eReference Books Guide — Education

Highlights the most important topics, issues, questions, and debates in the field of education.

This UK-focused Dictionary of Education provides clear and concise definitions for over 1,100 terms, from A* to zero tolerance. Coverage includes all sectors of education: pre-school, primary, secondary, further and higher education, special needs, adult and continuing education, and work-based learning.

An objective discussion of educational leadership from both inside and outside the school system, focusing on ethical issues, dominant models, and today's unprecedented commitment to community involvement.

Provides a comprehensive introduction to the academic field of curriculum studies for the scholar, student, teacher, and administrator. The study of curriculum, beginning in the early 20th century, served primarily the areas of school administration and teaching and was seen as a method to design and develop programs of study.

From A-to-Z, this Encyclopedia will cover the full spectrum of diversity issues, including race, class, gender, religion, language, exceptionality, and the global dimensions of diversity as they relate to education. This four-volume reference work will be the definitive reference for diversity issues in education in the United States and the world.

Offers a complete view of the institutions, people, processes, roles and philosophies found in educational practice in the United States and throughout the world. Features include 140 biographies of influential educators; profiles of historic colleges and universities; profiles of organizations active in the field; and an appendix of full-text primary source documents including education-related legislation, international treaties and testing methods.

Presents the most recent theories, research, terms, concepts, ideas, and histories on educational leadership and school administration as  taught in preparation programs and practiced in schools and colleges today.

Educational psychology can be defined as the application of what we know about learning and motivation, development, and measurement and statistics to educational settings (both school- and community-based).

This two-volume work is an authoritative resource on education reform and dissent. Key themes and topics include: " biographies of reformers and dissenters " theoretical and ideological perspectives " key programs and legislation " judicial verdicts impacting educational change in America " the politics and processes of educational reform and policy making " dissent and resistance to reform " technology's impact on educational reform.

A compendium of information drawn from the various dimensions of education law. The entries cover a number of essential topics and anchor essays by leading experts in education law provide more detailed examination of selected topics.

Education law is the second-most commonly taught subject in educational leadership program and occupies a crucial element in the curricula for educators.

A comprehensive guide featuring the latest research on school learning, motivation, and educational assessment. Approximately 250 entries by 175 contributing authors from psychology, education and counseling, child development, and special education address student success, behavior disorders, intelligence testing, learning disabilities, strategies to improve academic skills, and more.

Both a scholarly and practical resource indispensable to anyone seeking insight and direction for understanding and responding to EBD in the 21st century. This Handbook provides a systematic and comprehensive overview of a series of often related themes which underpin theoretical and philosophical approaches to pupils perceived as having EBDs, and their realization in both policy and provision.

Key Features: o Presents a different vision or reconceptualization of the field o Provides a comprehensive and inclusive set of authors, ideas, and topics o Takes a global rather than North American parochial approach o Recognizes that curriculum and instruction is broader in scope than is suggested by university research and theory o Reflects post-1992 changes in curriculum policy, practice and scholarship o Represents a rethinking of how school subject matter areas are treated.

Focusing on research while capturing the leading edge of e-learning development and practice. Chapters focus on areas of development in e-learning technology, theory, practice, pedagogy and method of analysis. The 25 chapters are organised into six key areas: 1. THEORY 2. LITERACY & LEARNING 3. METHODS & PERSPECTIVES 4. PEDAGOGY & PRACTICE 5. BEYOND THE CLASSROOM 6. FUTURES

Presents and critiques predominant and emergent traditions of Educational Action Research internationally. The handbook contains theoretical and practical based chapters by highly respected scholars whose work has been seminal in building knowledge and expertise in the field. The handbook is organized into four sections, each beginning with a short introduction: - Action research methodology: diversity of rationales and practices - Professional: Knowledge production, staff development, and the status of educators - Personal: Self-awareness, development and identity - Political: Popular knowledge, difference, and frameworks for change.

This fully updated Second Edition offers an unflinching and comprehensive overview of the full range of both practical and theoretical issues facing educational leadership today. Editor Fenwick W. English and 30 renowned authors boldly address the most fundamental and contested issues in the field, including culturally relevant and distributed leadership; critical policy and practice issues predicting the new century's conflict; the paradox of changes; and the promises, paradoxes, and pitfalls of standards for educational leaders.

Provides more than 8,600 sources of education-related financial aid and awards at all levels of study. Look for the section on federal financial aid for a quick summary of programs sponsored by the federal government. Also included is a state-by-state listing of agencies that users can contact in their home state.