Skip to main content

Early College Experience (ECE) Guide — ECE LMS Training, October 3, 2019

Guide to UConn Libraries' resources

Early College Experience Library Media Specialists Training

Morning Session: Supplementary Materials

ITS Technology Support Center

  • Presentation (see below)

Access Services - Kim Wilk

Interlibrary Services / Document Delivery - Erika McNeil

Navigating the Library - Sheila Lafferty

  • ​Library Homepage, Databases, Research Guides, Library General Search, Google Scholar

Afternoon Sessions - Supplementary Materials

Google Refresher - Sheila Lafferty

Presentation (PDF) - see link below 

English 1010 / 1011 - Donovan Reinwald

Real News Resources - Steve Batt

  • See handout below

Science - Carolyn Mills

Library Search Help

Searching for Streaming Videos

Did you know UConn Library offers a number of media streams/films that you can access online? No borrowing of DVDs are necessary.  All ECE instructors, students and LMS need is a UConn netid and password to access them.

To browse collections, go to https://primo-pmtna01.hosted.exlibrisgroup.com/primo-explore/collectionDiscovery?vid=01UCT&collectionId=81478086940002432

Alexander Street Press Video Collection : 1750+ titles – 962 Ethnographic Video Online Series, 458 Theatre in video series

UConn Library Mediasite Streaming Video Collection (Streaming videos hosted by the UConn Library): 304 items

UConn Library's Perpetual Streaming Videos (This collections consists in UConn Library's streaming videos that have perpetual or life of file access where UConn Library continues to have and provide access in perpetuity.) 385 items

 

If you wish to search for a title in our catalog, you can either search the various video databases or use the Library General Search.

Selected Media Databases:


Library General Search:

Library General Search : http://search.lib.uconn.edu    

Change the menu from Articles & Library Catalog to Library Catalog.

Enter your search terms.

Refine the results using the facets on the right side: Audio Visual and Full Text Online.

 

For example:
#1 A search for "civil rights" and united states, limited to Video and Full text online will display 26 results.
http://s.uconn.edu/mediacivil

The lists includes a 60 min. film: "Get in the way : the journey of John Lewis" and the 40 min film "Selma, the bridge to the ballot."
https://www.imdb.com/title/tt4924818/?ref_=fn_al_tt_1

https://www.imdb.com/title/tt4355418/?ref_=fn_al_tt_1

#2 Another sample subject to search is  Japanese Americans evacuation and relocation for films about the Japanese Americans Internment. Limited by video and full text online will result in 8 streaming films: http://s.uconn.edu/internmentfilm

Instructors may wish to add a link to specific films to their online class websites. Please consult the Stable Link guide for instructions: http://guides.lib.uconn.edu/stablelinks . The steps may vary by vendor.

Please note one should always preview the films before a class showing to ensure the film follows your local video policies.