LibGuides: Biology Subject Guide: Databases

Accessing Resources

Please login with your UConn Net ID and password to access licensed resources.

Databases for Biology

Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Collection
Search here for marine and fresh water biology topics. Primarily scholarly articles. 1971 to current. Access restricted to University of Connecticut.
BIOSIS Citation Index
Search here for all areas of biology including ecology, evolution and botany. Includes citation searching options. Includes journal articles, book chapters, conference proceedings and other documents. 1969 to present. Access restricted to University of Connecticut.
CAB Abstracts
Search here for world agriculture, including animal science, plant science veterinary science, forestry and related topics. Primarily scholarly articles. 1973 to current. Access restricted to University of Connecticut.
HathiTrust Digital Library
Search here for historical literature in biology and many other disciplines digitized from research libraries across the country. Much of the material is in the public domain and so is available full text. Access restricted to University of Connecticut.
PubMed
Search here for human health, medical research, genetics, cell biology, molecular biology, animal science and related topics. Primarily scholarly journal articles. 1950's to current. Access restricted to University of Connecticut
Scopus
Search here for any topic in science, technology, medicine and social science. Includes citation searching options. Primarily scholarly articles. 1996 to current. Access restricted to University of Connecticut.
Zoological Record
Search here for all zoological topics including ecology, evolution, and taxonomy. Includes citation searching options. Primarily scholarly articles but also includes books, conference proceedings and other literature. 1864 to current. Access restricted to University of Connecticut.

Biodiversity Heritage Library
Search here for early literature on botanical, zoological and ecological topics. From a consortium of natural history and botanical libraries. Millions of pages of scanned taxonomic literature, including books, journals, conference proceedings and other works. Most works are pre-coyright (1927-) An excellent and growing resource.

TAIR - The Arabidopsis Information Resource
Includes genetic and molecular biology publications and data for the model higher plant Arabidopsis thaliana and includes the complete genome sequence along with gene structure, gene product information, gene expression, genetic and physical markers.

Related Databases

Engineering Village
Search here for biophysics, bioengineering, bioinformatics and related topics 1969 to current. Access restricted to University of Connecticut.
SciFinder-n
Search here for chemistry, biochemistry, and related topics.1967 to current. Access limited to University of Connecticut.
For use by UConn faculty, staff, and students. Access for UConn affiliates is not permitted.

Biology Subject Guide — Databases

Accessing Resources

Databases for Biology

Related Databases