Resources on Reproductive Rights in ASC
For those conducting research projects about reproductive rights, abortion, or related topics, Archives & Special Collections holds resources related to the topic in various media, both from pro-choice and anti-abortion perspectives. These materials range from polling information, correspondence, political documents, organizational literature, and much more.
This page of the guide has drawn from a previous collection spotlight (including images) from the UConn Archives & Special Collections blog. Please see the link below for additional information and resources:
- Connecticut Women's Educational and Legal Fund Records, 1989-0070Connecticut Women’s Educational and Legal Fund (CWEALF) was founded in 1973. Related to reproductive rights, one major point in the collection is the Pregnancy Rights Project/Program, which took place in the 1980s, but CWEALF continues its work in advocacy, education, and empowerment to this day. Within the collection are publications, press releases from the organization, various writings, educational texts, administrative files, and more. Alongside reproductive advocacy, the records also include information on work CWEALF has done for LGBTQIA+ people.
- National Organization for Women, Connecticut Chapter Records, 1996-0014Founded in 1966, the National Organization for Women is a feminist organization, with currently around 500,000 members. The organization advocates for women’s rights across many fronts, including reproductive health. This collection includes informational literature, meeting minutes, newspaper clippings, and more from both the Connecticut chapter of NOW.
- Connecticut Civil Liberties Union Records, 1998-0291The CCLU was founded in 1949 as the New Haven Civil Liberties Council, and is now the Connecticut affiliate of the American Civil Liberties Union (it currently goes by the name ACLU of CT). This collection includes records from the original NHCLC, as well as administrative records from the CCLU from 1958-90. On the subject of reproductive rights, the collection includes legal documents from two cases: Women’s Health Services v. Maher (1979-1981) and Doe v. Maher (1981-90).
- American Association of University Women, Connecticut Division Records, 1988-0003Founded in the 1880s by Marion Talbot, a graduate of Boston University, and Ellen Swallow Richards, an MIT graduate, what began as the Association of Collegiate Alumnae has been supporting women who have graduated from college ever since. This collection includes information on the organization’s history, programs it has run, legal activity, information on specific branches within Connecticut, and more. Information on what the AAUW has done regarding reproductive rights can be found mostly in the legislative information section.
- Connecticut Citizens Action Group Records, 1987-0024Founded in the early 1970s by Ralph Nader and Toby Moffett, CCAG states that its goal is to empower citizens of Connecticut in their roles as “consumers, workers, tax payers, and voters.” Information on reproductive rights may be found within the “Health Project” series of the collection, as well as in Director Marc Caplan’s files.
- Audrey Beck Papers, 1992-0020Audrey P. Beck (1931-1983) was a Connecticut politician and professor. She served in the Connecticut House of Representatives from 1967 to 1975, followed by a term in the Connecticut Senate from 1975 until her death in 1983.
- Barbara B. Kennelly Papers, 1998-0369Barbara B. Kennelly (born 1936) is a former U.S. Representative from Connecticut’s 1st District, where she served from 1982 to 1999. Prior to this, she served as Connecticut Secretary of State from 1979 until 1982.
- Nancy L. Johnson Papers, 2007-0008Nancy L. Johnson (born 1935) is a former U.S. Representative, where she served both Connecticut’s 6th District from 1983 to 2003 and its 5th District from 2003 to 2007. From 1995 to 1997, she chaired the House Ethics Committee. She served in the Connecticut Senate from 1977 to 1983.
- Abortion collection materials in the CTDAThis link will take you to all search results in the CTDA for the search term "abortion."
- Alternative Press Collection APC FilesThe APC Files in the Alternative Press Collection include several titles related to abortion rights.
Women under Attack by Call Number: APC Bk 406ISBN: 9780896083561Publication Date: 1999-07-01Provides and examination of sexual and reproductive liberation; a summary of right-wing attacks; an analysis of the social/cultural constraints on the use of contraception; and a call for organizing for reproductive rights within a political program of women's liberation.
Every Woman Has a Right to Know the Dangers of Legal Abortion by Call Number: APC Bk 525ISBN: 9780940726079Publication Date: 1983-08-01- Getting stronger : women workers organize the abortion clinics.Call Number: APC Pam 22Publication Date: 1978
- Herbal abortion : using plants to induce miscarriage byCall Number: APC Pam 532Publication Date: 1977
The Black Women's Health Book by Call Number: APC Bk 569ISBN: 0931188865Publication Date: 1990-05-01More than fifty Black women write about the health issues that affect them an their communities, and includes essays by Toni Morrison, bell hooks, and Zor Neale Hurston.
For Ourselves, Our Families and Our Future by Call Number: APC Bk f11ISBN: 0932728030Publication Date: 1981-05-01
