfare; environmental studies; health care; social psychology; and sociology.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Islam and Women provides clear, current, comprehensive information on the major topics of scholarly interest within the study of women and Islam. Feature several hundred in-depth articles written by leading experts and is intended as a single source for accurate overview articles covering all aspects of this flourishing area of research.