_ARE 4205 Market Planning and Survey Research in the Food Industry — Databases

• ABI/Inform Complete Articles in business, finance, management, accounting, advertising, banking, insurance, marketing, public administration, real estate, and telecommunications. 1991-current (fulltext); 1971-current (index & abstracts).

• Business Source Complete A comprehensive business database. Formerly Business Source Premier.

• EconLit through EbscoHOST Indexes the international literature on economics. Topics include economic development, forecasting, and history; fiscal and monetary theory; business and public finance; international, health care, regional and urban economics, and more. 1969-current.

• Factiva Global news and business information articles. Includes Dow Jones Interactive and Reuters Business Briefing. Current. Please log out when done.

• Fortune Magazine Archive 1930-2000 Fortune is a long-running business magazine. This archive contains the magazine's full text, including all color illustrations and advertisements, individually indexed, from its first issue in February 1930 through December 2000.

• IDEAS Economics and finance research, including working papers, articles and software code.

• NBER Working Papers Working papers published by National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) researchers, intended for other professional economists. 11/1994-current

• Newspapers through ProQuest Full text of: Hartford Courant, 1992 -; Los Angeles Times, 1985 -; New York Times, 1997 -; Wall Street Journal, 1982 -; and the Washington Post, 1987 -.

• Nexis Uni Access the full text of newspapers, magazines, wire services, radio and TV transcripts.

• O'Reilly for Higher Education Access to thousands of ebooks, case studies, tutorials, and videos in computer science, business, communication, and design.

• Wall Street Journal (1984 - Current) Comprehensive coverage back to 1984 is available from the world's leading financial newspaper

The US Cooperative Extension System is a non-formal education program based at US land grant universities. It is designed to help people implement research-based knowledge in their lives. State extension services publish high quality, free information on many topics, including agriculture, health, disaster preparedness, energy, family issues, nutrition, landscaping and pest management. 

Anyone can search for extension information Google Scholar with "cooperative extension" [your topic]. For example: cooperative extension chicken botulism, This will search cooperative extension publications around the country which mention botulism in chickens. In Google Scholar you can force words to be searched as a phrase in the results by putting them in quotes. You can force a word to be in the results by putting a + in front of it (no space.)  For example: "cooperative extension" +chicken +botulism will require the phrase search and the last two words to be in the resulting hits.

Extension documents are a rich and ever-updated source of targeted practical information from across the country. They are not primary or peer reviewed.

• Extension Search

  Access many of land-grant institution cooperative extension information sources with one search.

• Journal of Extension

  The official refereed journal of Extension professionals. Full text access. 1963 to current.

• AGRICOLA (via EBSCO)    Search here for all aspects of U.S agriculture. Primarily scholarly articles. 1970 to current. Access restricted to University of Connecticut.
• BIOSIS Citation Index   Search here for all areas of biology and botany. Includes citation searching options. Includes journal articles, book chapters, conference proceedings and other literature. 1969 to current. Access restricted to University of Connecticut.
• CAB Abstracts   Search here for all areas of international agriculture including animal science and veterinary science. Includes journal articles, book chapters, conference proceedings and other documents. 1969 to current. Access restricted to University of Connecticut.
• PubMed   Search here for animal science and veterinary science. This databases is primarily human health, both clinical and research, but does cover domestic animals, virology, microbiology and related topics well also. Primarily scholarly journal articles. 1950's to current. Access restricted to University of Connecticut.
• Scopus    Search here for any topic in science, technology, medicine and social science. Includes citation searching options. Primarily scholarly articles. 1996 to current. Access restricted to University of Connecticut.
• TAIR - The Arabidopsis Information Resource    The Arabidopsis Information Resource (TAIR) is a database of genetic and molecular biology data for the model higher plant Arabidopsis thaliana. Data available from TAIR includes the complete genome sequence along with gene structure, gene product information, gene expression, DNA and seed stocks, genome maps, genetic and physical markers, publications, and information about the Arabidopsis research community.
• Turfgrass Information File    Search here for turfgrass and its maintenance. Includes scholarly and trade articles, technical reports, conference proceedings, newsletters, monographs and dissertations, brochures and software, coming from government, universities, professional and private sources. 1921 to current. Access restricted to University of Connecticut.

USDA Searchable Databases: - these databases include community nutrition, food surveys, animal parasites, molecular plant pathology, germplasm resources, nematodes, botany, fungi, and entomology resources.

FDA  Food - the US department for food and drug safety has a specific section on food. This includes sections on labelling, nutrition, packaging, supplements, chemicals & metals in foods, and compliance. 

The National Agricultural Law Center, based at the University of Arkansas, is an independent legal research and information service for the United States agriculture community. It is funded by the US. Department of Agriculture.Within its scope of coverage are animal welfare, biotechnology, food, biosecurity, corporate farming, environment, forestry, food safety, pesticides, renewable energy, water, and many other topics. The Center's resources and reports are available to researchers and the public. Includes a searchable blog on daily developments and RSS feeds on developments in a wide variety of topics.

• The National Agricultural Law Center

  The nation's leading source of agricultural and food law, research and information.